Thrillers Book Reviews (page 6)

DAISY IN CHAINS by Sharon Bolton
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"No detail should be missed, no nuance overlooked in Bolton's chilling tale of a master manipulator who leaves nothing to chance."
A serial killer bids for freedom with the aid of an unconventional lawyer. Read full book review >
THE VANISHED by Lotte Hammer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"Ridiculous coincidence aside, this Danish sleeping pill proves thin on story."
Scandinavian noir crime fiction continues to pile up the body count in this latest by the Danish Hammer siblings. Read full book review >

HOME by Harlan Coben
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"Coben, who normally has few rivals at keeping the pot boiling (Fool Me Once, 2016, etc.), this time settles for a simmer until unleashing his trademark twists late in the proceedings. This one is for fans with even more patience than the parents of those kidnapped boys."
Ten years after a pair of 6-year-olds vanish from a suburban New Jersey home, one of them is spotted in London. But what about the other? Read full book review >
The Law of Nature by Evans Priligkos
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 17, 2016

"An energetic, densely plotted tale that might have benefited from a stronger edit."
Two men try to take down an American secret society bent on global domination in Priligkos' debut thriller. Read full book review >
Schizo: Hidden in Plain Sight by Ilene B. Benator
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 15, 2016

"A laudable mystery that starts tangled and slowly unravels—with not one but two twists at the end."
A man wrongly convicted of murder feigns a mental disorder, giving him time in a psychiatric facility to concoct a scheme for clearing his name, in this debut thriller. Read full book review >

BLACK WATER by Louise Doughty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Powerful, probing fiction in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré."
Another morally and emotionally fraught thriller from British writer Doughty (Apple Tree Yard, 2014, etc.), this one about an operative for an Amsterdam-based black-ops organization grappling with fallout from his personal and professional history in Indonesia. Read full book review >
RED RIGHT HAND by Chris Holm
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"A good choice for thriller fans."
A fast-moving novel featuring the return of hit-man hitter and antihero Michael Hendricks (The Killing Kind, 2015). Read full book review >
THE SOUL OF THE MATTER by Bruce Buff
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Back to the lab."
The discovery of genetic information that unlocks the mysteries of life and creation challenges two scientists and imperils their lives. Read full book review >
THE LAST DAYS OF JACK SPARKS by Jason Arnopp
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"The devil may find work for idle hands, but that doesn't mean incessantly clever ones should rest easy."
A pop-culture journalist finds himself entangled in a case of demonic possession in this slick metathriller. Read full book review >
The Good Spy Dies Twice by Mark Hosack
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"So many twists it's practically gyrating, but an undeniably spry and rousing espionage tale."
A disgraced journalist tackles a story his newlywed wife had been covertly researching, involving Russians, spies, and murder at an Alaskan ski resort in this thriller. Read full book review >
DOTWAV by Mike A. Lancaster
THRILLERS
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"This one's a page-turner. (Thriller. 12 & up)"
Combining a love of science fiction with modern technology and some very original thinking, this novel takes a look at some of society's preconceived notions from a slightly off-kilter view. Read full book review >
BLOOD WEDDING by Pierre Lemaitre
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Atmospheric and chilling and packed with Lemaitre's trademark twists and turns."
Lemaitre introduces a cast of characters who would be right at home in the Bates Motel in this thriller about a disturbed woman and the chaos that follows her. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Kendare Blake
November 16, 2016

Bestseller Kendare Blake’s latest novel, Three Dark Crowns, a dark and inventive fantasy about three sisters who must fight to the death to become queen. In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions. But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. The last queen standing gets the crown. “Gorgeous and bloody, tender and violent, elegant, precise, and passionate; above all, completely addicting,” our reviewer writes in a starred review. View video >