Science & Technology Book Reviews (page 5)

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Feb. 4, 2014

"Ferreira does not downplay relativity's complexity and avoids the easy route of oversimplifying it into a cosmic magic show. The result is one of the best popular accounts of how Einstein and his followers have been trying to explain the universe for decades."
Ferreira (Astrophysics/Univ. of Oxford; The State of the Universe: A Primer in Modern Cosmology, 2006, etc.) writes an enthusiastic and comprehensible popular account of how Albert Einstein's Theory of Relativity continues to generate new knowledge as well as hints of more secrets to be revealed. Read full book review >
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: Feb. 4, 2014

"A galvanizing amalgam of personal history, acquired business wisdom and mentorship."
A small-business guidebook promoting entrepreneurialism over a corporate career. Read full book review >

PSYCHOLOGY
Released: Feb. 3, 2014

"A revealing and definitely not dumbed-down overview of what we know about consciousness."
Dehaene (Experimental Cognitive Psychology/Collège de France; Reading in the Brain: The Science and Evolution of a Human Invention, 2009) delivers a detailed popular account of what he and fellow researchers have discovered about how perceptions become thoughts. Read full book review >
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Feb. 3, 2014

"A fascinating view of the future of social networks that offers intriguing possibilities but also the potential of a dystopia greater than that portrayed by George Orwell in 1984."
Pentland (Honest Signals: How They Shape Our World, 2008, etc.)—the director of MIT's Human Dynamics Laboratory who was named "one of the seven most powerful data scientists in the world"—attempts to justify large-scale monitoring of individual behavior. Read full book review >
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: Feb. 1, 2014

"Solid science well infused with readable history, pop culture and personal stories."
Who are we, and why are we the way we are? These are the questions examined by an intrepid science journalist. Read full book review >

BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: Feb. 1, 2014

"A well-produced economic study on how technology is changing how we shop."
An erudite study on how the information age has affected the consumer purchasing experience. Read full book review >
HEALTH & MEDICINE
Released: Jan. 31, 2014

"An impressive primer on the roles of energy and consciousness in the physical world and human healing."
A Western doctor's persuasive testament to energy healing. Read full book review >
NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: Jan. 28, 2014

"A solid popular examination of our most vital natural resource."
A lucid primer on water technology. Read full book review >
A DARKLING SEA by James L. Cambias
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Jan. 28, 2014

"An exceptionally thoughtful, searching and intriguing debut."
Science-fiction novel from game designer and story writer Cambias, the first of a projected series. Read full book review >
SIX WORDS by Surendra Kumar Sagar
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Jan. 21, 2014

"An idiosyncratic mishmash of science and religion that's neither intellectually compelling nor spiritually uplifting."
A grandiose treatise that ponders the laws of physics, the history of the cosmos, the nature of God and the fate of mankind. Read full book review >
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: Jan. 20, 2014

"Valuable reading for policymakers."
A hopeful view of the future as we enter a second machine age. Read full book review >
OXYGEN by Donald E. Canfield
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: Jan. 19, 2014

"A mixed-success attempt at a popular treatment of the complexities of a fascinating subject."
Nordic Center for Earth Evolution director Canfield (Ecology/Univ. of Southern Denmark; co-editor: Fundamentals of Geobiology, 2012 etc.) delivers "the history of atmospheric oxygen on Earth." Read full book review >