An homage to a beloved canine that will bring readers more laughter than tears.

READ REVIEW

THE AIREDALE'S TALES

BENTLEY'S ADVENTURES ON EARTH

Lynn’s debut offers a collection of anecdotes, as told from the perspective of a troublemaking dog.

This book is a tribute to the author’s departed dog Bentley, a cute, lovable Airedale who also had his possum-killing and flower-bed-destroying moments over the course of his life. Bentley tells his side of the story in a series of short vignettes from his new home in heaven. In a separate chapter, the cats who lived with Bentley provide their perspectives. The dog describes his different adventures with his human “Mama” and offers advice to other canines, such as, “Jump willingly into the car when your human is taking you to the dog doctor.” Most of his stories involve him getting into some kind of trouble. As they’re told from his point of view, he always attempts to justify his behavior: Although he did bite his Mama’s friend on the head, he admits, he didn’t do so with the intention of hurting him; also, he doesn’t think he should be blamed for once eating his Mama’s eyeglasses, because she was the one who didn’t put them on the shelf, out of his reach. Occasional illustrations, including color photos of Bentley and simple line drawings of an Airedale, accompany the text. The book seems aimed at an adult audience, but its brevity and subject matter would also make it appropriate for younger readers. The overall lighthearted tone, and Bentley’s upbeat attitude in particular, keeps the book from becoming a tear-jerker, as is often the case with books about a deceased pet. In fact, it would likely be enjoyed by those grieving the loss of an animal companion. The book lacks an overarching plot or storyline, but it’s still enjoyable as short, simple descriptions of Bentley’s different activities, told in his own, overconfident style.

An homage to a beloved canine that will bring readers more laughter than tears.

Pub Date: Aug. 1, 2013

ISBN: 978-1481124430

Page Count: 53

Publisher: CreateSpace

Review Posted Online: Sept. 9, 2014

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A romantic, sad, and ultimately hopeful book that’s perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.

GHOSTED

In Walsh’s American debut, a woman desperately tries to find out why the man she spent a whirlwind week with never called.

Sarah has just separated from her American husband and is visiting her hometown in England when she meets Eddie. He’s kind and charming, and although they only spend one week together, she falls in love. When he has to leave for a trip, she knows they’ll keep in touch—they’re already making plans for the rest of their lives. But then Eddie never calls, and Sarah’s increasingly frantic efforts to contact him are fruitless. Is he hurt? Is he dead? As her friends tell her, there’s a far greater likelihood that he’s just blowing her off—she’s been ghosted. After trying to track Eddie down at a football game, Sarah starts to become ashamed of herself—after all, she’s almost 40 years old and she’s essentially stalking a man who never called her. But as Sarah slowly learns, she and Eddie didn’t actually meet randomly—they both have a connection to an accident that happened years ago, and it may have something to do with why he disappeared. The tension quickly amps up as the secrets of Eddie’s and Sarah’s pasts are revealed, and the truth behind their connection is genuinely surprising and heartbreaking. The barriers between Sarah and Eddie seem insurmountable at times, and although their issues are resolved in a tidy manner, the emotions behind their actions are always believable. Walsh has created a deeply moving romance with an intriguing mystery and a touching portrait of grief at its heart.

A romantic, sad, and ultimately hopeful book that’s perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.

Pub Date: July 24, 2018

ISBN: 978-0-525-52277-5

Page Count: 352

Publisher: Pamela Dorman/Viking

Review Posted Online: May 1, 2018

Kirkus Reviews Issue: May 15, 2018

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • IndieBound Bestseller

THE STARLESS SEA

A withdrawn graduate student embarks on an epic quest to restore balance to the world in this long-anticipated follow-up to The Night Circus (2011).

Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a typical millennial introvert; he likes video games, escapist reading, and drinking sidecars. But when he recognizes himself in the pages of a mysterious book from the university library, he's unnerved—and determined to uncover the truth. What begins as a journey for answers turns into something much bigger, and Zachary must decide whether to trust the handsome stranger he meets at a highflying literary fundraiser in New York or to retreat back to his thesis and forget the whole affair. In a high-wire feat of metatextual derring-do, Morgenstern weaves Zachary's adventure into a stunning array of linked fables, myths, and origin stories. There are pirates and weary travelers, painters who can see the future, lovers torn asunder, a menacing Owl King, and safe harbors for all the stories of the world, far below the Earth on the golden shores of a Starless Sea. Clocking in at more than 500 pages, the novel requires patience as Morgenstern puts all the pieces in place, but it is exquisitely pleasurable to watch the gears of this epic fantasy turn once they're set in motion. As in The Night Circus, Morgenstern is at her best when she imagines worlds and rooms and parties in vivid detail, right down to the ballroom stairs "festooned with lanterns and garlands of paper dipped in gold" or a cloak carved from ice with "ships and sailors and sea monsters...lost in the drifting snow." This novel is a love letter to readers as much as an invitation: Come and see how much magic is left in the world. Fans of Neil Gaiman and V.E. Schwab, Kelly Link and Susanna Clarke will want to heed the call.

An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.

Pub Date: Nov. 5, 2019

ISBN: 978-0-385-54121-3

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Doubleday

Review Posted Online: Aug. 4, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Aug. 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more