A serviceable, if grandiose, motivational guide.

READ REVIEW

REAL POWER THROUGH SUCCESS AND FAILURE

HOW REALIZING YOUR IDEALS LEAD TO SUCCESS, SIGNIFICANCE AND INFLUENCE

Motivational speaker and consultant Ebwe urges readers to harness inner power to achieve outward success in this debut self-help work.

Everyone has the ability to achieve great things, says the author, but relatively few do. But according to Ebwe, failure is actually the key to future success: “It is the unforeseeable, the unthinkable or unfathomable events in life that usually push the limits of our commonness to propel us into the sphere of the extraordinary,” he says in the introduction to this book. In it, he seeks to put failure in a new context for readers, and to that end, he guides them though an analysis of “pillars of success,” the “Fifty Major Causes of Failure” (including “Poorly Defined Purpose” and “Negative Self-Expectancy”), and how the two concepts relate to each other. By offering new definitions of words associated with success—such as “Discovery,” “Transformation,” “Fulfillment,” and “Riches”—Ebwe shows readers that the real challenges are inside one’s own head. If one is willing to honestly interrogate their ambitions and embrace the possibility of failing, he says, one can get in touch with one’s true power. The author writes in an authoritative, if somewhat flat, prose style, dispensing axioms that will be familiar to readers of motivational books: “There’s joy, pride, and value in harvesting fruits from the ‘sweat of thy brow.’ No one builds a house by merely wishing it into existence.” That said, the book is organized clearly and well, with frequent five-point lists and short exercises for readers to complete as they read. However, almost none of the ideas here are unique, and they seem unlikely to provide the sweeping changes that the author promises throughout the book.

A serviceable, if grandiose, motivational guide.

Pub Date: May 16, 2018

ISBN: 978-1-982202-70-5

Page Count: 264

Publisher: BalboaPress

Review Posted Online: Oct. 16, 2018

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our...

THINKING, FAST AND SLOW

A psychologist and Nobel Prize winner summarizes and synthesizes the recent decades of research on intuition and systematic thinking.

The author of several scholarly texts, Kahneman (Emeritus Psychology and Public Affairs/Princeton Univ.) now offers general readers not just the findings of psychological research but also a better understanding of how research questions arise and how scholars systematically frame and answer them. He begins with the distinction between System 1 and System 2 mental operations, the former referring to quick, automatic thought, the latter to more effortful, overt thinking. We rely heavily, writes, on System 1, resorting to the higher-energy System 2 only when we need or want to. Kahneman continually refers to System 2 as “lazy”: We don’t want to think rigorously about something. The author then explores the nuances of our two-system minds, showing how they perform in various situations. Psychological experiments have repeatedly revealed that our intuitions are generally wrong, that our assessments are based on biases and that our System 1 hates doubt and despises ambiguity. Kahneman largely avoids jargon; when he does use some (“heuristics,” for example), he argues that such terms really ought to join our everyday vocabulary. He reviews many fundamental concepts in psychology and statistics (regression to the mean, the narrative fallacy, the optimistic bias), showing how they relate to his overall concerns about how we think and why we make the decisions that we do. Some of the later chapters (dealing with risk-taking and statistics and probabilities) are denser than others (some readers may resent such demands on System 2!), but the passages that deal with the economic and political implications of the research are gripping.

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our minds.

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-374-27563-1

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Review Posted Online: Sept. 4, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2011

Did you like this book?

A readable, persuasive argument that our ways of doing business will have to change if we are to prosper—or even survive.

REIMAGINING CAPITALISM IN A WORLD ON FIRE

A well-constructed critique of an economic system that, by the author’s account, is a driver of the world’s destruction.

Harvard Business School professor Henderson vigorously questions the bromide that “management’s only duty is to maximize shareholder value,” a notion advanced by Milton Friedman and accepted uncritically in business schools ever since. By that logic, writes the author, there is no reason why corporations should not fish out the oceans, raise drug prices, militate against public education (since it costs tax money), and otherwise behave ruinously and anti-socially. Many do, even though an alternative theory of business organization argues that corporations and society should enjoy a symbiotic relationship of mutual benefit, which includes corporate investment in what economists call public goods. Given that the history of humankind is “the story of our increasing ability to cooperate at larger and larger scales,” one would hope that in the face of environmental degradation and other threats, we might adopt the symbiotic model rather than the winner-take-all one. Problems abound, of course, including that of the “free rider,” the corporation that takes the benefits from collaborative agreements but does none of the work. Henderson examines case studies such as a large food company that emphasized environmentally responsible production and in turn built “purpose-led, sustainable living brands” and otherwise led the way in increasing shareholder value by reducing risk while building demand. The author argues that the “short-termism” that dominates corporate thinking needs to be adjusted to a longer view even though the larger problem might be better characterized as “failure of information.” Henderson closes with a set of prescriptions for bringing a more equitable economics to the personal level, one that, among other things, asks us to step outside routine—eat less meat, drive less—and become active in forcing corporations (and politicians) to be better citizens.

A readable, persuasive argument that our ways of doing business will have to change if we are to prosper—or even survive.

Pub Date: May 1, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-5417-3015-1

Page Count: 336

Publisher: PublicAffairs

Review Posted Online: Feb. 17, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: March 15, 2020

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more