Teen Book Reviews (page 3)

ETERNITY'S WHEEL by Neil Gaiman
Released: May 19, 2015

"All in all, purely for fans. (Science fiction. 12-15)"
The Interworld series, based on a TV concept developed by Gaiman and Michael Reaves (and still sporting Gaiman's name although seemingly not written by him), comes to a close. Read full book review >
HIT COUNT by Chris Lynch
Released: May 19, 2015

"This intense, timely story provides incredible insight into the reasons why knowledge of football's potential danger is not enough to keep young players from taking the field. (Fiction. 14-18)"
A high school football player is relentless in his effort to become a ferocious linebacker, ignoring the damage his body may be experiencing. Read full book review >

HOLD ME LIKE A BREATH by Tiffany  Schmidt
Released: May 19, 2015

"A decent girl-power twist on an old fairy tale for thriller lovers. (Thriller. 13-18)"
Many parents are overprotective, but perhaps none more so than the Landlows with their daughter, Penelope, whom they forbid anyone even to touch. Read full book review >
THREE DAY SUMMER by Sarvenaz Tash
Released: May 19, 2015

"A positive portrait of a much-maligned era, this optimistic, exuberant tale is recommended for readers who've wondered why the '60s were so great. (Historical fiction. 12-18)"
Two teens find the 1969 Woodstock music festival a life-changing event. Read full book review >
THE IMPROBABLE THEORY OF ANA AND ZAK by Brian Katcher
Released: May 19, 2015

"Fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist will find con-tentment here. (Fiction. 13-18)"
Two teens discover that their improbable chemistry is just what it takes for a probable relationship. Read full book review >

CONVICTION by Kelly Loy Gilbert
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 19, 2015

"Both hopeful and devastatingly real. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
When 16-year-old Braden Raynor's father is arrested for a hit-and-run accident that leaves a police officer dead, every hidden secret is dragged into the light. Read full book review >
NIMONA by Noelle Stevenson
GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMIC BOOKS
Released: May 19, 2015

"If you're going to read one graphic novel this year, make it this one. (Graphic fantasy. 13 & up)"
A not-so-bad villain fighting against a not-so-good hero teams up with a spunky shape-shifting heroine in a cleverly envisioned world. Read full book review >
THIRTEEN by Tom Hoyle
Released: May 15, 2015

"In a market saturated with tales of danger and heroic teens, this one is best left at the Tube station. (Thriller. 10-12)"
Only one boy has the power to stop a dangerous cult from wreaking havoc in the city of London. Read full book review >
SIXTEENTH SUMMER by Michelle Dalton
Released: May 15, 2015

"No new literary ground is broken here, but readers seeking a sweet story of first love will sigh appreciatively. (Romance. 11-14)"
Love blossoms between a summer boy and a local girl in a chaste romance set on the foggy coast of Maine. Read full book review >
STRAYS by Jennifer Caloyeras
Released: May 15, 2015

"Entertaining if imperfect, but perhaps a source of comfort for angry teens. (Fiction. 11-16)"
Sixteen-year-old Iris seems almost as much of a stray as Roman, the three-legged pit bull mix she's tasked with training as community-service punishment for an outburst at school. Read full book review >
ALCHEMY'S DAUGHTER by Mary A. Osborne
Released: May 14, 2015

"This medieval love story and its memorable heroine are likely to resonate with contemporary teens. (maps, historical timeline, glossary, bibliography) (Historical fiction. 14-18)"
When a headstrong, intellectually curious 17-year-old living in 1344 San Gimignano, Italy, becomes a midwife's apprentice, she embarks on a harrowing journey to discover her true vocation. Read full book review >
5 TO 1 by Holly Bodger
Released: May 12, 2015

"Like most of the boys in the Tests, this one can't compete. (Dystopian romance. 10-14)"
Another debut. Another dystopia. Another leading man called by a number. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Nelson DeMille
author of RADIANT ANGEL
May 26, 2015

After a showdown with the notorious Yemeni terrorist known as The Panther, in Nelson DeMille’s latest suspense novel Radiant Angel, NYPD detective John Corey has left the Anti-Terrorist Task Force and returned home to New York City, taking a job with the Diplomatic Surveillance Group. Although Corey's new assignment with the DSG-surveilling Russian diplomats working at the U.N. Mission-is thought to be "a quiet end," he is more than happy to be out from under the thumb of the FBI and free from the bureaucracy of office life. But Corey realizes something the U.S. government doesn't: The all-too-real threat of a newly resurgent Russia. “Perfect summer beach reading, with or without margaritas, full of Glock-and-boat action,” our reviewer writes. View video >