Psychology Book Reviews (page 8)

OLD AGE by Michael Kinsley
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: April 26, 2016

"An uneven but ultimately satisfying examination of the importance of 'long years of good health, not long years simply breathing in and out.'"
A short book about aging and baby boomers that mixes memoir and self-help. Read full book review >
ALGORITHMS TO LIVE BY by Brian Christian
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: April 19, 2016

"An entertaining, intelligently presented book for the numerate and computer literate."
We are always connected: this is both our blessing and our curse. The problem "is that we're always buffered," just a step behind the flood of information flowing toward and past us, all the books and movies and other ingredients of what the authors call "bufferbloat."Read full book review >

CAPTURE by David A. Kessler
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: April 12, 2016

"A reasonable theory of the science behind extreme behavior illustrated by excessive but gripping case histories."
Why do we do things—overeat, obsess, fight, commit suicide—that make it seem like our rational minds have been hijacked by something we cannot control? Read full book review >
ENTERTAINMENT & SPORTS
Released: April 12, 2016

"A challenging and provocative inquiry into how we see the world…now, 'the point is to change it.'"
A semiotics for the masses. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 12, 2016

"Good advice backed by research coupled with personal reflections by a father on how to let children grow up to be individuals rather than miniature versions of their parents."
A man opens up about his shortcomings as a father. Read full book review >

Self-Love by Wei Chen
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: April 10, 2016

"An uneven self-help book that still offers a solid starting point for those trying to discover why romantic happiness eludes them."
Meditations on the true nature of love. Read full book review >
WARRIOR by Theresa Larson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 5, 2016

"A courageous and inspiring memoir."
A doctor of physical therapy and former Marine lieutenant tells the story of her painful struggle with bulimia. Read full book review >
THE GOLDEN CONDOM by Jeanne Safer
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: April 5, 2016

"A highly relatable collection of anecdotes that serves as a valuable crash course on the pitfalls, seductions, and rewards of love."
A psychoanalyst dissects the raptures and torments of love through a series of case studies. Read full book review >
PRETENTIOUSNESS by Dan Fox
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: April 5, 2016

"Not as provocative as it might be, but never pretentious."
A short book puts a positive spin on a term of almost universal disparagement. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: April 5, 2016

"Essentially a critical study, Nguyen's work is a powerful reflection on how we choose to remember and forget."
A scholarly exploration of memory and the Vietnam War from an author "born in Vietnam but made in America." Read full book review >
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: April 5, 2016

"With its academic tone and spirited, convincing vision, revolutionary new insights can be gleaned from this book on how to approach life's multifarious situations with both heart and head."
A popular college instructor explains how ancient Chinese thought can be applied to everyday life. Read full book review >
SOAR ABOVE by Steven Stosny
HEALTH & MEDICINE
Released: April 5, 2016

"In a book that will appeal to readers devoted to self-betterment, a relationship expert divides the brain into two parts and shows how to let the mature side win when under stress."
How to access your higher brain for a better life. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Kathleen Kent
author of THE DIME
February 14, 2017

Dallas, Texas is not for the faint of heart. Good thing for Betty Rhyzyk she's from a family of take-no-prisoners Brooklyn police detectives. But in Kathleen Kent’s new novel The Dime, her Big Apple wisdom will only get her so far when she relocates to The Big D, where Mexican drug cartels and cult leaders, deadbeat skells and society wives all battle for sunbaked turf. Betty is as tough as the best of them, but she's deeply shaken when her first investigation goes sideways. Battling a group of unruly subordinates, a persistent stalker, a formidable criminal organization, and an unsupportive girlfriend, the unbreakable Detective Betty Rhyzyk may be reaching her limit. “Violent, sexy, and completely absorbing,” our critic writes in a starred review. “Kent's detective is Sam Spade reincarnated—as a brilliant, modern woman.” View video >