Mystery Thriller Book Reviews (page 3)

BURNING RIDGE by Margaret Mizushima
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 11, 2018

"The development of an extensive backstory over a multibook arch (Hunting Hour, 2017, etc.) pays off when a police officer long known for keeping things to herself begins to confront her past and connect with those in her present."
After a slow adjustment to life in Timber Creek, Colorado, the very private Deputy Mattie Cobb is finally starting to lower her defenses and get to know the people of her community. Read full book review >
A BORROWING OF BONES by Paula Munier
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 11, 2018

"A promising new series from a dog lover (Fixing Freddie: A True Story About a Boy, a Single Mom, and the Very Bad Beagle Who Saved Them, 2010, etc.) who naturally features several dogs as detective partners."
A retired military police officer and her adopted bomb-sniffing Belgian Malinois seek a new lease on life in rural Vermont. Read full book review >

DARK SKY ISLAND by Lara  Dearman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 11, 2018

"Dearman effortlessly evokes the island's atmosphere, but this caseload has more felonies and felons than a pickpockets' convention. Sark's three square miles are home to 450 souls, and by the fadeout you'll be convinced that every single one of them is dirty."
Mysteries old and new jostle for attention in Dearman's second chilly valentine to the Channel Islands. Read full book review >
SHADOW TYRANTS by Clive Cussler
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 11, 2018

"Readers probably won't lie awake worrying whether all this could really happen. Fast-moving, implausible fun."
Ancient knowledge and present-day evildoers threaten the world order in the latest entry in Cussler and Morrison's Oregon series (Typhoon Fury, 2017).Read full book review >
BELOW THE TREE LINE  by Susan Oleksiw
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 8, 2018

"As usual, Oleksiw spins a placid, slow-burning mystery that won't disturb your dreams. The real star here is Pioneer Valley, a place that conveys an identity deeper and more memorable than that of any of its denizens."
The chronicler of the English village of Mellingham and the Anita Ray mysteries (For the Love of Parvati, 2014, etc.) kicks off a new series set in the bucolic Pioneer Valley of Massachusetts. Read full book review >

MERCY'S CHASE  by Jess Lourey
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 8, 2018

"A complicated page-turner of a history-based thriller whose predecessor (Salem's Cipher, 2016) is virtually a prerequisite to understanding the tangled relationships and fascinating backstory."
A cryptanalyst takes on a worldwide conspiracy targeting women. Read full book review >
THE MURDER OF MY AUNT  by Richard Hull
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 4, 2018

"Even so, fans of acid domestic intrigue as only the British can serve it up will rejoice in the republication of this minor classic despite an overlong last chapter that reveals the murderous narrator as even more witless, and his target as even more resourceful, than readers already knew."
The latest exhumation from the British Library of Crime Classics is the 1934 debut of the pseudonymous Richard Henry Sampson (1896-1973), a deliciously black comedy of murder most botched. Read full book review >
THE COLD SUMMER by Gianrico Carofiglio
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 4, 2018

"Solving this case, Carofiglio shows us, requires a leap into the darkness."
"The worst part isn't seeing the bodies.…The worst part is breaking the news to the victims' relatives. Especially if the victims are children." Read full book review >
CROSS HER HEART by Sarah Pinborough
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 4, 2018

"Fans of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins will find this comfortingly familiar despite (or maybe because of?) the shocks and turns along the way."
In Pinborough's (Behind Her Eyes, 2018, etc.) twisty, decade-spanning, multivoiced thriller, everyone has secrets: teenager Ava; her mom, Lisa; and Lisa's best friend, Marilyn. Read full book review >
THE FRANGIPANI TREE MYSTERY by Ovidia Yu
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 4, 2018

"Yu (Meddling and Murder, 2017, etc.) has concocted a delightful vintage whodunit bubbling with charm and an infectious curiosity about human nature."
An unlikely sleuth steps up in colonial Singapore to help catch a diabolical killer. Read full book review >
SECRET UNDERTAKING  by Mark de Castrique
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 4, 2018

"The hero's easy charm in his seventh case makes the reader feel like a longtime Gainesboro resident and a sleuthing sidekick."
"Buryin' Barry" unearths a corrupt plot in his sleepy North Carolina town. Read full book review >
DEATH AT WHITEWATER CHURCH by Andrea Carter
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 4, 2018

"Writing with Agatha Christie in mind, Carter draws her heroine as curious, if bordering on interfering, and her debut's pacing as she explores the story encourages readers to seek the same connections she does."
A solicitor can't help but dig in a small Irish town when unidentified remains are found on the grounds of a local church. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >