Science & Technology Book Reviews

THE MAGIC OF MATH by Arthur Benjamin
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Sept. 8, 2015

"Forget magic. Benjamin delivers a primer generously filled with insights and intuitions that make math approachable, interesting, and, yes, beautiful."
An enthusiastic celebration of the beauty of mathematics. Read full book review >
There Is Still Time by Peter Seidel
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: July 1, 2015

"An astute look at the many negative influences currently shaping our world, along with ideas to overcome them."
A longtime environmentalist looks at the state of the world and our prospects for surviving the future. Read full book review >

THIRTY MILLION WORDS by Dana Suskind
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: Sept. 8, 2015

"Informative, exciting new data that confirms the significant benefits gained by talking to your child."
New research demonstrating the importance of communicating with your child right from birth. Read full book review >
Predicting the Future: Can We Do It? And If Not, Why Not? by Gerard G. Nahum
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: Oct. 31, 2014

"A sometimes-difficult though rewarding journey through the possibilities and impossibilities of forecasting the future."
Nahum, a physician, offers his first book, an ambitious tome that exhaustively explores the human capacity to make predictions. Read full book review >
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: April 2, 2015

"Opens interesting doors and may inspire alternative ways of searching for truth, though the answers here leave something to be desired."
Verschuur (The Invisible Universe: The Story of Radio Astronomy, 2015, etc.) discusses his experimental search for extraterrestrial intelligence. Read full book review >

BOG BODIES UNCOVERED by Miranda Aldhouse-Green
HISTORY
Released: Sept. 8, 2015

"An intriguing window into the past."
A real-life forensic thriller revealing the secrets of ancient and modern bodies preserved in bogs—some for nearly 3,000 years—in the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Denmark, and northern Germany. Read full book review >
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: Sept. 22, 2015

"A lively, balanced re-examination of the traditional mind-body issue in light of modern advances in neuroscience."
"We do not have bodies, we are bodies," writes Claxton (Emeritus, Learning Sciences/Univ. of Winchester; The Wayward Mind: An Intimate History of the Unconscious, 2005, etc.) in this challenge to the contemporary view of what it means to be intelligent. Read full book review >
U&ME: Communicating in Moments that Matter by John Stewart
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: July 7, 2014

"A useful book for anyone intent on bettering personal communications in the modern era."
Accessible distillation of current research on how to build communication skills that can create meaningful personal moments and enrich our lives. Read full book review >
OUR GRANDCHILDREN REDESIGNED by Michael Bess
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Oct. 13, 2015

"In the future, accelerating technology and unexpected, revolutionary events—most of which will never be predicted by futurists—may produce a society as alien as some of our tools. Bess delivers an insightful philosophical analysis of how we must adjust."
An exuberant account of how biotechnology will vastly enhance not only our health, but our physical and mental abilities as well. Read full book review >
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Sept. 22, 2015

"With wit, vision, and scholarship, Domingos describes how these scientists are creating programs that allow a computer to teach itself. Readers unfamiliar with logic and computer theory will have a difficult time, but those who persist will discover fascinating insights."
Traditionally, the only way to make a computer execute a task is to write precise instructions: an algorithm. As the author notes in this enthusiastic but not dumbed-down introduction to machine learning, it is impossible to "write a program to tell a computer how to drive a car or decipher handwriting, but if we give enough examples to a computer running a learning algorithm, it will figure out how to do it on its own." Read full book review >
THE EVOLUTION OF EVERYTHING by Matt Ridley
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Nov. 3, 2015

"Like Malcolm Gladwell, Ridley's taste for counterintuitive arguments often oversimplifies and ignores contradictory evidence, but he provides a wild ride, almost too thought-provoking to read for long stretches but difficult to put down."
Evolution, a phenomenon without an underlying plan that explains life's development, has convinced scientists, if not the general public, but authorities still debate whether Darwin's theory applies to human society. Veteran science writer Ridley (The Rational Optimist: How Prosperity Evolves, 2010) investigates.Read full book review >
HARNESS THE SUN by Philip Warburg
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: Sept. 8, 2015

"A clear and persuasive report that is not so much electrifying as smoothly edifying."
For the future of green energy, the forecast is sunny. That's the message in this manual on the present state of solar energy. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Jude Deveraux
June 30, 2015

New York Times bestselling author Jude Deveraux's eagerly awaited Ever After, the third novel in her blockbuster Nantucket Brides trilogy, continues the saga of the Montgomery-Taggerts, set on an island steeped in beauty and unforgettable romance. Life is anything but perfect for Hallie Hartley, a young physical therapist who has given up nearly everything—even her love life—for her beautiful blonde stepsister, Shelly. Though Shelly's acting career has never taken off, she has certainly perfected the crocodile tears to get what she wants—which all too often means Hallie's boyfriends. When Hallie arrives home early from work one fateful day, she makes two startling discoveries that will turn her life upside down. "This sexy, lighthearted romp brings the series to a satisfying close," our reviewer writes. View video >