Teen Book Reviews (page 4)

THE PAIN EATER by Beth Goobie
Released: March 7, 2017

"Powerfully written, this is not just a story about trauma, but also one of healing. (Fiction. 13-18)"
A thoughtful and sensitive handling of a difficult topic. Read full book review >
EAT THE SKY, DRINK THE OCEAN by Kirsty Murray
Released: March 7, 2017

"This rare treat of speculative literature is a winning book for those young women who especially crave a read beyond the outer limits. (Science fiction/fantasy/anthology. 14 & up)"
A collection of stories that explores the speculative and sometimes-dystopian landscape, authored solely by women from India and Australia. Read full book review >

THE BEAST IS AN ANIMAL by Peternelle van Arsdale
Released: March 7, 2017

"Moody, ponderous, and baroque; a good choice for readers with Gothic inclinations. (Fantasy. 12-18)"
In a dark atmospheric fantasy debut, one young woman (like so many adolescents) finds her greatest enemy is the monster within. Read full book review >
WONDERFUL FEELS LIKE THIS by Sara Lövestam
Released: March 7, 2017

"Sensitive and deeply moving: outstanding. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Fifteen-year-old Steffi Herrera feels the beat of jazz in her soul, but is that enough to sustain her against her classmates' relentless bullying? Read full book review >
FISH GIRL by Donna Jo Napoli
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 7, 2017

"A thought-provoking work that is not to be missed. (Graphic fantasy. 10-16)"
Napoli and Wiesner transport readers under the sea, introducing them to a modern-day heroine who longs to be part of their world. Read full book review >

CLOSING DOWN HEAVEN by Lesley Choyce
Released: March 7, 2017

"A sincere, skillfully told exploration of choices, consequences, near-death experiences, heaven, and the meaning of life. (Verse fiction. 14-18)"
A 16-year-old boy struggles to navigate his way through heaven and back to Earth after a serious mountain-biking accident. Read full book review >
TRAITOR TO THE THRONE by Alwyn Hamilton
Released: March 7, 2017

"A story 'about revenge and about love and about sacrifice and the great and terrible things…people do'—and, ultimately, about the 'truly invincible' power of stories themselves. Superlative. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
Palace intrigue, military stratagems, even cosmic powers can't eclipse the complex tangle of love, loss, and loyalty in this Arabian Nights-inspired fantasy sequel. Read full book review >
DONE DIRT CHEAP by Sarah Nicole Lemon
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 7, 2017

"Readers will stand up and cheer for these mighty heroines. (Fiction. 13 & up)"
Tourmaline Harris and Virginia Campbell have only crossed paths as students in the same high school. Now, it's the summer after graduation, and the girls' lives are about to collide. Read full book review >
SEVEN DAYS OF YOU by Cecilia Vinesse
Released: March 7, 2017

"Have some tissues handy for the ending. (Fiction. 14-18)"
Fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist and Lost in Translation will find good company in this whirlwind romance set in Tokyo. Read full book review >
ULTIMATUM by K.M. Walton
Released: March 7, 2017

"A sweet look at an end-of-life moment that offers surprise even as the inevitable unfolds. (Fiction. 14-17)"
Two brothers watch over their father during his last days while looking toward an uncertain future. Read full book review >
Released: March 7, 2017

"Tech-centered empowerment for those who feel voiceless. (coding appendix with glossary, sample code, resources) (Memoir. 12-17)"
The teens behind the web video game "Tampon Run" tell how they got started in programming. Read full book review >
SAVING STEVIE by Eve Richardson
Released: March 7, 2017

"Minto's narration never quite develops the expected emotional resonance considering the novel's introduction of difficult subject matter. (Fiction. 12-16)"
Thirteen-year-old white Minto learns the hardships of life in a Canadian shantytown while on the run with her infant nephew. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Brad Parks
author of SAY NOTHING
March 7, 2017

In Brad Parks’ new thriller Say Nothing, judge Scott Sampson doesn’t brag about having a perfect life, but the evidence is clear: a prestigious job. A beloved family. On an ordinary Wednesday afternoon, he is about to pick up his six-year-old twins to go swimming when his wife, Alison, texts him that she’ll get the kids from school instead. It’s not until she gets home later that Scott realizes she doesn’t have the children. And she never sent the text. Then the phone rings, and every parent’s most chilling nightmare begins. A man has stolen Sam and Emma. For Scott and Alison, the kidnapper’s call is only the beginning of a twisting, gut-churning ordeal of blackmail, deceit, and terror; a high-profile trial like none the judge or his wife has ever experienced. Their marriage falters. Suspicions and long-buried jealousies rise to the surface. Fractures appear. Lies are told. “The nerve-shredding never lets up for a minute as Parks picks you up by the scruff of the neck, shakes you vigorously, and repeats over and over again till a climax so harrowing that you’ll be shaking with gratitude that it’s finally over,” our critic writes in a starred review. View video >