THORNTREE MEADOWS by Roger Nett

THORNTREE MEADOWS

By
Email this review

KIRKUS REVIEW

Are we being captious when we say that everything seems wrong about this book? While rooted in the tradition of Thornton Burgess, A.A. Milne and Thurber, it emerges as a shadowy semblance -- an animal land whimsy that fails to come off. The age appeal is gauged for 8-12 by the publishers. We'd place it considerably lower, at, perhaps, a read aloud level, about 7 to 9. ... An aardvark, Hamlet (a pig perhaps 7) and a hippopotamus cavort with an Orlon dog in an idyllic existence that makes efforts to be amusing but fails to capture the interest of this reader.

Publisher: Houghton, Mifflin