Romance Book Reviews (page 2)

MESS WITH ME by Nicole Helm
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 29, 2017

"A classic small-town contemporary romance with extra angst, perfect for fans of Susan Mallery and Jill Shalvis."
Two emotionally scarred people find each other and heal themselves in the Colorado Rockies Read full book review >
YOU SAY IT FIRST by Susan Mallery
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 29, 2017

"A great choice for a weekend read."
Can an artist who's afraid of passion find his muse in a gun-shy wedding planner? Will a town built around romance inspire them to push through their boundaries? Read full book review >

ONCE A REBEL by Mary Jo Putney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 29, 2017

"Though suspense and adventure drive this story forward, the love at its center sets it apart."
Two childhood friends find each other again by the dawn's early light. Read full book review >
SO I MARRIED A SORCERER by Kerrelyn Sparks
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 29, 2017

"A dense but enjoyable fantasy romance."
An exiled princess and a sorcerer pirate find love on the high seas, but their histories could tear them apart. Read full book review >
THE CHESAPEAKE BRIDE by Mariah Stewart
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 29, 2017

"Stewart's (Last Chance Matinee, 2017, etc.) latest is an endearing beachside romance."
A charming world traveler sets his sights on an intelligent architect who has no time for courtship. Read full book review >

DIRTY DANCING AT DEVIL'S LEAP by Julie Anne Long
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 29, 2017

"For fans of Americana romance and Susan Elizabeth Phillips and those who root for the healing of a bruised heart, especially one that scorned romance or let it go as a childish thing."
Memories of teen heartbreak surface when a Silicon Valley businesswoman at a personal and professional crossroad returns to her roots in California hill country—and runs into her first love. Read full book review >
THE LAIRD TAKES A BRIDE by Lisa Berne
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 29, 2017

"A bright, intelligent, heart-tugging romance."
Highland spinster Fiona Douglass is forced to attend a house party designed to find a bride for Alasdair Penhallow and has every expectation of being looked over, but after a series of unexpected events, she finds herself married to the intriguing, infuriating man. Read full book review >
AFTER THE WINTER by Anna Dowdall
ROMANCE
Released: Aug. 25, 2017

"Atmospheric romantic suspense in the tradition of Daphne du Maurier."
The discovery of a secret half sister leads a woman into a web of deception and intrigue in this debut novel. Read full book review >
MARY POSER by Angel A.
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 21, 2017

"A few flaws but entertaining and romantic."
In A's debut novel, an update of Jane Austen's Persuasion, a Nashville woman struggles with perfectionism, attraction to a Hindu filmmaker, and an overbearing mother.Read full book review >
BLENDED NOTES by Lilah Suzanne
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 17, 2017

"A witty, touching, nuanced—and very sexy—romance."
A country music star faces industry push back when his label disapproves of a love song written for his soon-to-be husband, and suddenly his career, his relationship, and his happiness seem shaky. Read full book review >
BAD DEEDS by Lisa Renee Jones
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 8, 2017

"High drama, luxury lifestyles, aggressive masculinity, and a large and interconnected cast of characters will please fans of this series."
Third in a Dynasty-esque romance series revolving around a powerful family with criminal ties, the son who wants to go legit, and the woman on the run who falls for him. Read full book review >
LOVE RECONSIDERED by Phyllis  J. Piano
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 8, 2017

"A charming work about two damaged, intertwined families."
Piano (Hostile Takeover, 2016) tells the story of two families dealing with the fallout of a tragic death in this novel. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >