Science & Technology Book Reviews (page 3)

TOUCH by David J. Linden
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Feb. 1, 2015

"So surpassing does Linden make touch seem that even turning the pages of his book becomes a pleasurable experience."
A crisp reminder that the sense of touch is not to be taken lightly. Read full book review >
WORDS ONSCREEN by Naomi S. Baron
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Feb. 1, 2015

"A clear call for common sense and reason that will likely fall on ears covered with headphones."
A darkling view of what our world—and what we—will be like if codex reading eventually surrenders to the flickering screens of e-readers.Read full book review >

MIND CHANGE by Susan Greenfield
HEALTH & MEDICINE
Released: Jan. 27, 2015

"Challenging, stimulating perspective from an informed neuroscientist on a complex, fast-moving, hugely consequential field."
A comprehensive overview of the scientific research—albeit in its infancy—into the effects of cybertechnology on our brains. Read full book review >
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Jan. 27, 2015

"A lively, anecdotal account of potential new directions that may point the way to major therapeutic breakthroughs."
Doidge (Psychiatry/Univ. of Toronto; The Brain that Changes Itself: Stories of Personal Triumph from the Frontiers of Brain Science, 2007) reports on continuing advances in our understanding of the human brain and its unique way of healing.Read full book review >
HEALTH & MEDICINE
Released: Jan. 16, 2015

"Wide-ranging, informative and entertaining, especially for parents and educators."
How our bodies and minds work in tandem. Read full book review >

TASTY by John McQuaid
FOOD & COOKING
Released: Jan. 13, 2015

"McQuaid is an enthusiastic writer undisturbed by dead ends, and he provides an entertaining exploration of 'the mystery at the heart of flavor,' which 'has never truly been cracked.'"
"Pleasure is never very far from aversion; this is a feature of our anatomy and behavior. In the brain, the two closely overlap." So writes Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist McQuaid (Path of Destruction: The Devastation of New Orleans and the Coming Age of Superstorms, 2006, etc.) in this provocative investigatory foray into the nature of taste.Read full book review >
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Jan. 6, 2015

"More at home in college classrooms than on parents' nightstands."
This book competently covers the details of adolescent brain development but offers few surprises and scant advice. Read full book review >
FINDING ZERO by Amir D. Aczel
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 6, 2015

"If readers can avoid getting bogged down in the side trips through Eastern philosophy, the journey to zero is an adventure worth joining."
The author of the best-selling Fermat's Enigma (1996) and other popular books on mathematics and science takes readers through a history of zero and takes himself on a journey through the jungles of Cambodia to find its earliest use. Read full book review >
THE INTERNET IS NOT THE ANSWER by Andrew Keen
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Jan. 6, 2015

"Though the book serves as a corrective to cybertech utopianism, even the author admits, 'I certainly couldn't have written this book without the miracles of email and the Web.'"
A Silicon Valley veteran and journalist sounds the alarm on the pernicious effects of the Internet. Read full book review >
MARISSA MAYER AND THE FIGHT TO SAVE YAHOO! by Nicholas Carlson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 6, 2015

"A well-researched, up-to-date story about a fight to define one famous company's future."
The inside story of the cult of personality that surrounds the leadership of Silicon Valley's technology behemoths. Read full book review >
THE FIRST AMENDMENT BUBBLE by Amy Gajda
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: Jan. 5, 2015

"An eye-opening, relevant and cautionary book."
A lawyerly look at what threatens journalistic free speech liberties. Read full book review >
EUREKA by Chad Orzel
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Dec. 9, 2014

"Orzel's point is well-taken: Like breathing, we are engaging in the scientific process much of the time, even if we don't know it."
Orzel (Physics/Union Coll.; How to Teach Relativity to Your Dog, 2012, etc.) explains that we all think like scientists, at least some of the time; we just may not know it.Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Gabrielle Zevin
March 3, 2015

A. J. Fikry’s life is not at all what he expected it to be. He lives alone, his bookstore is experiencing the worst sales in its history, and now his prized possession, a rare collection of Poe poems, has been stolen. But when a mysterious package appears at the bookstore, its unexpected arrival gives Fikry the chance to make his life over—and see everything anew. “Zevin writes characters who grow and prosper,” our reviewer writes, “in a narrative that is sometimes sentimental, sometimes funny, sometimes true to life and always entertaining.” View video >