MESS WITH ME by Nicole Helm

MESS WITH ME

BUY NOW FROM
Email this review

KIRKUS REVIEW

Two emotionally scarred people find each other and heal themselves in the Colorado Rockies

Sam Goodall works for the Evans brothers’ Mile High Adventures as a backpacking guide. Sam has been a lifelong buddy of Will and Brandon Evans, and the success of their company should make him happy. But Sam, who blames himself for his sister’s sudden death, is so full of guilt and self-loathing that he prefers to live off the grid in the Rocky Mountains. When Hayley Winthrop shows up at his door for training, Sam tries to scare her off with grunts and menacing looks. Hayley sweetly requests “an actual training situation instead of a manly anger fit,” and as her skills develop on the mountain, Sam begins to let her in. Hayley was the product of her mother’s affair with the Evans twins’ father, who disowned her from birth. She has come to small Gracely, Colorado, to get to know her brothers—complete strangers to her—and find her place in their family. The romance unfolds sweetly and believably, with laugh-out-loud moments and romantic scenes. Hayley’s emotional journey to self-worth after living as her father’s reject and her mother’s secret is touching. This second installment of Helm’s Mile High Romance series further develops Brandon and Lilly’s relationship from Need You Now (2017), and introduces Tori, Will’s long-lost lover, who will be the heroine of Book 3.

A classic small-town contemporary romance with extra angst, perfect for fans of Susan Mallery and Jill Shalvis.

Pub Date: Aug. 29th, 2017
ISBN: 978-1-4201-4278-5
Page count: 368pp
Publisher: Zebra/Kensington
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 15th, 2017




SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

FictionTHE ONES WHO GOT AWAY by Roni Loren
by Roni Loren
FictionTHEN CAME YOU by Jill Shalvis
by Jill Shalvis