Teen Book Reviews (page 5)

ARCHIVIST WASP by Nicole Kornher-Stace
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: May 12, 2015

"Difficult, provocative, and unforgettable—the most dangerous kind of fiction. (Science fiction/fantasy. 14 & up)"
A ravishing, profane, and bittersweet post-apocalyptic bildungsroman transcends genre into myth. Read full book review >
WE ARE ALL MADE OF MOLECULES by Susin Nielsen
Released: May 12, 2015

"This savvy, insightful take on the modern family makes for nearly nonstop laughs. (Fiction. 12-18)"
A nerdy boy and a queen-bee girl become stepbrother and -sister in this comedy/drama. Read full book review >

MASSACRE OF THE MINERS by T. Neill Anderson
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"This novel neither elucidates nor entertains; it's hard to see a reason for it. (Historical fiction. 12-16)"
A fictional account of a real, deadly day. Read full book review >
THE BOYS OF FIRE AND ASH by Meaghan McIsaac
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"Fans of James Dashner, Margaret Peterson Haddix, and Patrick Ness need look no further. (Dystopian adventure. 10-15)"
A group of boys leave their primitive home to save one of their own in this dystopian debut. Read full book review >
APPLE AND RAIN by Sarah  Crossan
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"A realistic if gently didactic tale about growing up and parenting. (Fiction. 11-14)"
Apple's got plenty to contend with: her best friend's deserted her, the boy she's attracted to barely knows she exists, and her overprotective Nana is a source of embarrassment at school—but what hurts most is her glamorous mother's abandonment 11 years ago. Read full book review >

FELL OF DARK by Patrick Downes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 12, 2015

"A stunning debut novel that offers sophisticated readers a glimpse into the psychological disintegrations of two distinct characters. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Teenagers Erik and Thorn are descending into madness on converging paths, heading toward a ruinous first encounter with each other. Read full book review >
BURN by Walter Jury
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: May 12, 2015

"A cover-to-cover thrill ride. (Science fiction. 13 & up)"
Extinction and survival are a zero-sum game in the conclusion to the alien-invasion plot started in Scan (2014).Read full book review >
A TALE OF TWO BESTIES by Sophia Rossi
Released: May 12, 2015

"A fluffy romp in familiar territory. (Fiction. 12-14)"
Separated by new high schools, two best friends dive into unfriendly social waters without each other as safety nets. Read full book review >
THE BOYS WHO CHALLENGED HITLER by Phillip Hoose
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 12, 2015

"A superbly told, remarkable true story and an excellent addition to stories of civilian resistance in World War II. (photos, bibliography, chapter notes) (Nonfiction. 12-18)"
A handful of Danish teens takes on the occupying Nazis is this inspiring true story of courageous resistance. Read full book review >
THE WRATH AND THE DAWN by Renée Ahdieh
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: May 12, 2015

"Dreamily romantic, deliciously angst-y, addictively thrilling. (Fantasy. 14 & up)"
A lush, hypnotic, swoony re-imagining of the "Arabian Nights" framing story. Read full book review >
CUCKOO SONG by Frances Hardinge
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 8, 2015

"Nuanced and intense, this painstakingly created tale mimics the Escher-like constructions of its villainous Architect, fooling the eyes and entangling the emotions of readers willing and able to enter into a world like no other. (Fantasy. 11-14)"
This dense and twisty fantasy set in post-World War I Great Britain mixes monstrous creatures, sibling rivalry, a supernatural doppelgänger, family dysfunction and a kidnapping into a complex brew of eerie atmosphere and unexpected events. Read full book review >
AVALON RISING by Kathryn Rose
Released: May 8, 2015

"An incongruous blend of medieval mythology and steampunk action; only for fans of the first book. (Fantasy. 14-18)"
Steampunk mechanic and former handmaiden Vivienne seeks the Holy Grail and her true love, Marcus, in this sequel to Camelot Burning (2014). Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Nelson DeMille
author of RADIANT ANGEL
May 26, 2015

After a showdown with the notorious Yemeni terrorist known as The Panther, in Nelson DeMille’s latest suspense novel Radiant Angel, NYPD detective John Corey has left the Anti-Terrorist Task Force and returned home to New York City, taking a job with the Diplomatic Surveillance Group. Although Corey's new assignment with the DSG-surveilling Russian diplomats working at the U.N. Mission-is thought to be "a quiet end," he is more than happy to be out from under the thumb of the FBI and free from the bureaucracy of office life. But Corey realizes something the U.S. government doesn't: The all-too-real threat of a newly resurgent Russia. “Perfect summer beach reading, with or without margaritas, full of Glock-and-boat action,” our reviewer writes. View video >