Nature & Travel Book Reviews (page 3)

CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"An electrifying, empathetic work of journalism that makes a four-year-old story feel fresh."
The mind-boggling story of 33 Chilean miners trapped 2,000 feet underground for 10 weeks. Read full book review >
ARRIVAL OF THE FITTEST by Andreas Wagner
NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: Oct. 2, 2014

"A book of startling congruencies, insightful flashes and an artful enthusiasm that delivers knowledge from the inorganic page to our organic brains."
Wagner (Evolutionary Biology and Environmental Studies/Univ. of Zurich; The Origins of Evolutionary Innovations, 2011, etc.) lucidly explores the natural principles that accelerate life's ability to innovate and thus evolve.Read full book review >

CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: Sept. 23, 2014

"Imagine a true-life, courtroom version of Heart of Darkness."
Here's a twist: the almost unbelievable tale of a human rights attorney every bit as conscienceless as the multinational he was suing. Read full book review >
THIS CHANGES EVERYTHING by Naomi Klein
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: Sept. 16, 2014

"A sharp analysis that is bound to be widely discussed, with all the usual suspects, depending on their politics, lining up to cheer or excoriate Klein."
A best-selling anti-globalization activist and author argues that surviving the climate emergency will require radical changes in how we live. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: Sept. 10, 2014

"Through compelling and meditative prose, Ackerman delivers top-notch insight on the contemporary human condition."
A shimmering narrative about how the human and natural worlds coexist, coadapt and interactively thrive. Read full book review >

CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"In this cool, disarming and persuasive indictment of fracking's widespread negative consequences, the authors provide an important addition to an ongoing debate."
A primer on unconventional fossil fuel extraction, with convincing evidence as to its deleterious nature, from veterinarian Bamberger and Oswald (Molecular Medicine/Cornell Univ.). Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"A grand and grim narrative of thrilling exploration for fans of Into Thin Air, Mountains of the Moon and the like."
Another crackling tale of adventure from journalist/explorer Sides (Hellhound on His Trail: The Stalking of Martin Luther King, Jr. and the International Hunt for His Assassin, 2010, etc.), this one focusing on a frigid disaster nearly 150 years ago. Read full book review >
BIRD DREAM by Matt Higgins
ENTERTAINMENT & SPORTS
Released: Aug. 4, 2014

"A highflying, electrifying story of a treacherous sport in which every triumph is an eye blink away from becoming a disaster."
The breathtaking highs and life-threatening plunges of the most extreme stuntmen on Earth. Read full book review >
NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: July 30, 2014

"A clearsighted, useful book for photographers looking to turn their snapshots into more compelling, meaningful photographs."
An informative guide that tackles important topics, from what nature photography is to perfecting technique to caring for equipment. Read full book review >
NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: July 22, 2014

"A fascinating, fact-based report for aquaphiles and those at one with the tides."
A lifelong ocean advocate and aquatic educator examines the biocentric and neurochemical wonderments of water. Read full book review >
UNRULY PLACES by Alastair Bonnett
NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: July 8, 2014

"A scintillating poke to our geographical imaginations."
A wonderful collection of a few dozen geographical enchantments, places that defy expectations and may disturb and disorient yet rekindle the romanticism of exploration and the meaning of place. Read full book review >
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: July 7, 2014

"Fantastical, atmospherically moody and Poe-like in its laudanum-fueled dreaminess."
An investigation of our first encounters with the giant squid, a creature "more bizarre than anything appearing in Star Wars." Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Pierce Brown
author of GOLDEN SON
February 17, 2015

With shades of The Hunger Games, Ender’s Game, and Game of Thrones, Pierce Brown’s genre-defying Red Rising hit the ground running. The sequel, Golden Son, continues the saga of Darrow, a rebel battling to lead his oppressed people to freedom. As a Red, Darrow grew up working the mines deep beneath the surface of Mars, enduring backbreaking labor while dreaming of the better future he was building for his descendants. But the Society he faithfully served was built on lies. Darrow’s kind have been betrayed and denied by their elitist masters, the Golds—and their only path to liberation is revolution. “Stirring—and archetypal—stuff,” our reviewer writes. View video >