Thrillers Book Reviews (page 500)

FALSELY ACCUSED by Robert K. Tanenbaum
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Sept. 16, 1996

Butch Karp has left the Manhattan D.A.'s office, but not the legal hot-seat, as this blistering novel of endless Big Apple corruption and coverups makes abundantly clear. Read full book review >
THE HANGING TREE by David Lambkin
THRILLERS
Released: Sept. 15, 1996

"Heart of Darkness from a woman's point of view."
The American edition of last year's South African bestseller, a brooding meditation on humankind's violent nature. Read full book review >

THE LIONS OF THE NORTH by Edward Marston
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 11, 1996

"The best by far of this series: abrim with energy, heroism, tenderness, chicanery, and suspense while crisply evoking a vivid picture of the era."
Fourth in the author's Domesday series set in an 11th-century England ruled by William the Conqueror. Read full book review >
UP JUMPS THE DEVIL by Margaret Maron
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Sept. 10, 1996

"Despite a few cutesy lapses in Deborah's wry-and- ginger narration: easy-drawling entertainment, short on wallop but long on edgy charm. (Mystery Guild main selection)"
Back for her fourth leisurely outing, North Carolina judge Deborah Knott (Shooting at Loons, 1994, etc.) has personal connections to just about every suspect in the murder of old Jap Stancil—a failed farmer who's been eking out a living working on cars and growing ornamental corn for the Thanksgiving season. Read full book review >
EAGLES OF FIRE by Timothy Rizzi
THRILLERS
Released: Sept. 6, 1996

"Furious state-of-the-art action on land, at sea, and (especially) in the air, plus credibly malefic skullduggery behind the lines, will speed most readers past the holes in a plot charitably characterized as serviceable."
USAF Major General Richard ``Duke'' James, the high-flying hero of The Phalanx Dragon (1994) and other of Rizzi's technothrillers, does earthbound battle against savage North Koreans and a vicious home-front foe in this latest test of his considerable mettle. Read full book review >

THE BURNING MAN by Phillip Margolin
THRILLERS
Released: Sept. 4, 1996

"Despite the hints of grand conspiracy and grand passion, Margolin (After Dark, 1995, etc.) leaves too little meat on these bones for any but the staunchest fans of legal intrigue, with hollow surprises that arrive too late to save his puny plot."
An Oregon lawyer exiled from Portland to the sticks grabs at a high-profile murder case as his one and only chance to turn his life around—and that's only the most obvious clichÇ in this pot of refried beans. ``You possess the intelligence to be a good lawyer, but you're lazy and self-centered,'' Peter Hale's father harangues him just after Peter's arrogance and incompetence shut a client out of a well-deserved settlement, and just before he banishes him to legal serfdom in backwoods Whitaker. Read full book review >
SHOT IN THE CATHEDRAL by Mario Bencastro
THRILLERS
Released: Sept. 1, 1996

Shot In The Cathedral ($18.95; Sept. 1, 1996; 220 pp.; 1-55885- 164-X): A skillful balance between journalistic reportage and a subjective focus on the lives of ordinary people afflicted by political upheaval distinguishes this otherwise familiar (and somewhat melodramatic) picture of El Salvador under siege in the late 1970s. Read full book review >
THE LAST THING HE WANTED by Joan Didion
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1996

"A pinched narrative sacrifices the pleasures of conventional character development, with Didion opting instead for a convoluted and over-the-top exploration of political skullduggery."
Didion's fifth novel (Democracy, 1984, etc.) is further proof that she's a better journalist than novelist. Read full book review >
THE KINDLING EFFECT by Peter Hernon
THRILLERS
Released: Sept. 1, 1996

"Robin Cook meets Soldier of Fortune in a gripping (if often over-the-top) thriller chock-full of medico-legal arcana."
An engrossingly macabre debut novel by St. Read full book review >
THE SHADOW BOX by John R. Maxim
THRILLERS
Released: Sept. 1, 1996

"A slick, engrossing entertainment with plausibly motivated characters and chilling detail on an underground enterprise that's evidently as remunerative as narcotics. (First printing of 50,000)"
Maxim (Time Out of Mind, 1986, etc.) forsakes the astral plane for a suspenser whose down-and-dirty plot turns on the megabuck traffic in bogus prescription drugs. Read full book review >
THE COBWEB by Stephen Bury
THRILLERS
Released: Sept. 1, 1996

"A charming, uproariously clever thriller, in the tradition of Ross Thomas and Richard Condon, with plenty of wry wit and deftly rendered characters."
When this latest wacky thriller from Bury (Interface, not reviewed)—a pseudonym for Neal Stephenson (The Diamond Age, 1995, etc.) and J. Frederick George—puts a bunch of overweight, incorruptible Iowa huskers up against Saddam Hussein just before Desert Storm, you know the bad guy with the moustache is going to take a fall. Read full book review >
THE ENCHANTMENT OF LILY DAHL by Siri Hustvedt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1996

"Mystery, murder, and provincial caricatures, all in a readable but curiously dusty mix from a writer whose aims seemed higher the first time around. (Author tour)"
Hustvedt's second outing abandons the cerebral regions of postmodernism (The Blindfold, 1992) and turns to the familiar melodramas of small-town gothic. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Andrea Beaty
August 30, 2016

In Andrea Beaty and David Roberts’ new picture book Ada Twist, Scientist is like her classmates, builder Iggy and inventor Rosie: scientist Ada, a character of color, has a boundless imagination and has always been hopelessly curious. Why are there pointy things stuck to a rose? Why are there hairs growing inside your nose? When her house fills with a horrific, toe-curling smell, Ada knows it’s up to her to find the source. Not afraid of failure, she embarks on a fact-finding mission and conducts scientific experiments, all in the name of discovery. But this time, her experiments lead to even more stink and get her into trouble! Inspired by real-life makers such as Ada Lovelace and Marie Curie, Ada Twist, Scientist champions girl power and women scientists, and brings welcome diversity to picture books about girls in science. “Cool and stylish,” our reviewer writes. View video >