Teen Book Reviews (page 543)

THE GHOST’S CHILD by Sonya Hartnett
FANTASY
Released: Oct. 14, 2008

"The relative brevity of the story belies the depth it encompasses; it's a richly crafted tale-within-a-tale, worthy of repeated reading. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Told in gorgeous prose that reads more like poetry, the elderly Matilda relates the story of her life to a young boy she finds in her parlor one day. Read full book review >
TELL THE WORLD by Bill Aguado
POETRY
Released: Oct. 14, 2008

"Although the poems aren't Shakespeare, teens who are assigned to read poetry or have an interest in creating it may want to see their peers' approaches. (Poetry anthology. 12 & up)"
This collection of poems from urban teens shows a wide range of life experiences and worldviews. Read full book review >

THE BLIND FAITH HOTEL by Pamela Todd
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Oct. 7, 2008

"Permeated with themes of home, family, memory and loss, this title should appeal to fans of Han Nolan and Kimberly Willis Holt. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Fourteen-year-old Zoe is furious when her mom leaves her alcoholic, fisherman husband in the Pacific Northwest and moves the family back to Minnesota, where she has inherited an old house she intends to turn into a bed-and-breakfast. Read full book review >
MUST LOVE BLACK by Kelly McClymer
COLORS
Released: Oct. 7, 2008

"Teens who identify with Philippa's goth tendencies will likely forgive the loose ends. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Black-clad Philippa is plucky, sarcastic and not thrilled about her widowed father's cheery new wife. Read full book review >
THE WAY WE WORK by David Macaulay
HEALTH
Released: Oct. 7, 2008

"Though it's an unlikely choice for a little light reading, the accuracy, detail and depth of information make this an essential addition to most collections. (Nonfiction. 12 & up)"
In the same style as The Way Things Work (1988), lively, vivid colored-pencil illustrations accompany a very detailed text explaining the design and function of the human body. Read full book review >

VIBES by Amy Kathleen Ryan
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Oct. 6, 2008

"Readers will probably ignore this in favor of the snappy dialogue and ultimately happy ending. (Fiction. YA)"
Psychic Kristi learns that people aren't always the sum of their thoughts. Read full book review >
A MYSTERY FOR THOREAU by Kin Platt
FICTION
Released: Oct. 6, 2008

Sixteen-year-old Oliver Puckle is an apprentice newspaperman in the sleepy little 19th-century town of Concord, Mass. Read full book review >
THE BOOK OF MICHAEL by Lesley Choyce
FICTION
Released: Oct. 4, 2008

"Examining redemption and re-assimilation, Choyce's sober style rewards readers who overcome the flaws. (Fiction. YA)"
After serving six months in prison for the murder of his girlfriend, 16-year-old Michael is released when his ex-girlfriend Miranda confesses to the crime. Read full book review >
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 3, 2008

"Heartfelt but ultimately uninspiring. (preface, chronology, sources, bibliography) (Nonfiction. YA)"
It's clear from the start that first-time author Farr cares passionately about his subject. Read full book review >
DEAR JULIA by Amy Bronwen Zemser
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"Bon appetit! (Fiction. 12-16)"
This unconventional coming-of-age story is set largely in the kitchen and peopled by an irresistible cast of eccentric characters. Read full book review >
THE GOOD NEIGHBORS by Holly Black
FANTASY
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"Providing enough introductory exposition, this should hook its reader, but still leave enough mystery to leave readers clamoring for the next installment. (Graphic fantasy. 12 & up)"
From two accomplished veterans comes a dark urban fantasy about a girl seeking the truth about her past—and her future. Read full book review >
FREEZE FRAME by Heidi Ayarbe
FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"A satisfying and truly moving final third alleviates some of the flaws, but ideally, this novel would have focused more on the journey to the other side of grief and guilt and spent less time in that frozen first scene. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Ayarbe's debut explores the ramifications of killing your best friend. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Yoojin Grace Wuertz
February 27, 2017

In Yoojin Grace Wuertz’s debut novel Everything Belongs to Us, the setting is Seoul in 1978. At South Korea’s top university, the nation’s best and brightest compete to join the professional elite of an authoritarian regime. Success could lead to a life of rarefied privilege and wealth; failure means being left irrevocably behind. For childhood friends Jisun and Namin, the stakes couldn’t be more different. Jisun, the daughter of a powerful business mogul, grew up on a mountainside estate with lush gardens and a dedicated chauffeur. Namin’s parents run a tented food cart from dawn to curfew; her sister works in a shoe factory. Now Jisun wants as little to do with her father’s world as possible, abandoning her schoolwork in favor of the underground activist movement, while Namin studies tirelessly in the service of one goal: to launch herself and her family out of poverty. But everything changes when Jisun and Namin meet an ambitious, charming student named Sunam, whose need to please his family has led him to a prestigious club: the Circle. Under the influence of his mentor, Juno, a manipulative social climber, Sunam becomes entangled with both women, as they all make choices that will change their lives forever. “Engrossing,” our reviewer writes in a starred review. “Wuertz is an important new voice in American fiction.” View video >