Psychology Book Reviews (page 2)

THE MAN WHO COULDN'T STOP by David Adam
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 20, 2015

"Well-researched, witty, honest and irreverent, Adam's account proves as irresistible as his subject."
An engrossing first-person study of obsessive-compulsive disorder from within and without. Read full book review >
HEALTH & MEDICINE
Released: Jan. 16, 2015

"Wide-ranging, informative and entertaining, especially for parents and educators."
How our bodies and minds work in tandem. Read full book review >

FOOD & COOKING
Released: Jan. 6, 2015

"Worth a look for those who enjoy self-help books focused on healthy lifestyles."
Holistic health counselor and co-star of the award-winning documentary Super Size Me, Jamieson (Vegan Cooking for Dummies, 2010, etc.) tackles the age-old question of what women really want.Read full book review >
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: Jan. 6, 2015

"A solid resource for parents and educators working with middle school girls; the program goals can be adapted to other issues."
Leadership consultant Radin's debut book describes her after-school program that empowers middle school girls through animal rescue. The book was co-authored by health and fitness writer Goldman (Locker Room Diaries: The Naked Truth about Women, Body Image, and Re-imagining the "Perfect" Body, 2006, etc.).Read full book review >
AHA! by William B. Irvine
HISTORY
Released: Jan. 2, 2015

"Bright, absorbing look into a mystifying source of inspiration, the kind that often uncaps a wellspring of ideas and potential."
A crisply written study of how and why eureka moments can power intellectual breakthroughs. Read full book review >

HOW WE ARE by Vincent Deary
HEALTH & MEDICINE
Released: Jan. 1, 2015

"A psychologist puts humanity on the client's couch, but a cure seems unlikely."
Thoughts on the human condition from a cognitive psychologist-turned-armchair philosopher. Read full book review >
FEELING SMART by Eyal Winter
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: Dec. 30, 2014

"No special knowledge of game theory or of economic theory is required to follow Winter's arguments, and his insights about human behavior range over a variety of areas: politics, religion, sex, marriage and art. A lively, accessible work."
A Humboldt Prize-winning Israeli scholar of behavioral economics advances the concept of rational emotions in a book filled with fascinating studies and personal anecdotes. Read full book review >
WHAT DO I DO NOW? by Stephen D. Miller
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: Dec. 10, 2014

"An intellectual but nontechnical concept of human psychological development that offers useful prescriptions for self-improvement."
Miller's debutnonfiction book asks a question that's easy for readers to lose sight of amidst the hurdles of daily living: am I living a meaningful life? Read full book review >
A COUNTRY CALLED CHILDHOOD by Jay Griffiths
NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: Nov. 11, 2014

"A provocative critique of modern society."
Griffiths (Wild: An Elemental Journey, 2006, etc.) focuses on the lives of children in her continued exploration of the role of nature in giving meaning to our lives. Read full book review >
THE RESILIENCE DIVIDEND by Judith Rodin
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: Nov. 11, 2014

"A convincing argument that becoming resilient is not only possible, but essential; food for thought for all and especially recommended for community leaders."
A revealing examination of the anatomy of resilience, the capacity to withstand and emerge stronger from acute shocks and chronic stresses. Read full book review >
IT'S NOT ABOUT THE SHARK by David Niven
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: Nov. 4, 2014

"A smooth repackaging of how to think outside the box but offering little heft and nothing new."
Niven (100 Simple Secrets series) suggests that we right the rules of the game and not let our problems command the playing field. Read full book review >
EMPATHY by Roman Krznaric
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: Nov. 4, 2014

"Useful advice that promotes a more contented, fulfilling lifestyle."
School of Life founder Krznaric (How Should We Live?: Great Ideas from the Past for Everyday Life, 2013, etc.) presents methods to increase a person's ability to look at situations through another's eyes.Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Gabrielle Zevin
March 3, 2015

A. J. Fikry’s life is not at all what he expected it to be. He lives alone, his bookstore is experiencing the worst sales in its history, and now his prized possession, a rare collection of Poe poems, has been stolen. But when a mysterious package appears at the bookstore, its unexpected arrival gives Fikry the chance to make his life over—and see everything anew. “Zevin writes characters who grow and prosper,” our reviewer writes, “in a narrative that is sometimes sentimental, sometimes funny, sometimes true to life and always entertaining.” View video >