Thrillers Book Reviews (page 76)

THE HEALER by Antti Tuomainen
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 14, 2013

"Tapani's search, which will lead him through an appalling series of cityscapes to some shattering discoveries about the wife he thought he knew so well, is the stuff of authentic nightmares."
In Tuomainen's first appearance in English translation, a long-unpublished poet takes to the streets of a grimly dystopian Helsinki in search of his vanished wife. Read full book review >
The Boxed Angel by Robert DiGiacomo
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 14, 2013

"With incredibly high stakes and memorable characters, the slow start doesn't hamper this riveting tale."
A supernatural tale with realistic characters and a historical twist readers won't see coming. Read full book review >

A CASE OF REDEMPTION by Adam Mitzner
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 14, 2013

"Law and Order-like twist-and-turn, moral-quandary suspense needing only the echoing cell door sound effect."
"[W]hen you help a rapist get acquitted and your wife and daughter are killed the next day, it's awfully hard to convince yourself that karma doesn't exist," muses Dan Sorenson in Mitzner's (A Conflict of Interest, 2011) second legal thriller. Read full book review >
RIVER OF GRACE by Colleen K. Snyder
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 13, 2013

"A fast-paced, compelling story with a lot of heart."
A Christian thriller with a dash of romance. Read full book review >
The Last Of The Titans by Darryl D. Bowman
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 12, 2013

"An accomplished thriller that will appeal to fans of Brad Thor and Vince Flynn."
In Bowman's debut thriller, a former military officer tries to stop a rogue CIA agent from getting his hands on a Titan nuclear missile abandoned during the Cold War. Read full book review >

The Nostradamus Society by J. Douglas Shaw
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 8, 2013

"This is an imperfect but intriguing novel from a new writer with real potential."
The discovery of a long-lost prophetic manuscript triggers a series of increasingly catastrophic events in this promising debut thriller. Read full book review >
NIGHT TERRORS by Dennis Palumbo
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 7, 2013

"Some thrillers are beach reads. Palumbo's are strictly for late at night and for readers who have no pressing engagements early the next day."
Pittsburgh clinical psychologist Daniel Rinaldi (Fever Dream, 2011, etc.) finds to his sorrow that even serial killers have fans. Read full book review >
Proposition by Denis O' Rourke
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 6, 2013

"An attention-grabbing thriller that pits greed against the environment."
A gripping environmental thriller colored by bloodshed and fueled by money. Read full book review >
SCREWED by Eoin Colfer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 2, 2013

"Colfer's work is entertaining and expertly judged. His terse, muscular prose makes even a car chase seem like a new idea, and his McEvoy is a durable raconteur."
This comic thriller sends a hard-luck New Jersey club owner tumbling through a mad, mad world of assorted nuts. Read full book review >
Operation Saladin by Roger Croft
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 2, 2013

"A web of secrets and betrayal sure to grab spy-novel fans."
A suspenseful, behind-the-scenes look at espionage and politics through the eyes of a British journalist. Read full book review >
JUDAS PLAYING FIELD by Patricia Neary
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 1, 2013

"A memorable blood-and-guts tale with well-developed characters and a highly emotional payoff."
A deeply disturbing psychological thriller that takes readers on a ride inside the mind of a serial killer. Read full book review >
FOR A SIN OFFERING by Christopher Bartley
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 1, 2013

"Exquisite in its gloom; should earn even more Ross Duncan fans."
Ross Duncan searches 1934 Chicago for the ever-elusive Irishman in a tale of vengeance (Sleep Not, My Child, 2013, etc.), the third novel in Bartley's hard-boiled thriller series. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >