Sad and sobering.

READ REVIEW

THE SIXTH EXTINCTION

JOURNEYS AMONG THE LOST AND LEFT BEHIND

A Canadian writer cries out against the “dark and gathering sameness” that is destroying species, languages and cultures throughout the world.

An author (The Last Great Sea, not reviewed) and former Globe and Mail reporter, Glavin explores extinction in its broadest sense: We are losing not only species (one every ten minutes), but also human diversity (one language every two weeks), and the losses are very much related. “The forests go, the cultures go,” he writes in this deeply personal book. In each chapter, he explores a different aspect of our losses; what, if anything, is being done to halt them; and why our lives are diminished in ways that go far beyond harm to the environment. Our very humanity is tied up with the diversity around us, says Glavin. Yet modern ways prompt loss everywhere. Indeed, biologists use the term “living dead” to describe the rare and vanishing. In Costa Rica, where the scarlet Macau vanished and was then “hand reared” back into existence, Glavin finds hope. But more often, he finds societal changes leading to loss: In Russia’s Far Eastern rivers, fish stocks were plundered after the collapse of order following the fall of the Soviet Union; in Norway, the cultural and economic survival of distinct peoples is threatened as environmentalists seek to halt traditional and sustainable harvesting of minke whales. Often, local lives are shaped by decisions made elsewhere, he finds. The rise of global-market economies makes it no longer tenable to maintain old livestock breeds, domesticated plant varieties and even languages. Consider: In 1900, more than 7,000 commercial varieties of apples were cultivated in North America. By 2000, nearly all were gone. The US crop today consists of Red Delicious, Golden Delicious and Granny Smith—and not much more. Traveling from Ireland to Singapore to the Himalayas, the author relays alarming stories of loss, giving a vivid sense of how extinction affects our lives.

Sad and sobering.

Pub Date: April 3, 2007

ISBN: 0-312-36231-5

Page Count: 336

Publisher: St. Martin's

Review Posted Online: June 24, 2010

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Dec. 1, 2006

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Jahren transcends both memoir and science writing in this literary fusion of both genres.

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • Kirkus Reviews'
    Best Books Of 2016

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • National Book Critics Circle Winner

LAB GIRL

Award-winning scientist Jahren (Geology and Geophysics/Univ. of Hawaii) delivers a personal memoir and a paean to the natural world.

The author’s father was a physics and earth science teacher who encouraged her play in the laboratory, and her mother was a student of English literature who nurtured her love of reading. Both of these early influences engrossingly combine in this adroit story of a dedication to science. Jahren’s journey from struggling student to struggling scientist has the narrative tension of a novel and characters she imbues with real depth. The heroes in this tale are the plants that the author studies, and throughout, she employs her facility with words to engage her readers. We learn much along the way—e.g., how the willow tree clones itself, the courage of a seed’s first root, the symbiotic relationship between trees and fungi, and the airborne signals used by trees in their ongoing war against insects. Trees are of key interest to Jahren, and at times she waxes poetic: “Each beginning is the end of a waiting. We are each given exactly one chance to be. Each of us is both impossible and inevitable. Every replete tree was first a seed that waited.” The author draws many parallels between her subjects and herself. This is her story, after all, and we are engaged beyond expectation as she relates her struggle in building and running laboratory after laboratory at the universities that have employed her. Present throughout is her lab partner, a disaffected genius named Bill, whom she recruited when she was a graduate student at Berkeley and with whom she’s worked ever since. The author’s tenacity, hope, and gratitude are all evident as she and Bill chase the sweetness of discovery in the face of the harsh economic realities of the research scientist.

Jahren transcends both memoir and science writing in this literary fusion of both genres.

Pub Date: April 5, 2016

ISBN: 978-1-101-87493-6

Page Count: 336

Publisher: Knopf

Review Posted Online: Jan. 5, 2016

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 15, 2016

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A tiny book, not much bigger than a pamphlet, with huge potential impact.

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • IndieBound Bestseller

NO ONE IS TOO SMALL TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE

A collection of articulate, forceful speeches made from September 2018 to September 2019 by the Swedish climate activist who was nominated for a Nobel Peace Prize.

Speaking in such venues as the European and British Parliaments, the French National Assembly, the Austrian World Summit, and the U.N. General Assembly, Thunberg has always been refreshingly—and necessarily—blunt in her demands for action from world leaders who refuse to address climate change. With clarity and unbridled passion, she presents her message that climate change is an emergency that must be addressed immediately, and she fills her speeches with punchy sound bites delivered in her characteristic pull-no-punches style: “I don’t want you to be hopeful. I want you to panic. I want you to feel the fear I feel every day. And then I want you to act.” In speech after speech, to persuade her listeners, she cites uncomfortable, even alarming statistics about global temperature rise and carbon dioxide emissions. Although this inevitably makes the text rather repetitive, the repetition itself has an impact, driving home her point so that no one can fail to understand its importance. Thunberg varies her style for different audiences. Sometimes it is the rousing “our house is on fire” approach; other times she speaks more quietly about herself and her hopes and her dreams. When addressing the U.S. Congress, she knowingly calls to mind the words and deeds of Martin Luther King Jr. and John F. Kennedy. The last speech in the book ends on a note that is both challenging and upbeat: “We are the change and change is coming.” The edition published in Britain earlier this year contained 11 speeches; this updated edition has 16, all worth reading.

A tiny book, not much bigger than a pamphlet, with huge potential impact.

Pub Date: Nov. 26, 2019

ISBN: 978-0-14-313356-8

Page Count: 112

Publisher: Penguin

Review Posted Online: Nov. 3, 2019

Did you like this book?

more