A feel-good American success story recounted with candor, heart and attitude.

READ REVIEW

THE GLITTER PLAN

HOW WE STARTED JUICY COUTURE FOR $200 AND TURNED IT INTO A GLOBAL BRAND

With the assistance of Moore, the founders of Juicy Couture chronicle their real-life fairy tale in a “part memoir, part how-to-manual and part fashion industry field guide.”

Skaist-Levy and Nash-Taylor became friends in 1988 “while folding the guest towels that went on the sink in the bathroom” of the boutique where they worked. “We started gossiping and then got into deeper stuff. It was instant chemistry, like magnets, like we had been friends forever.” They quickly discovered their shared love of fashion. Their first venture, started with $200, was in the niche market of maternity wear, which they discovered was stuck in a fashion time warp and “was a very specific targeted idea, which is the best way to start something.” So they created cool maternity jeans and then moved on to T-shirts with the idea of perfecting the fit, fabric and color. The authors learned as they went along, constantly trying new ideas and products, failing on some but always building a work environment that was both enjoyable and financially viable. By the end of 1996, Juicy Couture had sales of $5 million. In 2003, Skaist-Levy and Nash-Taylor sold Juicy Couture to the Liz Claiborne corporation for “$56 million plus an eventual $200 million earnout” and began with a new line. The authors lace the fast-paced back story of the company with tips for the budding entrepreneur, including Learn From a Starter Business, Dos and Don’ts of Hands-On Branding, Competition Can Be Healthy, Build Your Staff Like a Family, Coping with Growth, the Problem You Want to Have (“If your infrastructure can handle it, spin out ideas for new products to meet demand”), and How to Prepare Your Business to Sell.

A feel-good American success story recounted with candor, heart and attitude.

Pub Date: May 1, 2014

ISBN: 978-1-59240-809-2

Page Count: 256

Publisher: Gotham Books

Review Posted Online: April 8, 2014

Kirkus Reviews Issue: May 1, 2014

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our...

THINKING, FAST AND SLOW

A psychologist and Nobel Prize winner summarizes and synthesizes the recent decades of research on intuition and systematic thinking.

The author of several scholarly texts, Kahneman (Emeritus Psychology and Public Affairs/Princeton Univ.) now offers general readers not just the findings of psychological research but also a better understanding of how research questions arise and how scholars systematically frame and answer them. He begins with the distinction between System 1 and System 2 mental operations, the former referring to quick, automatic thought, the latter to more effortful, overt thinking. We rely heavily, writes, on System 1, resorting to the higher-energy System 2 only when we need or want to. Kahneman continually refers to System 2 as “lazy”: We don’t want to think rigorously about something. The author then explores the nuances of our two-system minds, showing how they perform in various situations. Psychological experiments have repeatedly revealed that our intuitions are generally wrong, that our assessments are based on biases and that our System 1 hates doubt and despises ambiguity. Kahneman largely avoids jargon; when he does use some (“heuristics,” for example), he argues that such terms really ought to join our everyday vocabulary. He reviews many fundamental concepts in psychology and statistics (regression to the mean, the narrative fallacy, the optimistic bias), showing how they relate to his overall concerns about how we think and why we make the decisions that we do. Some of the later chapters (dealing with risk-taking and statistics and probabilities) are denser than others (some readers may resent such demands on System 2!), but the passages that deal with the economic and political implications of the research are gripping.

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our minds.

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-374-27563-1

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Review Posted Online: Sept. 4, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2011

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A deftly argued case for a new kind of socialism that, while sure to inspire controversy, bears widespread discussion.

CAPITAL AND IDEOLOGY

A massive investigation of economic history in the service of proposing a political order to overcome inequality.

Readers who like their political manifestoes in manageable sizes, à la Common Sense or The Communist Manifesto, may be overwhelmed by the latest from famed French economist Piketty (Top Incomes in France in the Twentieth Century: Inequality and Redistribution, 1901-1998, 2014, etc.), but it’s a significant work. The author interrogates the principal forms of economic organization over time, from slavery to “non-European trifunctional societies,” Chinese-style communism, and “hypercapitalist” orders, in order to examine relative levels of inequality and its evolution. Each system is founded on an ideology, and “every ideology, no matter how extreme it may seem in its defense of inequality, expresses a certain idea of social justice.” In the present era, at least in the U.S., that idea of social justice would seem to be only that the big ones eat the little ones, the principal justification being that the wealthiest people became rich because they are “the most enterprising, deserving, and useful.” In fact, as Piketty demonstrates, there’s more to inequality than the mere “size of the income gap.” Contrary to hypercapitalist ideology and its defenders, the playing field is not level, the market is not self-regulating, and access is not evenly distributed. Against this, Piketty arrives at a proposed system that, among other things, would redistribute wealth across societies by heavy taxation, especially of inheritances, to create a “participatory socialism” in which power is widely shared and trade across nations is truly free. The word “socialism,” he allows, is a kind of Pandora’s box that can scare people off—and, he further acknowledges, “the Russian and Czech oligarchs who buy athletic teams and newspapers may not be the most savory characters, but the Soviet system was a nightmare and had to go.” Yet so, too, writes the author, is a capitalism that rewards so few at the expense of so many.

A deftly argued case for a new kind of socialism that, while sure to inspire controversy, bears widespread discussion.

Pub Date: March 10, 2020

ISBN: 978-0-674-98082-2

Page Count: 976

Publisher: Belknap/Harvard Univ.

Review Posted Online: Dec. 22, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 15, 2020

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more