Thrillers Book Reviews

PARADIME by Alan Glynn
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"The plot keeps moving with plenty of effective surprises, and the final chapters successfully navigate to an even darker tone. So the not-quite-resolved ending seems perfectly appropriate, even if you have to read it over to make sense of it."
The plot twists can get a little confusing in the latest high-tech sci-fi thriller from Glynn (The Dark Fields, 2001, etc.). But at least readers will never be quite as confused as Danny Lynch, the story's unlucky not-quite hero. Read full book review >
THE WIDOWER'S WIFE by Cate Holahan
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 9, 2016

"The result is one of those rare thrillers that really will keep you reading all night, especially if you pack it to take on your next Caribbean cruise."
A dogged insurance investigator suspects that a perfect wife's accidental death was anything but. He doesn't know the half of it. Read full book review >

RISE THE DARK by Michael Koryta
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 16, 2016

"Again proving himself one of today's top thriller writers, Koryta creates edgy suspense not with trickery but with characters who test the limits of their courage."
Having escaped certain death in Indiana's scariest caves in Last Words (2015), private investigator Mark Novak returns to his old haunts in Montana in pursuit of the man who murdered his wife in Cassadaga, Florida—a strange town known for its psychics. Read full book review >
And Wind Will Wash Away by Jordan A. Rothacker
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 16, 2016

"A penetrating, provocative tale of a detective who psychoanalyzes as often as he investigates."
An Atlanta detective, hoping to explain his mistress's fiery death, dives into a world rife with strange religious beliefs in Rothacker's (The Pit, and No Other Stories, 2015, etc.) unconventional thriller.Read full book review >
THE ONE MAN by Andrew Gross
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 23, 2016

"This is Gross' best work yet, with his heart and soul imprinted on every page."
The author of One Mile Under (2015) changes genres with a heart-pounding thriller set in the bowels of Auschwitz. Read full book review >

RAZOR GIRL by Carl Hiaasen
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Relax, enjoy, and marvel anew at the power of unbridled fictional invention."
Rejoice, fans of American madness who've sought fulfillment in political reportage. South Florida's master farceur (Skink—No Surrender, 2014, etc.) is back to reassure you that fiction is indeed stranger than truth. Read full book review >
BLOOD WEDDING by Pierre Lemaitre
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Atmospheric and chilling and packed with Lemaitre's trademark twists and turns."
Lemaitre introduces a cast of characters who would be right at home in the Bates Motel in this thriller about a disturbed woman and the chaos that follows her. Read full book review >
DOTWAV by Mike A. Lancaster
THRILLERS
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"This one's a page-turner. (Thriller. 12 & up)"
Combining a love of science fiction with modern technology and some very original thinking, this novel takes a look at some of society's preconceived notions from a slightly off-kilter view. Read full book review >
GHOSTS OF HAVANA  by Todd Moss
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Former government official Moss offers a lively, informed, and timely political novel about Cuba's future and America's role in it."
After Havana seizes the fishing boat of four Americans in Cuban waters and holds them captive, the U.S. State Department sends its ace crisis strategist Judd Ryker to the island on a mission that grows more and more mysterious. Read full book review >
Mammoth by Douglas Perry
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Bursting with vigor and electrified characters and with an ending the author stamps with a knowing wink."
A small group deals with the fallout of a California ski-resort town whose residents have mysteriously vanished in Perry's (Eliot Ness: The Rise and Fall of an American Hero, 2015, etc.) thriller.Read full book review >
BLACK WATER by Louise Doughty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Powerful, probing fiction in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré."
Another morally and emotionally fraught thriller from British writer Doughty (Apple Tree Yard, 2014, etc.), this one about an operative for an Amsterdam-based black-ops organization grappling with fallout from his personal and professional history in Indonesia. Read full book review >
RED RIGHT HAND by Chris Holm
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"A good choice for thriller fans."
A fast-moving novel featuring the return of hit-man hitter and antihero Michael Hendricks (The Killing Kind, 2015). Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Morgan Matson
July 25, 2016

The Unexpected Everything is a YA feel-good story of friendship, finding yourself, and all the joys in life that happen while you’re busy making other plans. Andie has a plan. And she always sticks to her plan. Future? A top-tier medical school. Dad? Avoid him as much as possible (which isn’t that hard considering he’s a Congressman and he’s never around). Friends? Palmer, Bri, and Toby—pretty much the most awesome people on the planet, who needs anyone else? Relationships? No one’s worth more than three weeks. So it’s no surprise that Andie’s got her summer all planned out too. Until a political scandal costs Andie her summer pre-med internship, and lands both she and Dad back in the same house together for the first time in years. Suddenly she’s doing things that aren’t Andie at all. “Romance fans will find plenty to enjoy, as Andie gradually lets down her guard and risks the messy and unpredictable wonder of first love,” our reviewer writes. “A novel best read on a lazy summer day with sand between the toes.” View video >