Nature & Travel Book Reviews (page 6)

HOW TO CLONE A MAMMOTH by Beth Shapiro
NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: May 1, 2015

"Extinction is still forever, writes Shapiro, but fashioning a first cousin—with all its intriguing and alarming possibilities—possessing the same behavioral quirks is within reach."
MacArthur fellow Shapiro (Ecology and Evolutionary Biology/Univ. of California, Santa Cruz) considers the nature and prospects of "de-extinction," the return of creatures gone the way of the dodo. Read full book review >
A BUZZ IN THE MEADOW by Dave Goulson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2015

"A charming but serious warning of the need to protect our natural ecosystems from heedless, irreversible destruction."
When we speak of endangered species, our focus is usually on the plight of mammals. However, writes Goulson (Biological and Environmental Sciences/Univ. of Sterling; A Sting in the Tale: My Adventures with Bumblebees, 2014, etc.), they are only a small section of the "perhaps ten-million different species," many yet to be named, that inhabit our planet and play a critical role in maintaining its ecosystems.Read full book review >

THE HOUSE OF OWLS by Tony Angell
NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: April 28, 2015

"A charming personal account, accompanied by nearly 100 illustrations, that underscores how owls and other birds enrich our lives."
Angell (Puget Sound Through An Artist's Eye, 2010, etc.) combines his skills as a naturalist and illustrator in this chronicle of a family of screech owls that nested in the backyard of his home and became part of his extended family; it's followed by an account of the unique characteristics of the species.Read full book review >
A PASSION FOR PARIS by David Downie
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"Anyone who loves Paris will adore this joyful book. Readers visiting the city are advised to take it with them to discover countless new experiences."
Join Downie (Paris to the Pyrenees: A Skeptic Pilgrim Walks the Way of St. James, 2013, etc.) for a top-notch walking tour of Paris.Read full book review >
KALEIDOSCOPE CITY by Piers Moore Ede
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 21, 2015

"A thoughtful and incisive memoir/travelogue."
A British travel writer's account of an extended stay in the northern Indian city of Varanasi, a 5,000-year-old "experiment in human cohabitation" on the banks of the Ganges River. Read full book review >

CHILDREN OF THE STONE by Sandy Tolan
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: April 21, 2015

"A resolute, heart-rending story of real change and possibility in the Palestinian-Israeli impasse."
Musicians who play together break down the barriers separating them. Read full book review >
RAIN by Cynthia Barnett
HISTORY
Released: April 21, 2015

"Highlights the severity of some of our environmental problems with knowledge, humor, urgency and hope."
An environmental journalist returns with a multifaceted examination of the science, the art, the technology and even the smell of rain throughout history. Read full book review >
ALL THE WILD THAT REMAINS by David Gessner
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 20, 2015

"Stegner and Abbey 'are two who have lighted my way,' nature writer Wendell Berry admitted. They have lighted the way for Gessner, as well, as he conveys in this graceful, insightful homage to their work and to the region they loved."
The lives and legacies of two influential environmentalists. Read full book review >
BETTING THE FARM ON A DROUGHT by Seamus McGraw
FOOD & COOKING
Released: April 15, 2015

"McGraw discovers that the respectful middle of the road is the most likely place to find a bridge to a sustainable energy future."
Environmental journalist McGraw (The End of Country: Dispatches from the Frack Zone, 2011) engages a handful of citizens—scientists and outdoorsmen, conservative and liberal—to gain a sense of our understanding of climate change.Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: April 15, 2015

"A brilliant history of the Dark Ages showing the growth and development of science, business, fashion, law, politics and other significant institutions—a joy to read and reread."
Novelist, journalist and historian Pye (The Pieces from Berlin, 2004, etc.) challenges all our notions of the Dark Ages and shows the vast accomplishments completed long before the Renaissance.Read full book review >
BORDER ODYSSEY by Charles D. Thompson, Jr.
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: April 15, 2015

"A potent cri de coeur for a more compassionate, sane and humane border policy."
An exploration of 2,000 miles of fraught, rugged and deeply contested territory. Read full book review >
THE END OF THE RAINY SEASON by Marian E. Lindberg
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 14, 2015

"Earnest and convoluted, Lindberg's story awards patient, adventurous readers."
The shadowy disappearance of the author's grandfather into the jungles of Brazil spurs a literary and emotional investigation. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Vanessa Diffenbaugh
September 1, 2015

Vanessa Diffenbaugh is the New York Timesbestselling author of The Language of Flowers; her new novel, We Never Asked for Wings, is about young love, hard choices, and hope against all odds. For 14 years, Letty Espinosa has worked three jobs around San Francisco to make ends meet while her mother raised her children—Alex, now 15, and Luna, six—in their tiny apartment on a forgotten spit of wetlands near the bay. But now Letty’s parents are returning to Mexico, and Letty must step up and become a mother for the first time in her life. “Diffenbaugh’s latest confirms her gift for creating shrewd, sympathetic charmers,” our reviewer writes. View video >