Science & Technology Book Reviews

OUR BODIES, OUR DATA by Adam Tanner
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: Jan. 10, 2017

"A thorough report, carefully researched and well-documented, aimed at both general readers and policymakers."
A disturbing look at the threat to privacy created by the lucrative and growing health care data-mining industry. Read full book review >
DEMOCRACY BETRAYED by William W. Keller
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: Jan. 10, 2017

"Though without the rhetorical fire of Noam Chomsky or Naomi Klein, Keller makes a spirited case for preferring untrammeled freedom to managed and monitored safety."
"Liberty must always be privileged over security": a persuasive cri de coeur from a national security expert. Read full book review >

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 10, 2017

"Not so much a conventional memoir as a series of anecdotes. While its insights are limited, those looking for glimpses into an adventurous life should be pleased."
Game designer, entrepreneur, and adventurer Garriott de Cayeux explores a number of his escapades. Read full book review >
STORM IN A TEACUP by Helen Czerski
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Jan. 10, 2017

"Light but genuinely informative writing for readers who have forgotten their high school science."
A British physicist and science presenter for the BBC joins the growing genre of popular authors who assure readers that science is fun. Read full book review >
BRING BACK THE KING by Helen Pilcher
NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: Jan. 10, 2017

"A unique perspective on our responsibility to preserve the chain of being of which we are only a part."
An intriguing look at the possibilities of bringing the passenger pigeon and other currently extinct species back to life. Read full book review >

VALLEY OF THE GODS by Alexandra Wolfe
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: Jan. 10, 2017

"Nothing surprising but of some interest to business readers and entrepreneurs looking for ways to 'disrupt' education."
An account of the rising generation of Silicon Valleyites, who want it all—and then some. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: Jan. 10, 2017

"A passionately presented book that offers sparkling tangents for further study."
A history of the startling scientific innovations that rose to meet disconcerting troubles in revolutionary France. Read full book review >
Technocracy in America by Parag Khanna
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Jan. 10, 2017

"A refreshingly original contribution to the ongoing analysis of the American political system."
A radical reappraisal of democracy and its decline in the United States. Read full book review >
HEALTH & MEDICINE
Released: Jan. 3, 2017

"Couch potatoes take warning: the experiences described in this testimonial are often tough to read about, and the conclusions, while sometimes convincing, might best be taken with a touch of skepticism."
On the heels of the paleo diet comes a new claim: taking on the physical challenges of the environment faced by our prehistoric ancestors can undo what easy calories and effortless comfort have done to our bodies—made them fat, lazy, and weak. Read full book review >
THE DRUG HUNTERS by Donald R. Kirsch
HEALTH & MEDICINE
Released: Jan. 3, 2017

"Highly informative and accessible for general readers."
Biopharmaceutical consultant Kirsch debuts with a popular account of the search for new drugs, from prehistory through the rise of big pharma. Read full book review >
THE STRESS TEST by Ian Robertson
HEALTH & MEDICINE
Released: Jan. 3, 2017

"An intriguing overview of important developments in brain research, specifically as it relates to finding 'the right mental balance we need for each challenge that faces us.'"
A veteran neuroscientist and clinical psychologist explores the changes that occur in our brains depending upon how we deal with challenging situations. Read full book review >
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: Jan. 3, 2017

"A worthy primer on the science of comprehending language at the visible, symbolic level of print, a place that requires plenty of brain power and years of practice to navigate."
Johnny can't read—and too often his teachers can only guess why. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Clinton Kelly
January 9, 2017

Bestselling author and television host Clinton Kelly’s memoir I Hate Everyone Except You is a candid, deliciously snarky collection of essays about his journey from awkward kid to slightly-less-awkward adult. Clinton Kelly is probably best known for teaching women how to make their butts look smaller. But in I Hate Everyone, Except You, he reveals some heretofore-unknown secrets about himself, like that he’s a finicky connoisseur of 1980s pornography, a disillusioned critic of New Jersey’s premier water parks, and perhaps the world’s least enthused high-school commencement speaker. Whether he’s throwing his baby sister in the air to jumpstart her cheerleading career or heroically rescuing his best friend from death by mud bath, Clinton leaps life’s social hurdles with aplomb. With his signature wit, he shares his unique ability to navigate the stickiest of situations, like deciding whether it’s acceptable to eat chicken wings with a fork on live television (spoiler: it’s not). “A thoroughly light and entertaining memoir,” our critic writes. View video >