Science & Technology Book Reviews (page 5)

FOR THE BENEFIT OF THOSE WHO SEE by Rosemary Mahoney
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Jan. 14, 2014

"A beautiful meditation on human nature."
A spiritual odyssey into the world of the blind. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 14, 2014

"Beautifully written and hugely entertaining, this book is a heartfelt introduction to the many mind-bending theories in contemporary physics."
Part science writing and part memoir, this adventurous fact-finding romp takes readers across the landscape of ideas about the universe, calling on the expertise of the biggest names in science—and also the author's lifelong partner in her pursuit of the meaning of everything: her father. Read full book review >

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Jan. 11, 2014

"A compelling narrative of the design and development of Ford cars in the 1950s and '60s."
The story of the creation and marketing of some of Ford's most popular, iconic cars, as told by one of the company's early "Whiz Kids." Read full book review >
LIFE AT THE SPEED OF LIGHT by J. Craig Venter
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Oct. 21, 2013

"A fascinating glimpse at a scientific frontier—not always easily understandable but well worth the effort."
Best known for sequencing the human genome, Venter (A Life Decoded: My Genome: My Life, 2007, etc.) now looks ahead to the possibilities for synthesizing life. Read full book review >
The New Killer Apps by Chunka Mui
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: Oct. 15, 2013

"An erudite anthem for large companies reshaping themselves to innovate and compete with agile startups."
Couched as an us-vs.-them guide for corporations in the realm of technology innovation, this perceptive book shows how big companies can defeat the nimble upstarts through the strategic use of resources, the implementation of three principles and the following of eight rules. Read full book review >

SMART CITIES by Anthony Townsend
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Oct. 7, 2013

"Authoritative, information-packed must-read for urban policymakers."
A leading guru on technology and urban life describes how electronic devices are creating a "historic shift" in the way we build and run cities. Read full book review >
COUNTDOWN by Alan Weisman
NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: Sept. 24, 2013

"Some news is hopeful, and a few nations have taken action, so this is not a jeremiad but a realistic, vividly detailed exploration of the greatest problem facing our species."
Following up The World Without Us (2007), which explored how the Earth might heal from our depredations if humans became extinct, journalist Weisman writes a more conventional but equally astute analysis of how humans might avoid extinction. Read full book review >
THE GRAY SHIP by Russell F. Moran
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 29, 2013

"A rare read that's not only wildly entertaining, but also profoundly moving."
In this stellar time-travel novel, a modern-American nuclear-powered cruiser sails through a time portal and goes back 152 years to the days just before the beginning of the Civil War. Read full book review >
THE SPORTS GENE by David Epstein
ENTERTAINMENT & SPORTS
Released: Aug. 5, 2013

"Readers may feel overwhelmed at Epstein's avalanche of genetic and physiological studies, but few will put down this deliciously contrarian exploration of great athletic feats."
What makes a great athlete? Being born with talent was the traditional answer, but like so many traditions, it is under attack. Read full book review >
IDENTICALLY DIFFERENT by Tim Spector
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Aug. 1, 2013

"A delightfully thought-provoking overview of the nature-vs.-nurture debate."
Genes dictate our anatomy, emotions and behavior, except when they don't, according to this ingenious account of how inheritance and environments—including our parents' environment—vie to make an individual. Read full book review >
THINKING IN NUMBERS by Daniel Tammet
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 30, 2013

"Great fun and the perfect gift for any math-phobic person, young or old."
A mathematical savant finds the beauty of numbers in unexpected places. Read full book review >
TOUCHING A NERVE by Patricia Churchland
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: July 22, 2013

"Wide-ranging, insightful and provocative—a book to savor."
Churchland (Emeritus, Philosophy/Univ. of California, San Diego; Braintrust: What Neuroscience Tells Us About Morality, 2011, etc.) probes the interface between our perception of our own mental processes and our growing knowledge of how our brains function. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Jude Deveraux
author of EVER AFTER
July 1, 2015

New York Times bestselling author Jude Deveraux's eagerly awaited Ever After, the third novel in her blockbuster Nantucket Brides trilogy, continues the saga of the Montgomery-Taggerts, set on an island steeped in beauty and unforgettable romance. Life is anything but perfect for Hallie Hartley, a young physical therapist who has given up nearly everything—even her love life—for her beautiful blonde stepsister, Shelly. Though Shelly's acting career has never taken off, she has certainly perfected the crocodile tears to get what she wants—which all too often means Hallie's boyfriends. When Hallie arrives home early from work one fateful day, she makes two startling discoveries that will turn her life upside down. "This sexy, lighthearted romp brings the series to a satisfying close," our reviewer writes. View video >