Psychology Book Reviews (page 177)

ANIMAL MINDS by Donald R. Griffin
NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: Sept. 1, 1992

"Instead, Griffin, whose observations of echolation in bats have earned him high honors in animal science, can be credited with opening a path that invites others to blaze new trails in the quest for consciousness in all animals, human and otherwise."
In his latest elaboration on the theme of animal thought and consciousness, Griffin (an associate of Harvard's Museum of Comparative Zoology) is intent on laying to rest the ghosts of behaviorism. Read full book review >
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: Sept. 1, 1992

"And you would be right."
The art of curve-fitting is elevated to high science in this curious collection of data compiled by a physicist/management- science-consultant living in Geneva. Read full book review >

HISTORY
Released: Sept. 1, 1992

"An intellectual update from a profound thinker whose voice enhances the art and culture he contemplates. (Thirteen illustrations—not seen.)"
Sixteen philosophical essays (most previously published in academic journals) that, in the vein of Encounters and Reflections (1990), wrestle with questions of art by the critic who contends that Andy Warhol brought Western art history to an end. Read full book review >
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: Aug. 13, 1992

Revisionist forays into family therapy, by therapist Siegel and Newsday columnist Lowe. Read full book review >
REAL MAGIC by Wayne W. Dyer
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: Aug. 3, 1992

"Dyer's strength is in popularizing these thinkers and their ideas for the mainstream; his weakness is in a certain whiff of infatuation with his own celebrity that now and then wafts up from his pages."
Dyer (You'll See It When You Believe It, 1989, etc.) recaps the major tenets of New Age thinking—power meditation, unified field theory, mind-body healing, and prosperity consciousness, to name a few. ``Real magic,'' according to Dyer, is the seemingly miraculous response of the environment to a unity of purpose and belief in the individual. Read full book review >

CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: Aug. 1, 1992

"Why not give them a helping hand?"
An exhaustively researched look at the history and political implications of legislating English as our official language. Read full book review >
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: July 20, 1992

"Hortatory, ecstatic, and, ultimately, irritating."
A feminist counterpart to Iron John—or, how ``a healthy woman is much like a wolf.'' EstÇs, a Jungian analyst, believes that a woman's wholeness depends on her returning to the sources of her repressed instinctual nature. Read full book review >
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: July 15, 1992

"Easy to read, basically comforting, and occasionally enlightening."
Sketchy yet satisfying examination of the nature of regret and of how to use regret as a positive force in one's life. Read full book review >
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: July 15, 1992

"A compendium of useful information that delivers less than it claims as a social-scientific argument."
Harrison, a sometime director of development programs for the US Agency for International Development, argues that the extent to which countries are economically and politically ``successful'' is principally determined by cultural factors. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 15, 1992

"A brilliant psychological portrait, annotated and explained with tact and sensitivity."
An "epistolary biography'' comprised of a selection of Russell's previously unpublished correspondence—mostly love letters to his wife, Alys, and to Ottoline Morrell, a married Bloomsbury courtesan—discussing his work, education, women's rights and his own priggish morality. Read full book review >
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: July 7, 1992

"Overall: an eye-opening report, told with unusual frankness and a great deal of righteous anger. (Sixteen pages of b&w photographs-not seen.)"
Suspenseful, behind-closed-doors account of the legal and medical maneuverings that enabled deviously ingenuous killer Ross Michael Carlson to avoid trial from 1983—the year he shot both his parents to death—until his own death in 1989. Read full book review >
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: July 1, 1992

"A private and highly idiosyncratic meditation on the nature of evil, masquerading as clinical psychology."
A psychological treatise of some originality and depth that shoots itself in the foot through the absurdity of its applications. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Vanessa Diffenbaugh
September 1, 2015

Vanessa Diffenbaugh is the New York Timesbestselling author of The Language of Flowers; her new novel, We Never Asked for Wings, is about young love, hard choices, and hope against all odds. For 14 years, Letty Espinosa has worked three jobs around San Francisco to make ends meet while her mother raised her children—Alex, now 15, and Luna, six—in their tiny apartment on a forgotten spit of wetlands near the bay. But now Letty’s parents are returning to Mexico, and Letty must step up and become a mother for the first time in her life. “Diffenbaugh’s latest confirms her gift for creating shrewd, sympathetic charmers,” our reviewer writes. View video >