Teen Book Reviews

THE CEMETERY BOYS by Heather Brewer
Released: March 30, 2015

"A slick, spooky, chilling mystery. (Horror. 12-16)"
Stephen's family returns to his father's hometown in search of a fresh start, but the town's dark history threatens to swallow them whole. Read full book review >
WRITTEN IN THE STARS by Aisha Saeed
Released: March 24, 2015

"A competent narrative that sheds light on the difficult phenomenon of forced marriage, still prevalent in many cultures around the world and often shrouded in silence. (author's note, resources) (Fiction. 12-18)"
A Pakistani-American teen, caught between two cultures, finds herself at risk of losing her independence to a deceptively arranged marriage. Read full book review >

LIARS, INC. by Paula Stokes
Released: March 24, 2015

"Captivating to the very end. (Mystery. 12-16)"
When Max's friend goes missing, he finds himself in the middle of an increasingly tangled web of lies and conspiracy. Read full book review >
THE TIGHTROPE WALKERS by David Almond
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 24, 2015

"The award-winning Almond poetically plumbs the depths of his 1950s and '60s childhood to explore themes of violence, war, God, creativity, beauty, death, art, the soul, our animal selves, whether we ever grow up or can really know each other…in short, life. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Dominic Hall is "a caulker's son, a tank cleaner's grandson" in the river town of Tyneside in northern England…but the boy dreams of writing. Read full book review >
IN THE TIME OF DRAGON MOON by Janet Lee Carey
Released: March 24, 2015

"Ultimately, a satisfying tale of a girl who must come to terms with her own blended identity. (author's note) (Fantasy. 12-17)"
Humans, dragons and fey coexist on Wilde Island, but this uneasy peace masks a simmering, mutual distrust that surfaces after the English army abducts an Euit healer and his daughter to cure the aging queen's infertility—failure is not an option. Read full book review >

BOYS DON'T KNIT by T.S. Easton
Released: March 24, 2015

"Wacky characters, a farcical plot and a fledgling romance are all part of the fun in this novel that will appeal to fans of Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging.(Fiction. 12-16)"
An unwilling accomplice to petty theft organized by his dim friends, English teen Ben Fletcher is annoyed that he was the one busted when he collided with a crossing guard. Read full book review >
BLACKBIRD FLY by Erin Entrada Kelly
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 24, 2015

"Children's literature has been waiting for Apple Yengko—a strong, Asian-American girl whose ethnic identity simultaneously complicates and enriches her life. (Fiction. 9-14)"
Apple Yengko has one possession from the Philippines—a Beatles cassette tape with her father's name written on it. She knows every song by heart. Read full book review >
THE HAUNTING OF SUNSHINE GIRL by Paige McKenzie
Released: March 24, 2015

"Suspenseful, exciting and endlessly entertaining. (Paranormal suspense. 12-16)"
Paranormal activity threatens to consume the life of a not-so-average teenage girl. Read full book review >
THE WALLS AROUND US by Nova Ren Suma
Released: March 24, 2015

"Eerie, painful and beautifully spine-chilling. (Supernatural suspense. 15-17)"
The intertwined stories of two teenage girls: a convicted killer and a Juilliard-bound ballerina. Read full book review >
WE ALL LOOKED UP by Tommy Wallach
Released: March 24, 2015

"A thought-provoking story that will bring out readers' inner philosophers. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
The end of the world turns into a life-changing opportunity for four high school seniors. Read full book review >
HALF WILD by Sally Green
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: March 24, 2015

"A character-driven page-turner offering both emotional depth and gory thrills. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
After he's abandoned once again by his infamous Black Witch father (Half Bad, 2013), Nathan grapples with his new, unruly magical gift and risks everything to save his true love.Read full book review >
THE DOOR IN THE MOON by Catherine Fisher
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: March 24, 2015

"Engrossing and addictive. (Science fiction/fantasy. 12 & up)"
Past, present and future collide; science fiction melds with fantasy and historical thriller in the third volume of this genre-blending quartet. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Frank Bruni
March 31, 2015

Over the last few decades, Americans have turned college admissions into a terrifying and occasionally devastating process, preceded by test prep, tutors, all sorts of stratagems, all kinds of rankings, and a conviction among too many young people that their futures will be determined and their worth established by which schools say yes and which say no. In Where You Go Is Not Who You’ll Be, New York Times columnist Frank Bruni explains why, giving students and their parents a new perspective on this brutal, deeply flawed competition and a path out of the anxiety that it provokes. “Written in a lively style but carrying a wallop, this is a book that family and educators cannot afford to overlook as they try to navigate the treacherous waters of college admissions,” our reviewer writes. View video >