Intelligent discussions and broad research into cultural and spiritual symbols make this work about interpreting dreams a...

MORPHEUS SPEAKS

THE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF DREAM INTERPRETING

A psychologist offers a guide to the symbols and potential meanings of dreams.

Cole’s (The Archipelago of Dreams, 2011, etc.) book, the third he’s written about dream interpretation, is intended to be more of a manual on the practice. After a lengthy introduction, wherein the author explains his background working with children and teens, the utility he has found in dream interpretation, and the various inspirations and motivations behind this volume, the main body of the work is divided into three sections. The first and most extensive section is a dream dictionary, where symbols and concepts are listed alphabetically and given short descriptions and definitions as to their potential or most commonly held meanings. Some entries have special portions called “Insights,” in which Cole delves more deeply into the spiritual, historical, or cultural wellsprings for the concepts in Western thought. The second section is devoted to archetypes, symbols that appear in similar forms throughout most cultures, while the third focuses on nightmares. Uncredited, amateurish, yet charming hand-drawn illustrations are sprinkled throughout the book. Although dream interpretation may seem like one of the stranger practices in the field of psychology, Cole argues genially and persuasively for its utility in resolving internal conflicts and aiding self-discovery while being careful to distinguish it from scientific analysis. Calling dream interpretation “an intuitive expression of the psyche,” the author roots the practice in such similar impulses as art and spirituality and makes clear throughout that his exhaustive work in these pages is intended to serve as a guide, not a definitive resource. Readers who are skeptics by nature may not hold much truck with the idea that dream interpretation could be useful. But Cole’s intelligent, reassuring prose coupled with his insights into the mind’s workings gained from three decades of working with troubled youth makes a strong argument for his claims.

Intelligent discussions and broad research into cultural and spiritual symbols make this work about interpreting dreams a resonant, thoughtful read.

Pub Date: July 31, 2019

ISBN: 978-1-5320-7006-8

Page Count: 602

Publisher: iUniverse

Review Posted Online: Dec. 4, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Feb. 1, 2020

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Doyle offers another lucid, inspiring chronicle of female empowerment and the rewards of self-awareness and renewal.

Reader Votes

  • Readers Vote
  • 25

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • IndieBound Bestseller

UNTAMED

More life reflections from the bestselling author on themes of societal captivity and the catharsis of personal freedom.

In her third book, Doyle (Love Warrior, 2016, etc.) begins with a life-changing event. “Four years ago,” she writes, “married to the father of my three children, I fell in love with a woman.” That woman, Abby Wambach, would become her wife. Emblematically arranged into three sections—“Caged,” “Keys,” “Freedom”—the narrative offers, among other elements, vignettes about the soulful author’s girlhood, when she was bulimic and felt like a zoo animal, a “caged girl made for wide-open skies.” She followed the path that seemed right and appropriate based on her Catholic upbringing and adolescent conditioning. After a downward spiral into “drinking, drugging, and purging,” Doyle found sobriety and the authentic self she’d been suppressing. Still, there was trouble: Straining an already troubled marriage was her husband’s infidelity, which eventually led to life-altering choices and the discovery of a love she’d never experienced before. Throughout the book, Doyle remains open and candid, whether she’s admitting to rigging a high school homecoming court election or denouncing the doting perfectionism of “cream cheese parenting,” which is about “giving your children the best of everything.” The author’s fears and concerns are often mirrored by real-world issues: gender roles and bias, white privilege, racism, and religion-fueled homophobia and hypocrisy. Some stories merely skim the surface of larger issues, but Doyle revisits them in later sections and digs deeper, using friends and familial references to personify their impact on her life, both past and present. Shorter pieces, some only a page in length, manage to effectively translate an emotional gut punch, as when Doyle’s therapist called her blooming extramarital lesbian love a “dangerous distraction.” Ultimately, the narrative is an in-depth look at a courageous woman eager to share the wealth of her experiences by embracing vulnerability and reclaiming her inner strength and resiliency.

Doyle offers another lucid, inspiring chronicle of female empowerment and the rewards of self-awareness and renewal.

Pub Date: March 10, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-9848-0125-8

Page Count: 352

Publisher: Dial Books

Review Posted Online: Dec. 22, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 15, 2020

Did you like this book?

Readers unfamiliar with the anecdotal material Greene presents may find interesting avenues to pursue, but they should...

MASTERY

Greene (The 33 Strategies of War, 2007, etc.) believes that genius can be learned if we pay attention and reject social conformity.

The author suggests that our emergence as a species with stereoscopic, frontal vision and sophisticated hand-eye coordination gave us an advantage over earlier humans and primates because it allowed us to contemplate a situation and ponder alternatives for action. This, along with the advantages conferred by mirror neurons, which allow us to intuit what others may be thinking, contributed to our ability to learn, pass on inventions to future generations and improve our problem-solving ability. Throughout most of human history, we were hunter-gatherers, and our brains are engineered accordingly. The author has a jaundiced view of our modern technological society, which, he writes, encourages quick, rash judgments. We fail to spend the time needed to develop thorough mastery of a subject. Greene writes that every human is “born unique,” with specific potential that we can develop if we listen to our inner voice. He offers many interesting but tendentious examples to illustrate his theory, including Einstein, Darwin, Mozart and Temple Grandin. In the case of Darwin, Greene ignores the formative intellectual influences that shaped his thought, including the discovery of geological evolution with which he was familiar before his famous voyage. The author uses Grandin's struggle to overcome autistic social handicaps as a model for the necessity for everyone to create a deceptive social mask.

Readers unfamiliar with the anecdotal material Greene presents may find interesting avenues to pursue, but they should beware of the author's quirky, sometimes misleading brush-stroke characterizations.

Pub Date: Nov. 13, 2012

ISBN: 978-0-670-02496-4

Page Count: 320

Publisher: Viking

Review Posted Online: Sept. 13, 2012

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Oct. 1, 2012

Did you like this book?

more