Many readers will find the New Age platitudes tiring, but these intimate stories will draw the attention of New Age seekers...

READ REVIEW

THE HEALING POWER OF REIKI

A MODERN MASTER'S APPROACH TO EMOTIONAL, SPIRITUAL & PHYSICAL WELLNESS

Personal accounts of reiki, a type of therapeutic healing.

Reiki, writes Keyes, is "a form of gentle energy transmission administered through the hands of a practitioner…the energy of pure, unconditional love." The author, a reiki master, shares a variety of personal, emotionally moving experiences from her practice in this restorative medicine. She brings to light an ancient technique that is rapidly gaining acceptance in the modern, scientific world—Keyes details accounts of working with heart and transplant surgeons to aid the recovery of patients. She has performed reiki on skeptical professional athletes to help them overcome chronic pain, and she has helped cancer patients conquer the nausea and fears surrounding their illnesses and even seen the cancer go into remission. Keyes also spent nearly a year at ground zero, aiding the firefighters and policemen involved in the search for victims of 9/11. Through reiki, she was able to help numerous workers return to their grisly work each day. Soldiers and victims of abuse suffering from PTSD have also found relief through this method. Keyes honestly explains her experiences with her personal spirit guides, who aid her in this healing technique, as well as her exposure to spirits who have passed on who wish to convey messages to those still living. The author combines these accounts with meditations readers can perform to summon their own spirit guides and feel the benefits of reiki. She provides a no-nonsense approach to this restorative and soothing process, but the writing is workmanlike and occasionally overwrought.

Many readers will find the New Age platitudes tiring, but these intimate stories will draw the attention of New Age seekers and those interested in alternative medicine.

Pub Date: Oct. 8, 2012

ISBN: 978-0-7387-3351-7

Page Count: 288

Publisher: Llewellyn

Review Posted Online: July 20, 2012

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 15, 2012

Did you like this book?

An eye-opening glimpse into the attempted self-unmaking of one of Hollywood’s most recognizable talents.

OPEN BOOK

The debut memoir from the pop and fashion star.

Early on, Simpson describes the book she didn’t write: “a motivational manual telling you how to live your best life.” Though having committed to the lucrative deal years before, she “walked away,” fearing any sort of self-help advice she might give would be hypocritical. Outwardly, Simpson was at the peak of her success, with her fashion line generating “one billion dollars in annual sales.” However, anxiety was getting the better of her, and she admits she’d become a “feelings addict,” just needing “enough noise to distract me from the pain I’d been avoiding since childhood. The demons of traumatic abuse that refused to let me sleep at night—Tylenol PM at age twelve, red wine and Ambien as a grown, scared woman. Those same demons who perched on my shoulder, and when they saw a man as dark as them, leaned in to my ear to whisper, ‘Just give him your light. See if it saves him…’ ” On Halloween 2017, Simpson hit rock bottom, and, with the intervention of her devoted friends and husband, began to address her addictions and underlying fears. In this readable but overlong narrative, the author traces her childhood as a Baptist preacher’s daughter moving 18 times before she “hit fifth grade,” and follows her remarkable rise to fame as a singer. She reveals the psychological trauma resulting from years of sexual abuse by a family friend, experiences that drew her repeatedly into bad relationships with men, most publicly with ex-husband Nick Lachey. Admitting that she was attracted to the validating power of an audience, Simpson analyzes how her failings and triumphs have enabled her to take control of her life, even as she was hounded by the press and various music and movie executives about her weight. Simpson’s memoir contains plenty of personal and professional moments for fans to savor.

An eye-opening glimpse into the attempted self-unmaking of one of Hollywood’s most recognizable talents.

Pub Date: Feb. 4, 2020

ISBN: 978-0-06-289996-5

Page Count: 416

Publisher: Dey Street/HarperCollins

Review Posted Online: Feb. 16, 2020

Did you like this book?

A very welcome instance of philosophy that can help readers live a good life.

THE ART OF SOLITUDE

A teacher and scholar of Buddhism offers a formally varied account of the available rewards of solitude.

“As Mother Ayahuasca takes me in her arms, I realize that last night I vomited up my attachment to Buddhism. In passing out, I died. In coming to, I was, so to speak, reborn. I no longer have to fight these battles, I repeat to myself. I am no longer a combatant in the dharma wars. It feels as if the course of my life has shifted onto another vector, like a train shunted off its familiar track onto a new trajectory.” Readers of Batchelor’s previous books (Secular Buddhism: Imagining the Dharma in an Uncertain World, 2017, etc.) will recognize in this passage the culmination of his decadeslong shift away from the religious commitments of Buddhism toward an ecumenical and homegrown philosophy of life. Writing in a variety of modes—memoir, history, collage, essay, biography, and meditation instruction—the author doesn’t argue for his approach to solitude as much as offer it for contemplation. Essentially, Batchelor implies that if you read what Buddha said here and what Montaigne said there, and if you consider something the author has noticed, and if you reflect on your own experience, you have the possibility to improve the quality of your life. For introspective readers, it’s easy to hear in this approach a direct response to Pascal’s claim that “all of humanity's problems stem from man's inability to sit quietly in a room alone.” Batchelor wants to relieve us of this inability by offering his example of how to do just that. “Solitude is an art. Mental training is needed to refine and stabilize it,” he writes. “When you practice solitude, you dedicate yourself to the care of the soul.” Whatever a soul is, the author goes a long way toward soothing it.

A very welcome instance of philosophy that can help readers live a good life.

Pub Date: Feb. 18, 2020

ISBN: 978-0-300-25093-0

Page Count: 200

Publisher: Yale Univ.

Review Posted Online: Nov. 25, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Dec. 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

more