Psychology Book Reviews (page 9)

Be YourSelf by Akshya Vasudev
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2016

"Thought-provoking, Hindu-focused mental health commentary."
A psychiatrist discusses his midlife embrace of Vedanta philosophy and related insights on depression, anxiety, and other subjects in this debut memoir and self-help guide. Read full book review >
OLD AGE by Michael Kinsley
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: April 26, 2016

"An uneven but ultimately satisfying examination of the importance of 'long years of good health, not long years simply breathing in and out.'"
A short book about aging and baby boomers that mixes memoir and self-help. Read full book review >

ALGORITHMS TO LIVE BY by Brian Christian
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: April 19, 2016

"An entertaining, intelligently presented book for the numerate and computer literate."
We are always connected: this is both our blessing and our curse. The problem "is that we're always buffered," just a step behind the flood of information flowing toward and past us, all the books and movies and other ingredients of what the authors call "bufferbloat."Read full book review >
CAPTURE by David A. Kessler
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: April 12, 2016

"A reasonable theory of the science behind extreme behavior illustrated by excessive but gripping case histories."
Why do we do things—overeat, obsess, fight, commit suicide—that make it seem like our rational minds have been hijacked by something we cannot control? Read full book review >
ENTERTAINMENT & SPORTS
Released: April 12, 2016

"A challenging and provocative inquiry into how we see the world…now, 'the point is to change it.'"
A semiotics for the masses. Read full book review >

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 12, 2016

"Good advice backed by research coupled with personal reflections by a father on how to let children grow up to be individuals rather than miniature versions of their parents."
A man opens up about his shortcomings as a father. Read full book review >
Self-Love by Wei Chen
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: April 10, 2016

"An uneven self-help book that still offers a solid starting point for those trying to discover why romantic happiness eludes them."
Meditations on the true nature of love. Read full book review >
WARRIOR by Theresa Larson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 5, 2016

"A courageous and inspiring memoir."
A doctor of physical therapy and former Marine lieutenant tells the story of her painful struggle with bulimia. Read full book review >
THE GOLDEN CONDOM by Jeanne Safer
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: April 5, 2016

"A highly relatable collection of anecdotes that serves as a valuable crash course on the pitfalls, seductions, and rewards of love."
A psychoanalyst dissects the raptures and torments of love through a series of case studies. Read full book review >
PRETENTIOUSNESS by Dan Fox
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: April 5, 2016

"Not as provocative as it might be, but never pretentious."
A short book puts a positive spin on a term of almost universal disparagement. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: April 5, 2016

"Essentially a critical study, Nguyen's work is a powerful reflection on how we choose to remember and forget."
A scholarly exploration of memory and the Vietnam War from an author "born in Vietnam but made in America." Read full book review >
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: April 5, 2016

"With its academic tone and spirited, convincing vision, revolutionary new insights can be gleaned from this book on how to approach life's multifarious situations with both heart and head."
A popular college instructor explains how ancient Chinese thought can be applied to everyday life. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Brad Parks
author of SAY NOTHING
March 7, 2017

In Brad Parks’ new thriller Say Nothing, judge Scott Sampson doesn’t brag about having a perfect life, but the evidence is clear: a prestigious job. A beloved family. On an ordinary Wednesday afternoon, he is about to pick up his six-year-old twins to go swimming when his wife, Alison, texts him that she’ll get the kids from school instead. It’s not until she gets home later that Scott realizes she doesn’t have the children. And she never sent the text. Then the phone rings, and every parent’s most chilling nightmare begins. A man has stolen Sam and Emma. For Scott and Alison, the kidnapper’s call is only the beginning of a twisting, gut-churning ordeal of blackmail, deceit, and terror; a high-profile trial like none the judge or his wife has ever experienced. Their marriage falters. Suspicions and long-buried jealousies rise to the surface. Fractures appear. Lies are told. “The nerve-shredding never lets up for a minute as Parks picks you up by the scruff of the neck, shakes you vigorously, and repeats over and over again till a climax so harrowing that you’ll be shaking with gratitude that it’s finally over,” our critic writes in a starred review. View video >