Teen Book Reviews (page 3)

THE MESSENGERS by Edward Hogan
Released: May 12, 2015

"Quietly thrilling. (Fantasy. 12-17)"
Frances is taking a break from her troubled family life and spending some time with cousins in a coastal English village. Read full book review >
OUT OF CONTROL by Sarah Alderson
Released: May 12, 2015

"Gripping, hot thrills in the summertime. (Thriller. 12-18)"
Two New York City teens flee murderers in this Jason Bourne-style thriller. Read full book review >

THE COST OF ALL THINGS by Maggie Lehrman
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: May 12, 2015

"An engrossing, emotionally resonant spin on the old adage: Be careful what you wish for. (Urban fantasy. 14 & up)"
Reeling from the death of her boyfriend, a girl enlists the help of a hekamist to forget him just as other spells taken by those closest to her reveal their true, unforgiving costs. Read full book review >
NIL UNLOCKED by Lynne Matson
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: May 12, 2015

"A fast, tense gift for readers wanting to return to Nil. (Science fiction. 12 & up)"
Following Nil (2014), Rives falls for a new girl who holds the key to salvation from the alternate-dimension island.Read full book review >
VANISHED by E.E. Cooper
Released: May 12, 2015

"An impressive blend of suspense and insight. (Mystery. 14-18)"
Two popular girls disappear unexpectedly, leaving their closest friend behind. Read full book review >

A MATTER OF HEART by Amy Fellner Dominy
Released: May 12, 2015

"An enjoyable read even for couch potatoes. (Fiction. 13-16)"
It all comes down to heart for one athlete. Read full book review >
BECOMING JINN by Lori Goldstein
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: May 12, 2015

"Those who can get past the protagonist's tiresome pity party will be eager for further exploration of her Zar family and the subterranean intrigues of Jinn society. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
"[W]hen genies are involved, there's always a trick." Read full book review >
ARCHIVIST WASP by Nicole Kornher-Stace
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: May 12, 2015

"Difficult, provocative, and unforgettable—the most dangerous kind of fiction. (Science fiction/fantasy. 14 & up)"
A ravishing, profane, and bittersweet post-apocalyptic bildungsroman transcends genre into myth. Read full book review >
WE ARE ALL MADE OF MOLECULES by Susin Nielsen
Released: May 12, 2015

"This savvy, insightful take on the modern family makes for nearly nonstop laughs. (Fiction. 12-18)"
A nerdy boy and a queen-bee girl become stepbrother and -sister in this comedy/drama. Read full book review >
MASSACRE OF THE MINERS by T. Neill Anderson
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"This novel neither elucidates nor entertains; it's hard to see a reason for it. (Historical fiction. 12-16)"
A fictional account of a real, deadly day. Read full book review >
THE BOYS OF FIRE AND ASH by Meaghan McIsaac
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"Fans of James Dashner, Margaret Peterson Haddix, and Patrick Ness need look no further. (Dystopian adventure. 10-15)"
A group of boys leave their primitive home to save one of their own in this dystopian debut. Read full book review >
APPLE AND RAIN by Sarah  Crossan
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"A realistic if gently didactic tale about growing up and parenting. (Fiction. 11-14)"
Apple's got plenty to contend with: her best friend's deserted her, the boy she's attracted to barely knows she exists, and her overprotective Nana is a source of embarrassment at school—but what hurts most is her glamorous mother's abandonment 11 years ago. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer
authors of OFF THE PAGE
May 19, 2015

Meet Oliver, a prince literally taken from the pages of a fairy tale and transported into the real world. Meet Delilah, the girl who wished Oliver into being. In bestseller Jodi Picoult and her daughter Samantha van Leer’s new young adult novel, Off the Page, it’s a miracle that seems perfect at first—but there are complications. To exist in Delilah’s world, Oliver must take the place of a regular boy. Enter Edgar, who agrees to play Oliver’s role in the pages of Delilah’s favorite book. But just when it seems that the plan will work, everything gets turned upside down. We talk to the mother-daughter team on Kirkus TV. View video >