Science Fiction & Fantasy Book Reviews

THE GONE WORLD by Tom Sweterlitsch
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"This darkly poetic and profoundly disturbing glimpse into the potential last days of humankind will surely haunt readers' dreams long after the book is finished."
Sweterlitsch's latest (Tomorrow and Tomorrow, 2014, etc.) is a mind-blowing fusion of science fiction, thriller, existential horror, and apocalyptic fiction. Read full book review >
BY A CHARM & A CURSE by Jaime  Questell
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"A dark idea for a YA story, executed deftly and with feeling."
In Questell's debut YA novel, a teenage girl has her first kiss and becomes trapped by a traveling carnival's magical spell. Read full book review >

THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Jan. 30, 2018

"Not everybody lives, and certainly not 'happily ever after'—but within all the grisly darkness, Alice's fierce integrity and hard-won self-knowledge shine unquenched. (Fantasy. 16-adult)"
A ferocious young woman is drawn into her grandmother's sinister fairy-tale realm in this pitch-black fantasy debut. Read full book review >
THE WANDERER AND THE NEW WEST by Adam Bender
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 17, 2018

"A tight, thoughtful work that has much to offer readers on both sides of the gun control debate."
Bender (Divided We Fall, 2014, etc.) offers a dystopian novel about an America ruled by gangs and gun manufacturers and about the brave few who are willing to fight them both. Read full book review >
GNOMON by Nick Harkaway
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 11, 2018

"Fans of Pynchon and William Gibson alike will devour this smart, expertly written bit of literary subversion."
Beguiling, multilayered, sprawling novel that blends elements of Philip K. Dick-tinged sci-fi, mystery, politics, and literary fiction in a most satisfying brew. Read full book review >

DARK STATE by Charles Stross
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"Sheer brilliance: when Stross is in this mood, nobody else comes close."
This sequel to Empire Games (2017), set in the same world as Stross' Merchant Princes series, plunges us deep into a nightmarish clash of arms, politics, and wills between near-future governments in alternate timelines. Read full book review >
THUNDERHEAD by Neal Shusterman
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"Fear the reaper(s)…but relish this intelligent and entertaining blend of dark humor and high death tolls. (Science fiction. 14-adult)"
Death proves impermanent in this sequel to Scythe (2016). Read full book review >
THE BEGINNING WOODS by Malcolm McNeill
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"McNeill's storytelling skills shine in this witty, delightful story about the power of imagination and dreaming. (Fantasy. 10-adult)"
Two worlds collide with dire consequences in McNeill's debut. Read full book review >
THE PUDDLE CLUB by Michael   McGruther
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Jan. 3, 2018

"A fine teaching tool that offers advice for getting through a golf game—and through life."
In this debut middle-grade fantasy novella, a young girl plays through an adventurous golf course that teaches her as much about herself as it does about the sport. Read full book review >
WEAVE A CIRCLE ROUND by Kari Maaren
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 28, 2017

"A charming, extraordinarily relatable book with the potential to become a timeless classic."
A Canadian teenager learns about herself—and the fabric of the universe—when she goes traveling in time with an immortal 14-year-old. Read full book review >
THE CITY OF BRASS by S.A.  Chakraborty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 14, 2017

"Highly impressive and exceptionally promising."
A rich Middle Eastern fantasy, the first of a trilogy: Chakraborty's intriguing debut. Read full book review >
ICE by Anna Kavan
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 14, 2017

"A gripping and uniquely strange work of science fiction."
This 50th-anniversary edition of a novel about a surreal pursuit through an apocalyptic world should bring new attention to Kavan (1901-1968; Who Are You, 1963, etc.), a writer of intense imagination. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >