Thrillers Book Reviews (page 5)

WHEN SHADOWS FALL by J.T. Ellison
THRILLERS
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"Ellison's a competent writer, but Sam and the choir of men that falls at her feet really constitute a romance, not a thriller."
In Ellison's latest, Samantha Owens—a medical examiner with a tragic past—becomes enmeshed in another mysterious murder case. Read full book review >
RAIDERS OF THE NILE by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"Fans of James Lee Burke or Lee Child will enjoy a two-millennium time shift to tour the dark corners of ancient Egypt."
Saylor's (The Seven Wonders, 2012, etc.) latest historical adventure chronicles young Gordianus' adventures as he gets trapped in a scheme to loot Alexander the Great's sarcophagus. Read full book review >

THE CHASE by Janet Evanovich
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"Less funny than Evanovich's knockabout Stephanie Plum adventures but less mannered and annoying too: a comfy seriocomic caper just right for beach reading while you wait for the inevitable summer movie."
A second round of unlikely larceny for FBI agent Kate O'Hare and her prey and partner, nonpareil con man Nicolas Fox (The Heist, 2013). Read full book review >
MEGAN'S CURE by Robert B. Lowe
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 23, 2014

"Another cohesive, engaging thriller in the Enzo Lee series."
In Lowe's (Project Moses, 2013, etc.) latest series novel, journalist Enzo Lee sets out to find a miracle drug for his ailing grandmother and stumbles upon a corporate pharmaceutical conspiracy. Read full book review >
Love and Mayhem on The Sunny Isle of Jamaica by Hope Hamilton Tate
THRILLERS
Released: Feb. 22, 2014

"A spirited, diverting thriller that's marred only by some narrative repetition."
In Tate's debut romantic thriller, the answer for a woman being obsessively pursued by dangerous men may lie in uncovering her mother's mysterious past. Read full book review >

INFLUX by Daniel Suarez
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 20, 2014

"Fun tech-fiction wrapped in black helicopter conspiracy."
In his latest, Suarez (Kill Decision, 2012, etc.) follows the adventures of eccentric genius Jon Grady, who has run afoul of the Federal Bureau of Technology Control. Read full book review >
RUNNER by Patrick Lee
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 18, 2014

"Readers who pick up Lee's latest should be prepared to miss their favorite television shows, since they won't put this book down long enough to watch them."
Lee amps up the tension in this nonstop, action-packed thriller that teams two unlikely protagonists: a former soldier with a special skill set and a 12-year-old girl in desperate need of help. Read full book review >
HALF WORLD by Scott O'Connor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 18, 2014

"An invigorating historical thriller that examines the boundaries of man."
The hunters are the haunted in a thriller from Los Angeles-based author O'Connor (Untouchable, 2011, etc.) that mines the depths of fact and fiction. Read full book review >
A BURNABLE BOOK by Bruce Holsinger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 18, 2014

"A highly literate thriller from medievalist Holsinger."
In 1385 London, the race is on to recover a missing book.    Read full book review >
BROTHERHOOD OF FEAR by Paul Grossman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 18, 2014

"Read it, then hope Grossman writes more about Willi in Paris. He has plenty of time before the Nazis arrive."
Another richly painted Willi Kraus thriller, in which a mundane assignment goes horribly wrong. Read full book review >
THE MARTIAN by Andy Weir
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"Sharp, funny and thrilling, with just the right amount of geekery."
When a freak dust storm brings a manned mission to Mars to an unexpected close, an astronaut who is left behind fights to stay alive. This is the first novel from software engineer Weir. Read full book review >
THE DEALER AND THE DEAD by Gerald Seymour
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"Decades after establishing himself as a master of British spy fiction with Harry's Game, Seymour shows no signs of slowing down or losing relevance."
In 1991, Croatian villagers pooled together their worldly goods to buy weapons to use against advancing Serb forces, only to be left defenseless by a shadowy arms dealer who took the money and ran. Nearly 20 years later, survivors of the brutal attack discover his identity and pay to have him killed to avenge the deaths. Read full book review >