Thrillers Book Reviews

DAISY IN CHAINS by Sharon Bolton
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"No detail should be missed, no nuance overlooked in Bolton's chilling tale of a master manipulator who leaves nothing to chance."
A serial killer bids for freedom with the aid of an unconventional lawyer. Read full book review >
BLACK WATER by Louise Doughty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Powerful, probing fiction in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré."
Another morally and emotionally fraught thriller from British writer Doughty (Apple Tree Yard, 2014, etc.), this one about an operative for an Amsterdam-based black-ops organization grappling with fallout from his personal and professional history in Indonesia. Read full book review >

RAZOR GIRL by Carl Hiaasen
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Relax, enjoy, and marvel anew at the power of unbridled fictional invention."
Rejoice, fans of American madness who've sought fulfillment in political reportage. South Florida's master farceur (Skink—No Surrender, 2014, etc.) is back to reassure you that fiction is indeed stranger than truth. Read full book review >
THE ONE MAN by Andrew Gross
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 23, 2016

"This is Gross' best work yet, with his heart and soul imprinted on every page."
The author of One Mile Under (2015) changes genres with a heart-pounding thriller set in the bowels of Auschwitz. Read full book review >
RISE THE DARK by Michael Koryta
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 16, 2016

"Again proving himself one of today's top thriller writers, Koryta creates edgy suspense not with trickery but with characters who test the limits of their courage."
Having escaped certain death in Indiana's scariest caves in Last Words (2015), private investigator Mark Novak returns to his old haunts in Montana in pursuit of the man who murdered his wife in Cassadaga, Florida—a strange town known for its psychics. Read full book review >

God of the Internet by Lynn Lipinski
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 16, 2016

"A deadly and exhilarating game of cat and mouse that has all the makings of an engaging series about fighting terrorists."
Homeland Security agents rush to prevent large-scale cyberwarfare in this thriller. Read full book review >
THE WIDOWER'S WIFE by Cate Holahan
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 9, 2016

"The result is one of those rare thrillers that really will keep you reading all night, especially if you pack it to take on your next Caribbean cruise."
A dogged insurance investigator suspects that a perfect wife's accidental death was anything but. He doesn't know the half of it. Read full book review >
YOU WILL KNOW ME by Megan Abbott
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 26, 2016

"Abbott proves herself a master of fingernails-digging-into-your-palms suspense."
Abbott's latest thriller (The Fever, 2014, etc.) is about everyday lives changed forever by an exceptional individual—in this case an Olympic gymnastics hopeful. Read full book review >
FALL FROM GRACE by Tim Weaver
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 19, 2016

"Readers who despair after a hundred pages that all the plotlines Weaver has launched can't possibly fit together are strongly urged to persist. They do indeed all fit together, and the monstrous pattern that emerges is as devastating as in any of Ross Macdonald's nightmares."
Missing persons specialist David Raker (Never Coming Back, 2014, etc.) goes hunting for a vanished copper and finds a whole lot more in this endless, deeply felt, un-put-downable thriller. Read full book review >
COLLECTING THE DEAD by Spencer Kope
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 28, 2016

"Kope's fascinating debut will place Steps Craig alongside Walt Longmire, Jack Reacher, and Charlie Parker as an enduring literary hero."
A quirky hero who chases the worst of serial killers with a bit of supernatural help makes Kope's debut novel a winner. Read full book review >
BRIGHTON by Michael Harvey
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 21, 2016

"Sharp as the blades used to gut the guilty and innocent alike, Harvey's fierce stand-alone is a blood-soaked tribute to finding your past and living with the consequences."
A reporter returns to the violent Boston suburb of his youth when a series of murders appears linked to his past. Read full book review >
I'M THINKING OF ENDING THINGS by Iain Reid
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 14, 2016

"Reid's tightly crafted tale toys with the nature of identity and comes by its terror honestly, building a wall of intricately layered psychological torment so impenetrable it's impossible to escape."
A road trip in a snowstorm takes a sinister turn for a man and his girlfriend, the novel's unnamed narrator. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Jeff Chang
September 20, 2016

In the provocative essays in journalist Jeff Chang’s new book We Gon’ Be Alright, Chang takes an incisive and wide-ranging look at the recent tragedies and widespread protests that have shaken the country. Through deep reporting with key activists and thinkers, personal writing, and cultural criticism, We Gon’ Be Alright links #BlackLivesMatter to #OscarsSoWhite, Ferguson to Washington D.C., the Great Migration to resurgent nativism. Chang explores the rise and fall of the idea of “diversity,” the roots of student protest, changing ideas about Asian Americanness, and the impact of a century of racial separation in housing. “He implores readers to listen, act, and become involved with today’s activists, who offer ‘new ways to see our past and our present,’ ” our reviewer writes in a starred review. “A compelling and intellectually thought-provoking exploration of the quagmire of race relations.” View video >