Kirkus Stars & Recommendations

ALL THE WILD THAT REMAINS by David Gessner
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 20, 2015

"Stegner and Abbey 'are two who have lighted my way,' nature writer Wendell Berry admitted. They have lighted the way for Gessner, as well, as he conveys in this graceful, insightful homage to their work and to the region they loved."
The lives and legacies of two influential environmentalists. Read full book review >
THE CASE OF THE MISSING CARROT CAKE by Robin Newman
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 20, 2015

"Here's hoping for more hard-boiled detecting from Wilcox and Griswold! (Mystery. 5-9)"
Two police mice, one missing cake, a bunch of suspects—it's a big case! Read full book review >

THE GREAT DIVIDE by Joseph E. Stiglitz
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: April 20, 2015

"Smart, sometimes-stinging prose that rejects the doctrines of strangled government and artificial austerity, doctrines that require us to 'pay a high economic price for our growing inequality and declining opportunity.'"
Nobel Prize-winning economist Stiglitz (The Price of Inequality, 2012, etc.) examines some of the macro dollars-and-cents issues that separate the haves from the have-nots—and money is just of them. Read full book review >
DREAMLAND by Sam Quinones
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: April 21, 2015

"A compellingly investigated, relentlessly gloomy report on the drug distribution industry."
Discouraging, unflinching dispatches from America's enduring opiate-abuse epidemic. Read full book review >
FROGS by Seymour Simon
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"A grand addition to any elementary-age collection of nature titles. (index, websites) (Nonfiction. 6-10)"
Frogs and toads, amphibians who lead a double life on water and on land, are the subject of this veteran science writer's latest nature exploration. Read full book review >

VINCENT AND THE NIGHT by Adele Enersen
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"Offbeat enough to add to an already-groaning collection of bedtime books. (Picture book. 1-6)"
Photogenic Vincent is a baby who isn't ready for bedtime, so he uses the pen-and-ink blackness of nighttime to create a fantasy world for himself and readers. Read full book review >
CHU'S DAY AT THE BEACH by Neil Gaiman
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"Nonetheless, fans will delight and pass the tissue, as the aviator-goggle-wearing panda pleases with most of his sneezes. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Gaiman and Rex return with Chu's third picture book, sending the sneeze-happy panda cub to visit the surf and sand. Read full book review >
CHALLENGER DEEP by Neal Shusterman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 21, 2015

"An adventure in perspective as well as plot, this unusual foray into schizophrenia should leave readers with a deeper understanding of the condition. (author's note) (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Fantasy becomes reality in an exploration of mental illness based partly on the experiences of the author's son, who is also the book's illustrator. Read full book review >
EVERY LAST PROMISE by Kristin Halbrook
Released: April 21, 2015

"A devastating, important examination of the far-reaching, insidious nature of rape culture. (Fiction. 14-18)"
A small-town girl is forced to choose between doing the right thing or fitting in after a night of unforgettable violence. Read full book review >
CASTLE HANGNAIL by Ursula Vernon
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"An appealing protagonist, lots of action, clever, witty writing, witchcraft and evildoers who get nothing but what they deserve—what's not to love? (Fantasy. 10-16)"
Castle Hangnail is in desperate need of a new Master; 12-year-old budding Wicked Witch Molly might be just the person to fill the position. Read full book review >
THE MAD APPRENTICE by Django Wexler
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 21, 2015

"A story rich in action and allegory—fantasy fans will want to hang on for what comes next. (Fantasy. 10-14)"
Still searching for her missing father, 12- or 13-year-old Alice Creighton finds a formidable enemy in Torment, a wildly dominating magical creature, in this second book in the Forbidden Library series. Read full book review >
SOPHOMORE YEAR IS GREEK TO ME by Meredith Zeitlin
Released: April 21, 2015

"Fans of Sarah Mlynowski, Stephanie Perkins and Louise Rennison will enjoy this squeaky-clean travel adventure about the strength of family and the power of new experiences. (Fiction. 11-15)"
A dyed-in-the-wool New York teen discovers her Greek roots in this breezy novel by the author of Freshman Year & Other Unnatural Disasters (2012).Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Fatima Bhutto
April 14, 2015

Set during the American invasion of Afghanistan, Fatima Bhutto’s debut novel The Shadow of the Crescent Moon begins and ends one rain-swept Friday morning in Mir Ali, a small town in Pakistan’s Tribal Areas close to the Afghan border. Three brothers meet for breakfast. Soon after, the eldest, Aman Erum, recently returned from America, hails a taxi to the local mosque. Sikandar, a doctor, drives to the hospital where he works, but must first stop to collect his troubled wife, who has not joined the family that morning. No one knows where Mina goes these days. But when, later in the morning, the two are taken hostage by members of the Taliban, Mina will prove to be stronger than anyone could have imagined. Our reviewer writes that The Shadow of the Crescent Moon is “a timely, earnest portrait of a family torn apart by the machinations of other people’s war games and desperately trying to survive.” View video >