Nature & Travel Book Reviews (page 205)

NON-FICTION
Released: May 15, 2001

"Lively writing and colorful anecdotes enhance this insightful look at an unexpected side of agriculture."
We've cultivated plants since the dawn of time; but all along, the plants have been cultivating us as well. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: May 8, 2001

"An appealing account."
Two hundred pages on a single insect might strike some readers as overkill, but the monarch butterfly deserves every one. Read full book review >

NOTES FROM AN ITALIAN GARDEN by Joan Marble
NON-FICTION
Released: May 8, 2001

"Pleasant fodder for armchair travelers and gardeners, if not appreciably different from the many other works of its kind. (36 line drawings)"
A journalist observes the seasons in a garden in Canale, Etruria, and recounts the tribulations and satisfactions of creating it. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: May 7, 2001

"A dense and often exciting account, written in leisurely and mannered prose."
An exhaustive account of the fires of 1910, which destroyed millions of acres in four northwestern states and transformed American conceptions of forest maintenance and fire control. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2001

"Flooding off these pages is a man who loves his life, brimming with curiosity and deeply respectful of the creatures and environment around him. (Line drawings by the author)"
An intriguing and entertaining exploration into the things that runners can learn from animals. Read full book review >

THE COURTSHIP OF SEA CREATURES by Jean-Pierre Otte
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2001

"They may be lobsters and shrimp, winkles and cockles and limpets, and it may be in 'a language only they understand'—but this is surely the music of love."
Amorous doings in the tide pools of a wild Atlantic coast. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2001

"A mishmash of the flip and the deeply troubling that leaves the reader wondering what exactly the author's point is."
Preservation contributing editor Matthews (Where the Buffalo Roam, 1992, etc.) takes a look at the return of wild flora and fauna to New York City and New Jersey. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2001

"Natural history par excellence."
A sweeping natural history of North America from its birth as a self-contained continent in the Cretaceous era to its current precarious status as an ecological superpower. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2001

"Essential reading for mountaineers, both actual and armchair."
A journey to the top of the world and the soul of a family. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2001

"Thoughtfully conceived and expertly written, this is a good companion for travelers to the islands and students of the history of science alike."
An absorbing study of the role of the South American island chain in shaping evolutionary theory. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2001

"Occasionally breathless and clunky, this is a vivid and inspiring read all the same, sure to find a large audience among outdoor-adventure and climbing buffs."
Another stone added to the growing mountain of Everest adventures. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2001

"Though uncritical in his admiration for British arms, Allen provides a rousing and informative yarn that will appeal to fans of Lives of the Bengal Lancers and Gunga Din."
Unsung heroes of the Raj get treated to an extended fanfare. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >