Psychology Book Reviews (page 2)

GORILLA AND THE BIRD by Zack  McDermott
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 26, 2017

"If the Joads were tanked up on Bud Light and Haldol and Steinbeck were under Hunter S. Thompson's influence, this might be the result—rueful, funny, and utterly authentic."
"I am a bipolar gorilla": a tale of madness, self-destruction, and the stalwart presence of a family that, while not exactly the Waltons, is always there. Read full book review >
WE NEED TO TALK by Celeste  Headlee
Released: Sept. 19, 2017

"A thoughtful discussion and sometimes-passionate plea for civility and consideration in conversation."
In this era of social media and increasing political and cultural polarization, we need to think more about how and why we converse with one another. Read full book review >

Released: Sept. 19, 2017

"Good, readable pop psychology that doesn't get too arcane but explores hidden mental corners all the same."
A pop-science tour of the brain and the "systematic mistakes we make when we attempt to change minds, as well as [an illumination of] what occurs during those instances in which we succeed." Read full book review >
THE ALL-OR-NOTHING MARRIAGE by Eli J. Finkel
Released: Sept. 19, 2017

"Finkel puts marriage under the microscope in this more-history-than-self-help scrutiny of the institution."
A thorough analysis of American marriage throughout the ages. Read full book review >
SURVIVOR CAFÉ by Elizabeth Rosner
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 12, 2017

"A thoughtful, probing meditation on the fragility of memory and the indelible inheritance of pain."
Trauma informs a memoir palpable with anger, sorrow, and frustration. Read full book review >

Released: Sept. 12, 2017

"At the edges where popular science and popular social criticism meet, with interesting if not always sharply limned arguments."
I want my MTV—and my doughnuts and my meth. Thus the American mind, racing to attain rewards that entire industries are glad to supply. Read full book review >
Released: Sept. 12, 2017

"A sometimes-thought-provoking but ultimately insubstantial assessment of human behavior. For devoted followers of this popular author."
An exploration of human behavior patterns as viewed through the lens of four specific tendencies. Read full book review >
FEVERLAND by Alex Lemon
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 12, 2017

"Although sometimes maddening to read, Lemon's collision of ideas and images adds up to a celebration of a life unbowed by suffering."
Fevered prose and wild digressions mark a poet's candid memoir of pain and illness. Read full book review >
WORLD WITHOUT MIND by Franklin Foer
Released: Sept. 12, 2017

"A spirited renunciation of the machine and not just for Luddites in favor of such radical thoughts as private ownership of one's own data and the nonalgorithmic shopping experience."
A capably argued if perhaps too familiar criticism of things as they are in this intermediated, technological swirl of a world. Read full book review >
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Sept. 12, 2017

"'Words, words, words,' said Hamlet—that brilliant, verbose Dane would find in these pages a most welcome elaboration."
The author of Thinking in Numbers: On Life, Love, Meaning, and Math (2013, etc.) shows us that language is a far more ornately feathered fowl than casual consideration can conceive.Read full book review >
Released: Sept. 12, 2017

"Nothing truly groundbreaking, but an enthusiastic, practical guide to achieving a healthy sense of interconnectedness within one's culture and community—and likely another bestseller for Brown."
How to foster fellowship through fearlessness and visibility. Read full book review >
Released: Sept. 12, 2017

"An impassioned and analytic guide to taking control of faltering relationships before they fall apart."
A couples therapist offers a comprehensive guide to maintaining healthy, intimate relationships. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >