Science Fiction & Fantasy Book Reviews

GNOMON by Nick Harkaway
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 11, 2018

"Fans of Pynchon and William Gibson alike will devour this smart, expertly written bit of literary subversion."
Beguiling, multilayered, sprawling novel that blends elements of Philip K. Dick-tinged sci-fi, mystery, politics, and literary fiction in a most satisfying brew. Read full book review >
DARK STATE by Charles Stross
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"Sheer brilliance: when Stross is in this mood, nobody else comes close."
This sequel to Empire Games (2017), set in the same world as Stross' Merchant Princes series, plunges us deep into a nightmarish clash of arms, politics, and wills between near-future governments in alternate timelines. Read full book review >

THUNDERHEAD by Neal Shusterman
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"Fear the reaper(s)…but relish this intelligent and entertaining blend of dark humor and high death tolls. (Science fiction. 14-adult)"
Death proves impermanent in this sequel to Scythe (2016). Read full book review >
THE BEGINNING WOODS by Malcolm McNeill
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"McNeill's storytelling skills shine in this witty, delightful story about the power of imagination and dreaming. (Fantasy. 10-adult)"
Two worlds collide with dire consequences in McNeill's debut. Read full book review >
WEAVE A CIRCLE ROUND by Kari Maaren
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 28, 2017

"A charming, extraordinarily relatable book with the potential to become a timeless classic."
A Canadian teenager learns about herself—and the fabric of the universe—when she goes traveling in time with an immortal 14-year-old. Read full book review >

THE CITY OF BRASS by S.A.  Chakraborty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 14, 2017

"Highly impressive and exceptionally promising."
A rich Middle Eastern fantasy, the first of a trilogy: Chakraborty's intriguing debut. Read full book review >
ICE by Anna Kavan
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 14, 2017

"A gripping and uniquely strange work of science fiction."
This 50th-anniversary edition of a novel about a surreal pursuit through an apocalyptic world should bring new attention to Kavan (1901-1968; Who Are You, 1963, etc.), a writer of intense imagination. Read full book review >
THE SPEAKER  by Traci Chee
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Nov. 7, 2017

"Filled with even more magic and intrigue than its predecessor, this is a gripping follow-up that will leave readers speculating and wanting more. (Fantasy. 14-adult)"
The adventure continues in Chee's second installment of the Sea of Ink and Gold series. Read full book review >
MORE HUMAN THAN HUMAN by Neil Clarke
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 7, 2017

"A top-notch selection of imaginative and thought-provoking stories about AI, reinventing old tropes and making us revisit the eternal question of what it is to be human."
Clarke, the publisher of Clarkesworld magazine, compiles 27 tales of artificial humans and what we see of ourselves in them. Read full book review >
THE OVERNEATH by Peter S. Beagle
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 7, 2017

"A masterful collection from a short story master—a must-read for Beagle fans."
Beagle's latest collection of short stories includes 13 fantasy gems and features many previously uncollected and never-before-published works. Read full book review >
MALICE OF CROWS by Lila Bowen
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 31, 2017

"Fans of the Shadow will love returning to his world, and fantasy fans who haven't yet encountered this colorful cowboy should hurry up and dive in."
A tale of magical battles set on the frontier of a Western world beset by monsters. Read full book review >
HENRY PASH AND THE BOTZEC REVOLUTION by Prateek  Goorha
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 26, 2017

"A prospective technology-driven future enriched by an endlessly funny protagonist."
In Goorha's witty debut novel, the world adjusts to a company's revolutionary computerization of businesses, an efficient method that leaves some people shortchanged. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >