Thrillers Book Reviews (page 2)

THE DARK ROOM by Jonathan  Moore
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 10, 2017

"San Francisco has never been so menacing."
Moore's (The Poison Artist, 2016, etc.) complex and often deeply disturbing crime noir set in the City by the Bay delves into dark subjects and the insidious nature of true evil. Read full book review >
BURNING BRIGHT by Nicholas Petrie
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 10, 2017

"Another fine thriller in what's shaping up to be a hell of a series."
Ex-Marine and damaged combat vet Peter Ash returns after his harrowing debut (The Drifter, 2016). Read full book review >

MY SISTER ROSA by Justine Larbalestier
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 15, 2016

"This dark thriller is the 1956 film The Bad Seed meets 2016; readers will be simultaneously terrified when Rosa's present and afraid to let her out of their sight. (Thriller. 14 & up)"
"Do you think I'm the devil?" Read full book review >
HEART ATTACK AND VINE  by Phoef Sutton
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 8, 2016

"Fast, light, and witty, Sutton's second novel is a pleasure."
This fast-moving, wiseass, noir tale of murder and Hollywood features the return of bodyguard and bouncer Caleb Rush (Crush, 2015). Read full book review >
THE LONG ROOM by Francesca Kay
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2016

"Kay is consistently entertaining in this subtle, sad psychological thriller."
Here is le Carré writ small yet still tense in a quiet thriller set amid the less glamorous work of back-office surveillance for the British government. Read full book review >

LIVIA LONE by Barry Eisler
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 25, 2016

"Filled with raw power, this may be the darkest thriller of the year."
An explosive thriller that plunges into the sewer of human smuggling. Read full book review >
EVERY MAN A MENACE by Patrick Hoffman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"With its hard-boiled shenanigans and soft-minded crooks, Hoffman's follow-up to The White Van (2014) is another strong and original addition to the crime fiction genre."
How many drug dealers, dirty cops, lowlifes, and hapless victims does it take to screw up a $50 million shipment of the drug Ecstasy? When the assorted players are as desperate or dumb as the cast of this bleakly amusing, noir-saturated saga, even more than you might think. Read full book review >
THE VANISHING YEAR by Kate Moretti
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 27, 2016

"Fans of twisted thrillers featuring complex female characters will devour Moretti's latest."
A woman tries to hide—and outrun—her past in this fast-paced thriller from Moretti (Binds That Tie, 2014, etc.). Read full book review >
DAISY IN CHAINS by Sharon Bolton
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"No detail should be missed, no nuance overlooked in Bolton's chilling tale of a master manipulator who leaves nothing to chance."
A serial killer bids for freedom with the aid of an unconventional lawyer. Read full book review >
BLACK WATER by Louise Doughty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Powerful, probing fiction in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré."
Another morally and emotionally fraught thriller from British writer Doughty (Apple Tree Yard, 2014, etc.), this one about an operative for an Amsterdam-based black-ops organization grappling with fallout from his personal and professional history in Indonesia. Read full book review >
RAZOR GIRL by Carl Hiaasen
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Relax, enjoy, and marvel anew at the power of unbridled fictional invention."
Rejoice, fans of American madness who've sought fulfillment in political reportage. South Florida's master farceur (Skink—No Surrender, 2014, etc.) is back to reassure you that fiction is indeed stranger than truth. Read full book review >
THE ONE MAN by Andrew Gross
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 23, 2016

"This is Gross' best work yet, with his heart and soul imprinted on every page."
The author of One Mile Under (2015) changes genres with a heart-pounding thriller set in the bowels of Auschwitz. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >