Nature & Travel Book Reviews (page 6)

BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: Feb. 23, 2016

"An insider's cheerful, energetic examination of an industry that has changed dramatically in the last decade."
An account of the boom in oil and gas production in the United States. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 22, 2016

"Intriguing but occasionally rambling reading."
A journalist explores how "several thousand bikes…made an incredible journey" across the border between Mexico and the United States. Read full book review >

ELEPHANT COMPLEX by John Gimlette
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 18, 2016

"An exuberant, eye-opening travel quest."
An intrepid journey to the famously reclusive island unearths a paradise amid trauma and obfuscation. Read full book review >
SUNNY'S NIGHTS by Tim Sultan
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 16, 2016

"Sultan has a terrific subject in Sunny and his semilegendary watering hole, but the approach is too cute."
An insider's look at a sui generis Brooklyn institution. Read full book review >
THE BOILING RIVER by Andrés Ruzo
NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: Feb. 16, 2016

"An earnest and well-intended effort but an outline for an adventure story more than that story itself."
A brief debut book about a young, Peruvian-born geologist's adventures in the Amazon. Read full book review >

THE ROAD TAKEN by Henry Petroski
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: Feb. 16, 2016

"Anyone with an interest in the way things work will want this book—and will doubtless emerge as a fan of the ever curious author."
Noted engineer and writer Petroski (Civil Engineering/Duke Univ.; To Forgive Design: Understanding Failure, 2012, etc.) gives readers a characteristically eye-opening look at America's infrastructure.Read full book review >
NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: Feb. 15, 2016

"Whitehouse takes readers on a richly rewarding journey through space and time in this scientific travelogue."
In the spirit of Jules Verne's popular classic Journey to the Center of the Earth, Royal Astronomical Society fellow Whitehouse (The Sun: A Biography, 2005, etc.) describes how modern advances in geology provide insight into the evolution and dynamic structure of the Earth. Read full book review >
INCARCERATION NATIONS by Baz Dreisinger
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: Feb. 9, 2016

"An eye-opening, damning indictment of the American prison system and the way its sins reverberate around the globe."
A writer and social activist chronicles her visits to prisons around the globe to gain insight into what works and doesn't work. Read full book review >
NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: Feb. 9, 2016

"An impassioned and well-reasoned cry for 'great rising tides of affirmation of justice and human decency and shared thriving.'"
A philosopher and award-winning nature writer examines the moral arguments behind the need to end the processes that have created global warming. Read full book review >
THE SILK ROAD by Bill Porter
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 9, 2016

"Fans of Owen Lattimore, The Road to Oxiana, Aurel Stein, and other like-minded ventures and adventurers will find Porter's latest a pleasure and an inspiration."
In this latest installment in his decadeslong journey through China, Porter (South of the Clouds, 2015, etc.) wanders westward into the mountains, never quite courting danger, never quite avoiding it.Read full book review >
NEMESIS by Misha Glenny
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 9, 2016

"Glenny does an admirable investigative job, delving deeply into the complicated causes and effects of Rio's drug trafficking."
A page-turning chronicle of the life and career of a favela don illustrates the larger challenges of a deeply impoverished, class-ridden Brazilian society.Read full book review >
NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: Feb. 9, 2016

"A watery romp under the waves that will appeal to anyone wanting to broaden their knowledge of our watery planet."
Coral and reef ecologist Hardt dives into the sex lives of sea creatures. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Marilu Henner
author of CHANGING NORMAL
April 26, 2016

After they’d been dating only a short while, and as they were falling in love, Marilu Henner and Michael Brown were hit with the ultimate bad news: Michael was diagnosed with cancer. Refusing traditional care, they pieced together a personal and holistic view on battling his cancer, all while forging an unbreakable bond. In this moving and informative book, Marilu pulls back the curtain on how they dealt with the blow. She relates her holistic perspective on health—including the superfoods, exercises, and immunotherapy they used to fight back—and why a diagnosis doesn’t have to be the end of romance or of a happy and fulfilling life. “An inspiring love story wrapped in a serious call for new ways to treat disease,” our reviewer writes. View video >