Science Fiction & Fantasy Book Reviews (page 3)

IRON GOLD by Pierce Brown
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 16, 2018

"For those who like their science fiction dense, monumental, and a bit overwrought."
Brown is back with Book 4 of his Red Rising series (Morning Star, 2016, etc.) and explores familiar themes of rebellion, revenge, and political instability. Read full book review >
GIRL DIVIDED by Willow Rose
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 16, 2018

"An incendiary tale featuring mythic and realistic elements."
A girl whose skin is black on the right side of her body, white on the left, becomes a magical figure in an apocalyptic future in this YA fantasy novel. Read full book review >

CHRONICLES OF SPARTAK by Steven A. Coulter
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 16, 2018

"A sometimes-diverting dystopian fantasy with an unconvincing romance and inconsistent politics."
A bisexual, teenage slave squares off against the combined might of church and state with the help of his rich husband in this sci-fi thriller. Read full book review >
A LORD'S TREASURE by David S. Longworth
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Jan. 16, 2018

"An offbeat though informative lesson in personal finance."
Debut author Longworth presents a brief allegorical novel about financial well-being. Read full book review >
THE RIVEN STARS by Stephen Renneberg
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Jan. 15, 2018

"A steadily paced and exhilarating espionage tale involving the threat of galactic war."
In this fifth installment of a sci-fi saga, a 47th-century intelligence agent spies on aliens who may have forged an alliance with a hostile race. Read full book review >

SPIRITS COLLIDE by J.M.  LeDuc
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Jan. 13, 2018

"An exciting, well-written supernatural thriller with a cliffhanger ending."
A teenage girl with a grand destiny fights to save her people from an army of demons. Read full book review >
GNOMON by Nick Harkaway
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 11, 2018

"Fans of Pynchon and William Gibson alike will devour this smart, expertly written bit of literary subversion."
Beguiling, multilayered, sprawling novel that blends elements of Philip K. Dick-tinged sci-fi, mystery, politics, and literary fiction in a most satisfying brew. Read full book review >
THE GIRL IN THE TOWER by Katherine Arden
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"A compelling, fast-moving story that grounds fantasy elements in a fascinating period of Russian history."
An impetuous young woman disguises herself as a boy and rides a mysterious horse through a lush and forbidding version of medieval Russia in the second novel in a proposed trilogy. Read full book review >
SINLESS  by Sarah Tarkoff
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"Clever worldbuilding elevates the story above its occasional moral ham-handedness, and the plot is juicy enough to carry readers to the sequel."
Tarkoff's debut novel follows a young woman's coming-of-age in a dystopic near future where moral character and physical beauty go hand in hand...or do they? Read full book review >
DARK STATE by Charles Stross
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"Sheer brilliance: when Stross is in this mood, nobody else comes close."
This sequel to Empire Games (2017), set in the same world as Stross' Merchant Princes series, plunges us deep into a nightmarish clash of arms, politics, and wills between near-future governments in alternate timelines. Read full book review >
THUNDERHEAD by Neal Shusterman
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"Fear the reaper(s)…but relish this intelligent and entertaining blend of dark humor and high death tolls. (Science fiction. 14-adult)"
Death proves impermanent in this sequel to Scythe (2016). Read full book review >
THE BEGINNING WOODS by Malcolm McNeill
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"McNeill's storytelling skills shine in this witty, delightful story about the power of imagination and dreaming. (Fantasy. 10-adult)"
Two worlds collide with dire consequences in McNeill's debut. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >