Nature & Travel Book Reviews (page 206)

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2001

"Essential reading for mountaineers, both actual and armchair."
A journey to the top of the world and the soul of a family. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2001

"Thoughtfully conceived and expertly written, this is a good companion for travelers to the islands and students of the history of science alike."
An absorbing study of the role of the South American island chain in shaping evolutionary theory. Read full book review >

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2001

"Occasionally breathless and clunky, this is a vivid and inspiring read all the same, sure to find a large audience among outdoor-adventure and climbing buffs."
Another stone added to the growing mountain of Everest adventures. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2001

"Though uncritical in his admiration for British arms, Allen provides a rousing and informative yarn that will appeal to fans of Lives of the Bengal Lancers and Gunga Din."
Unsung heroes of the Raj get treated to an extended fanfare. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2001

"Readers may prefer swimming alone in fin-dotted waters to muddling through this modern horror."
A toothless tale of pelagic terror. Read full book review >

DEPARTURES & ARRIVALS by Eric Newby
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2001

"Full of odd and quiet moments, telling detail, wit, and wisdom. (16 pp. b&w photos)"
A genial, amusing, and instructive collection of essays by the veteran English travel writer. Read full book review >
LIONHEART by Jesse Martin
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2001

"A tribute to the spirit of adventure, akin to Robin Lee Graham's Dove."
The rousing account of a 17-year-old Australian's solo, nonstop sail around the world in his yacht, the Lionheart, published to coincide with the airing of a National Geographic special about the journey. Read full book review >
BIRDERS by Mark Cocker
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2001

"Persuasive, idiosyncratic, and often quite amusing."
English author Cocker (Rivers of Blood, Rivers of Gold, 2000, etc.) offers a combined celebration of and apologia for the national passion for birding, which in Britain provides both the thrill of high competition and the bonding of a cult. Read full book review >
ELEPHANTOMS by Lyall Watson
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2001

"Much more evocatively than any zoologist has ever managed, Watson makes the elephant a force of nature, accessible even to the reader with no personal exposure to the mighty creature. (Line drawings)"
Naturalist Watson (Dark Nature, 1996, etc.) recounts his experiences among the elephants of southern Africa with wonderful freshness and enthusiasm, even though some of the most important encounters depicted here took place decades ago. Read full book review >
IN MY FAMILY TREE by Sheila Siddle
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2001

"If the orphanage has but a fraction the warmth and gentleness of Siddle's voice in this story, then the word sanctuary would fit well. Beautiful acts, elegantly rendered."
An exhilarating—even heroic—life caring for orphaned chimpanzees (and antelopes, monkeys, parrots, whathaveyou, even a hippo) on a farm in Africa, by Siddle, the caregiver herself. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2001

"An emotionally punishing memoir that finds beauty in the frailty of life and impermanence against a grand setting."
Vital travels along the wild Alaskan coast, punctuated by dreadful circumstances that rob wildlife photographer and guide Schooler of the people he loves. Read full book review >
CLIMBING FREE by Lynn Hill
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2001

"A few too many rock faces, but still an appealing blend of climbing drama and personal candor. (b&w photos throughout)"
In an unvarnished debut, Hill shares climbing experiences, offers technical tips, and portrays her emotional ties to other elite climbers. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >