ONLY DAUGHTER by Anna Snoekstra
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 27, 2016

"A premise that could collapse in a light breeze coupled with telegraphed plot twists make for an uninspired entry in the psychological thriller category."
After her arrest, a woman claims to be a long-missing teenage girl and finds herself living the vanished girl's life only to become ensnared in trying to unravel the truth behind her disappearance. Read full book review >
THE VANISHING YEAR by Kate Moretti
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 27, 2016

"Fans of twisted thrillers featuring complex female characters will devour Moretti's latest."
A woman tries to hide—and outrun—her past in this fast-paced thriller from Moretti (Binds That Tie, 2014, etc.). Read full book review >

Impala by Andrew Diamond
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 21, 2016

"A convincing, complex cyberthriller."
A computer programmer becomes the target of international criminals in Diamond's (Warren Lane, 2015) thriller.Read full book review >
OXBLOOD by Annalisa Grant
THRILLERS
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"This fast-paced spy novel has just the right amount of international intrigue and danger; a touch of romance is a sweet bonus. (Thriller. 16 & up)"
Victoria Asher, 20, leads an uneventful life in Miami, working at a diner and celebrating her birthday eating pie and ice cream with her best friend—but when she receives an ominous package from her brother, Gil, her entire world shifts. Read full book review >
DAISY IN CHAINS by Sharon Bolton
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"No detail should be missed, no nuance overlooked in Bolton's chilling tale of a master manipulator who leaves nothing to chance."
A serial killer bids for freedom with the aid of an unconventional lawyer. Read full book review >

THE VANISHED by Lotte Hammer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"Ridiculous coincidence aside, this Danish sleeping pill proves thin on story."
Scandinavian noir crime fiction continues to pile up the body count in this latest by the Danish Hammer siblings. Read full book review >
HOME by Harlan Coben
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"Coben, who normally has few rivals at keeping the pot boiling (Fool Me Once, 2016, etc.), this time settles for a simmer until unleashing his trademark twists late in the proceedings. This one is for fans with even more patience than the parents of those kidnapped boys."
Ten years after a pair of 6-year-olds vanish from a suburban New Jersey home, one of them is spotted in London. But what about the other? Read full book review >
Schizo: Hidden in Plain Sight by Ilene B. Benator
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 15, 2016

"A laudable mystery that starts tangled and slowly unravels—with not one but two twists at the end."
A man wrongly convicted of murder feigns a mental disorder, giving him time in a psychiatric facility to concoct a scheme for clearing his name, in this debut thriller. Read full book review >
BLACK WATER by Louise Doughty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Powerful, probing fiction in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré."
Another morally and emotionally fraught thriller from British writer Doughty (Apple Tree Yard, 2014, etc.), this one about an operative for an Amsterdam-based black-ops organization grappling with fallout from his personal and professional history in Indonesia. Read full book review >
RED RIGHT HAND by Chris Holm
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"A good choice for thriller fans."
A fast-moving novel featuring the return of hit-man hitter and antihero Michael Hendricks (The Killing Kind, 2015). Read full book review >
THE SOUL OF THE MATTER by Bruce Buff
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Back to the lab."
The discovery of genetic information that unlocks the mysteries of life and creation challenges two scientists and imperils their lives. Read full book review >
THE LAST DAYS OF JACK SPARKS by Jason Arnopp
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"The devil may find work for idle hands, but that doesn't mean incessantly clever ones should rest easy."
A pop-culture journalist finds himself entangled in a case of demonic possession in this slick metathriller. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Melissa Sweet
author of SOME WRITER!
September 26, 2016

“SOME PIG,” Charlotte the spider’s praise for Wilbur, is just one fondly remembered snippet from E. B. White’s Charlotte’s Web. In Some Writer!, two-time Caldecott Honor winner and 2014 Kirkus Prize finalist Melissa Sweet mixes White’s personal letters, photos, and family ephemera with her own exquisite artwork to tell his story, from his birth in 1899 to his death in 1985. Budding young writers will be fascinated and inspired by the journalist, New Yorker contributor, and children’s book author who loved words his whole life. This authorized tribute is the first fully illustrated biography of E. B. White and includes an afterword by Martha White, E. B. White's granddaughter. “Like Charlotte, Sweet spins a terrific story,” our reviewer writes in a starred review. “A masterful biography that will enchant young readers.” View video >