Thrillers Book Reviews (page 5)

THE BLACK PHOENIX by Allan Kemp
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 17, 2013

"An exquisitely detailed, fantastic realm of wizards, witches, vampires and werecreatures that's begging for a series."
Kemp's debut fantasy-thriller takes place in a world ruled by supernatural beings threatened by a looming horde of lost souls in the heart of Atlanta. Read full book review >
POLICE by Jo Nesbø
Kirkus Star
by Jo Nesbø, translated by Don Bartlett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 15, 2013

"A surprise ending promises a fresh start for a series that had appeared to end with its previous novel."
Having upped the ante with the previous novel in the Harry Hole series, the author goes for broke here. Read full book review >

THE OCTOBER LIST by Jeffery Deaver
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2013

"Perhaps the cleverest of all Deaver's exceptionally clever thrillers. If you've ever wished you could take the film Memento to the beach, here's your chance."
Remember Merrily We Roll Along, the Sondheim musical out of Kaufman and Hart that began with its climactic scene and worked backward to the beginning? Deaver's borrowed the same concept and juiced it with assorted felonies, nonstop suspense and his trademark braininess. Read full book review >
THE RETURN by Michael Gruber
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"Thrilling and compulsively readable."
After being diagnosed with a fatal brain condition, a seemingly mild-mannered New York book editor heads to Mexico for a violent confrontation with his past. Read full book review >
ALEX by Pierre Lemaitre
Kirkus Star
by Pierre Lemaitre, translated by Frank Wynne
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"An eloquent thriller with a denouement that raises eyebrows as it speeds the pulse."
In this unpredictable, oddly delectable French thriller, an attractive young Parisian woman is abducted, chained in a crate and brutalized by an avenger—a crime that doesn't begin to hint at the gruesome killings to follow. Read full book review >

NEVER GO BACK by Lee Child
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"For the pure pleasure of uncomplicated, nonstop action, no one touches Reacher, who accurately observes that 'I trained myself...to turn fear into aggression.'"
Jack Reacher pokes a head into his old D.C. office, and things promptly go ballistic. Read full book review >
LINEUP by Liad Shoham
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"This book marks the author's U.S. debut. Let's hope he gives us many more stories like it."
Israeli author Shoham's gritty crime thriller set in Tel Aviv. Read full book review >
THEN WE TAKE BERLIN by John Lawton
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"A wonderfully complex and nuanced thriller, first in a new series, by the creator of Inspector Troy (A Lily of the Field, 2010, etc.)."
A dangerous assignment in East Berlin is fraught with complex memories from postwar Europe. Read full book review >
SANDRINE'S CASE by Thomas H. Cook
THRILLERS
Released: Aug. 6, 2013

"A marvelous tale of human nature."
A psychological courtroom thriller from Cook (The Crime of Julian Wells, 2012, etc.). Read full book review >
THE LAST ALIBI by David Ellis
THRILLERS
Released: Aug. 1, 2013

"Ellis ranks among the best writers in the genre, and this book will keep readers entertained from start to finish."
From Edgar winner Ellis, a complex courtroom thriller filled with tension and twists as the protagonist stands trial for murder. Read full book review >
GHOSTS OF BUNGO SUIDO by P.T. Deutermann
THRILLERS
Released: July 30, 2013

"A first-rate yarn of war and the sea that will keep the reader on edge right to the end."
A World War II naval thriller in the tradition of Edward L. Beach's Run Silent, Run Deep, pitting an American submarine against daunting odds. Read full book review >
THE FIRE WITNESS by Lars Kepler
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: July 2, 2013

"A rich, nuanced tale, ideal for beach reading, just as long as the beach doesn't harbor too many shadows."
Superb, spooky whodunit from the Swedish couple who write as Kepler (The Nightmare, 2012, etc.). Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Gabrielle Zevin
March 3, 2015

A. J. Fikry’s life is not at all what he expected it to be. He lives alone, his bookstore is experiencing the worst sales in its history, and now his prized possession, a rare collection of Poe poems, has been stolen. But when a mysterious package appears at the bookstore, its unexpected arrival gives Fikry the chance to make his life over—and see everything anew. “Zevin writes characters who grow and prosper,” our reviewer writes, “in a narrative that is sometimes sentimental, sometimes funny, sometimes true to life and always entertaining.” View video >