A touching remembrance that will appeal to an audience that’s open to alternative spiritual practices.

READ REVIEW

MESSAGES FROM THE AFTERLIFE

MEMOIRS OF A HOSPICE NURSE

A nurse’s memoir tells of a life devoted to spiritual progress.

Debut author Hill spent 13 years working in a hospice—an emotionally depleting but morally fulfilling profession. Along the way, she regularly confronted death and the idea of her own mortality, which always frightened her. However, she drew consolation and guidance from her spirituality, which she discovered at 14, when she had a premonition of her maternal grandmother’s imminent demise. She eventually studied Reiki, shamanic healing, and Kundalini yoga, as well as a number of 12-step programs; these studies not only helped her manage the painful emotional wounds of an abusive childhood, but also proved useful to her patients. Hill splits her remembrance into two parts. The first is a collection of short biographical sketches of her most memorable patients, emphasizing her spiritual connection with each. The second section of impressionistic vignettes provides an account of her own spiritual development, the challenges she encountered, and the lessons she learned, with a focus on her mother’s failing health and death. The author discovered that when one lifted the taboo on discussing death, it created a spiritual space for healing and acceptance: “It was uncomfortable and people thought they were protecting their loved ones” by avoiding the topic, she says. “The reality was that when it was brought out into the light and discussed with love and reassurance, magic happened.” Hill writes with clarity and passion, and she unpacks her own emotional stumbles with impressive candor. She also provides a thoughtful discussion of what she sees as the limitations of Western medicine, particularly the pharmaceutical industry, and advocates intelligently for the medicinal and spiritual benefits of cannabis. That said, readers uninterested in New-Age spirituality are unlikely to be find many of her accounts persuasive, as when she says that a patient communicated to her posthumously in the form of a butterfly. 

A touching remembrance that will appeal to an audience that’s open to alternative spiritual practices. 

Pub Date: April 19, 2018

ISBN: 978-1-982202-00-2

Page Count: 210

Publisher: BalboaPress

Review Posted Online: Oct. 8, 2018

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An eye-opening glimpse into the attempted self-unmaking of one of Hollywood’s most recognizable talents.

OPEN BOOK

The debut memoir from the pop and fashion star.

Early on, Simpson describes the book she didn’t write: “a motivational manual telling you how to live your best life.” Though having committed to the lucrative deal years before, she “walked away,” fearing any sort of self-help advice she might give would be hypocritical. Outwardly, Simpson was at the peak of her success, with her fashion line generating “one billion dollars in annual sales.” However, anxiety was getting the better of her, and she admits she’d become a “feelings addict,” just needing “enough noise to distract me from the pain I’d been avoiding since childhood. The demons of traumatic abuse that refused to let me sleep at night—Tylenol PM at age twelve, red wine and Ambien as a grown, scared woman. Those same demons who perched on my shoulder, and when they saw a man as dark as them, leaned in to my ear to whisper, ‘Just give him your light. See if it saves him…’ ” On Halloween 2017, Simpson hit rock bottom, and, with the intervention of her devoted friends and husband, began to address her addictions and underlying fears. In this readable but overlong narrative, the author traces her childhood as a Baptist preacher’s daughter moving 18 times before she “hit fifth grade,” and follows her remarkable rise to fame as a singer. She reveals the psychological trauma resulting from years of sexual abuse by a family friend, experiences that drew her repeatedly into bad relationships with men, most publicly with ex-husband Nick Lachey. Admitting that she was attracted to the validating power of an audience, Simpson analyzes how her failings and triumphs have enabled her to take control of her life, even as she was hounded by the press and various music and movie executives about her weight. Simpson’s memoir contains plenty of personal and professional moments for fans to savor.

An eye-opening glimpse into the attempted self-unmaking of one of Hollywood’s most recognizable talents.

Pub Date: Feb. 4, 2020

ISBN: 978-0-06-289996-5

Page Count: 416

Publisher: Dey Street/HarperCollins

Review Posted Online: Feb. 16, 2020

Did you like this book?

A very welcome instance of philosophy that can help readers live a good life.

THE ART OF SOLITUDE

A teacher and scholar of Buddhism offers a formally varied account of the available rewards of solitude.

“As Mother Ayahuasca takes me in her arms, I realize that last night I vomited up my attachment to Buddhism. In passing out, I died. In coming to, I was, so to speak, reborn. I no longer have to fight these battles, I repeat to myself. I am no longer a combatant in the dharma wars. It feels as if the course of my life has shifted onto another vector, like a train shunted off its familiar track onto a new trajectory.” Readers of Batchelor’s previous books (Secular Buddhism: Imagining the Dharma in an Uncertain World, 2017, etc.) will recognize in this passage the culmination of his decadeslong shift away from the religious commitments of Buddhism toward an ecumenical and homegrown philosophy of life. Writing in a variety of modes—memoir, history, collage, essay, biography, and meditation instruction—the author doesn’t argue for his approach to solitude as much as offer it for contemplation. Essentially, Batchelor implies that if you read what Buddha said here and what Montaigne said there, and if you consider something the author has noticed, and if you reflect on your own experience, you have the possibility to improve the quality of your life. For introspective readers, it’s easy to hear in this approach a direct response to Pascal’s claim that “all of humanity's problems stem from man's inability to sit quietly in a room alone.” Batchelor wants to relieve us of this inability by offering his example of how to do just that. “Solitude is an art. Mental training is needed to refine and stabilize it,” he writes. “When you practice solitude, you dedicate yourself to the care of the soul.” Whatever a soul is, the author goes a long way toward soothing it.

A very welcome instance of philosophy that can help readers live a good life.

Pub Date: Feb. 18, 2020

ISBN: 978-0-300-25093-0

Page Count: 200

Publisher: Yale Univ.

Review Posted Online: Nov. 25, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Dec. 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

more