Teen Book Reviews (page 2)

CONVICTION by Kelly Loy Gilbert
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 19, 2015

"Both hopeful and devastatingly real. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
When 16-year-old Braden Raynor's father is arrested for a hit-and-run accident that leaves a police officer dead, every hidden secret is dragged into the light. Read full book review >
NIMONA by Noelle Stevenson
GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMIC BOOKS
Released: May 19, 2015

"If you're going to read one graphic novel this year, make it this one. (Graphic fantasy. 13 & up)"
A not-so-bad villain fighting against a not-so-good hero teams up with a spunky shape-shifting heroine in a cleverly envisioned world. Read full book review >

THIRTEEN by Tom Hoyle
Released: May 15, 2015

"In a market saturated with tales of danger and heroic teens, this one is best left at the Tube station. (Thriller. 10-12)"
Only one boy has the power to stop a dangerous cult from wreaking havoc in the city of London. Read full book review >
SIXTEENTH SUMMER by Michelle Dalton
Released: May 15, 2015

"No new literary ground is broken here, but readers seeking a sweet story of first love will sigh appreciatively. (Romance. 11-14)"
Love blossoms between a summer boy and a local girl in a chaste romance set on the foggy coast of Maine. Read full book review >
STRAYS by Jennifer Caloyeras
Released: May 15, 2015

"Entertaining if imperfect, but perhaps a source of comfort for angry teens. (Fiction. 11-16)"
Sixteen-year-old Iris seems almost as much of a stray as Roman, the three-legged pit bull mix she's tasked with training as community-service punishment for an outburst at school. Read full book review >

ALCHEMY'S DAUGHTER by Mary A. Osborne
Released: May 14, 2015

"This medieval love story and its memorable heroine are likely to resonate with contemporary teens. (maps, historical timeline, glossary, bibliography) (Historical fiction. 14-18)"
When a headstrong, intellectually curious 17-year-old living in 1344 San Gimignano, Italy, becomes a midwife's apprentice, she embarks on a harrowing journey to discover her true vocation. Read full book review >
5 TO 1 by Holly Bodger
Released: May 12, 2015

"Like most of the boys in the Tests, this one can't compete. (Dystopian romance. 10-14)"
Another debut. Another dystopia. Another leading man called by a number. Read full book review >
EMANCIPATED by M.G. Reyes
Released: May 12, 2015

"Enjoyably gossipy at times, but it takes some patience. (Fiction. 14-18)"
A group of emancipated minors, many hiding secrets, share a house in LA's Venice Beach. Read full book review >
THE HUNTED by Matt de la Peña
Released: May 12, 2015

"A disappointing sequel to the standout The Living (2013). (Science fiction. 14-18)"
After surviving the tsunami that sank their cruise ship, escaping an island harboring a deadly secret and enduring 36 days at sea, three teens and an adult reach what's left of California—a quarantined, anarchic region devastated by earthquakes and a lethal, engineered pandemic. Read full book review >
THE ETERNITY KEY by Bree Despain
Released: May 12, 2015

"A discordant soap-opera sequel filling time until the finale. (Fantasy. 12-18)"
Teen lovers get entangled in more myths, music and mysteries in this Stygian sequel. Read full book review >
THE RISE AND FALL OF THE GALLIVANTERS by M.J. Beaufrand
Released: May 12, 2015

"A chilling yet poignant story about the suffering in front of us that we can't bear to see. (Fiction. 14-17)"
Eighteen-year-old Noah understands pain too well: He can see it as others cannot—as the Marr, an all-encompassing darkness that is kidnapping young women and slowly causing Evan, his best friend, to disappear in front of everyone. Read full book review >
MAKING PRETTY by Corey Ann Haydu
Released: May 12, 2015

"This summer read has the ubiquitous quirkiness that has become a marker of contemporary adolescent realism and will appeal to fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell. (Fiction. 15-18)"
Family, first love and the search for identity butt heads in this coming-of-age story set in the heat of a Manhattan summer. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer
authors of OFF THE PAGE
May 19, 2015

Meet Oliver, a prince literally taken from the pages of a fairy tale and transported into the real world. Meet Delilah, the girl who wished Oliver into being. In bestseller Jodi Picoult and her daughter Samantha van Leer’s new young adult novel, Off the Page, it’s a miracle that seems perfect at first—but there are complications. To exist in Delilah’s world, Oliver must take the place of a regular boy. Enter Edgar, who agrees to play Oliver’s role in the pages of Delilah’s favorite book. But just when it seems that the plan will work, everything gets turned upside down. We talk to the mother-daughter team on Kirkus TV. View video >