Nature & Travel Book Reviews (page 5)

NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: Aug. 24, 2014

"Zoological eye candy captured with a keen eye and adventurous spirit."
An impressive coffee-table book brimming with a couple's beautiful photographs of exotic wildlife. Read full book review >
Massage and the Writer by Isham Cook
NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: Aug. 13, 2014

"Readers interested in parting the curtains at the Turkish bathhouse and the Chinese baojian anmo will find this an excellent place to begin."
Part travelogue, part commentary on the art of massage. Read full book review >

CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"In this cool, disarming and persuasive indictment of fracking's widespread negative consequences, the authors provide an important addition to an ongoing debate."
A primer on unconventional fossil fuel extraction, with convincing evidence as to its deleterious nature, from veterinarian Bamberger and Oswald (Molecular Medicine/Cornell Univ.). Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"A grand and grim narrative of thrilling exploration for fans of Into Thin Air, Mountains of the Moon and the like."
Another crackling tale of adventure from journalist/explorer Sides (Hellhound on His Trail: The Stalking of Martin Luther King, Jr. and the International Hunt for His Assassin, 2010, etc.), this one focusing on a frigid disaster nearly 150 years ago. Read full book review >
BIRD DREAM by Matt Higgins
ENTERTAINMENT & SPORTS
Released: Aug. 4, 2014

"A highflying, electrifying story of a treacherous sport in which every triumph is an eye blink away from becoming a disaster."
The breathtaking highs and life-threatening plunges of the most extreme stuntmen on Earth. Read full book review >

NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: July 30, 2014

"A clearsighted, useful book for photographers looking to turn their snapshots into more compelling, meaningful photographs."
An informative guide that tackles important topics, from what nature photography is to perfecting technique to caring for equipment. Read full book review >
NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: July 22, 2014

"A fascinating, fact-based report for aquaphiles and those at one with the tides."
A lifelong ocean advocate and aquatic educator examines the biocentric and neurochemical wonderments of water. Read full book review >
UNRULY PLACES by Alastair Bonnett
NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: July 8, 2014

"A scintillating poke to our geographical imaginations."
A wonderful collection of a few dozen geographical enchantments, places that defy expectations and may disturb and disorient yet rekindle the romanticism of exploration and the meaning of place. Read full book review >
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: July 7, 2014

"Fantastical, atmospherically moody and Poe-like in its laudanum-fueled dreaminess."
An investigation of our first encounters with the giant squid, a creature "more bizarre than anything appearing in Star Wars." Read full book review >
ORGANIC by Peter Laufer
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 1, 2014

"A lively, highly informative exposé capped by trips to Kazakhstan and Bolivia, where Laufer settles his questions about the walnuts and black beans he purchased. Now, how to fix the situation so that not all foods labeled organic are 'suspect'?"
Former NBC News correspondent Laufer (Journalism/Oregon Univ.; The Elusive State of Jefferson: A Journey through the 51st State, 2013, etc.) investigates the "need to know what we're eating and how it came to our dinner plates." Read full book review >
WAR OF THE WHALES by Joshua Horwitz
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 1, 2014

"Based on years of interviews and research, Horwitz delivers a powerful, engrossing narrative that raises serious questions about the unchecked use of secrecy by the military to advance its institutional power."
Living Planet Books co-founder Horwitz chronicles an ongoing collision of epic proportions between the U.S. Navy, intent on protecting its submarine warfare program, and environmental activists, who fight to save whales from extinction. Read full book review >
AMERICAN CATCH by Paul Greenberg
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: June 30, 2014

"A fascinating discussion of a multifaceted issue and a passionate call to action."
Blue Ocean Institute fellow Greenberg (Four Fish: The Future of the Last Wild Food, 2010, etc.) offers an optimistic perspective on the connection between preserving our salt marshes and restoring America's offshore seafood production. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Luis Alberto Urrea
April 21, 2015

Examining the borders between one nation and another, between one person and another, Luis Alberto Urrea’s latest story collection, The Water Museum, reveals his mastery of the short form. This collection includes the Edgar-award winning "Amapola" and his now-classic "Bid Farewell to Her Many Horses," which had the honor of being chosen for NPR's "Selected Shorts" not once but twice. Urrea has also recently published a poetry collection, Tijuana Book of the Dead, mixing lyricism and colloquial voices, mysticism and the daily grind. We talk to Urrea about both of his new books this week on Kirkus TV. View video >