IN THE MORNING I'LL BE GONE by Adrian McKinty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 4, 2014

"A grim reminder of the brutality, uncertainty and fragility of life in Northern Ireland in the 1980s."
In the third volume of McKinty's (I Hear the Sirens in the Street, 2013, etc.) Troubles Trilogy, a disgraced Irish cop seeks redemption and an IRA terrorist. Read full book review >
THE TROOP by Nick Cutter
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"Readers may wish to tackle this heart-pounding novel in highly populated, well-lit areas—snacks optional."
Some thrillers produce shivers, others trigger goose bumps; Cutter's graphic offering will have readers jumping out of their skins. Read full book review >

THE STOLEN ONES by Richard Montanari
THRILLERS
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"Overly complicated and confusing in places but with pacing that makes the prose crackle."
Montanari's latest thriller (The Echo Man, 2011, etc.) reunites Philadelphia detectives Jessica Balzano and Kevin Byrne in the hunt for an elusive killer. Read full book review >
WE ARE HERE by Michael Marshall
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"Though laborious at times, Marshall's novel rewards the reader's patience with its edgy storytelling and ambition."
In this thriller by Marshall (Killer Move, 2011, etc.), people are being stalked on the streets of New York but not in the usual fashion. The stalkers are part of a strange underworld of rejected "shadow people" who disappear as suddenly as they appear. Read full book review >
THE FALL OF SAINTS by Wanjiku wa Ngugi
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"By the end, readers will be too befuddled to care."
A Kenyan expatriate, now a pampered New York soccer mom, becomes a super sleuth and sharpshooter in a matter of days as she investigates an international human trafficking operation that branches out into even more sinister enterprises. Read full book review >

A KILLING OF ANGELS by Kate Rhodes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"A so-so outing that won't win Dr. Alice Quentin additional literary followers."
Dr. Alice Quentin is back, and she's involved in another series of murders, this time in the financial world. Read full book review >
HOUSE OF GLASS by Sophie Littlefield
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"While a solidly constructed book, certain headlines deserve respect and distance, and some may consider Littleton's account exploitative."
Littlefield (Garden of Stones, 2013, etc.) draws facts from a true crime to create a novel about vicious intruders who invade an upper-class family's home in Calumet, Minn. Read full book review >
THE RED ROAD by Denise Mina
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"In addition to the usual indelible character studies, Mina provides the most compelling plot of Alex's four cases to date, with a new round of revelations that makes the Glasgow cops the most corrupt since Philip Marlowe looked under all those rocks in Bay City, Calif."
Fourteen years after Princess Diana died in a Paris automobile accident, the date of her death still casts a long shadow over the Strathclyde Police, in the fourth book featuring detective Alex Morrow. Read full book review >
WHEN SHADOWS FALL by J.T. Ellison
THRILLERS
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"Ellison's a competent writer, but Sam and the choir of men that falls at her feet really constitute a romance, not a thriller."
In Ellison's latest, Samantha Owens—a medical examiner with a tragic past—becomes enmeshed in another mysterious murder case. Read full book review >
RAIDERS OF THE NILE by Steven Saylor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"Fans of James Lee Burke or Lee Child will enjoy a two-millennium time shift to tour the dark corners of ancient Egypt."
Saylor's (The Seven Wonders, 2012, etc.) latest historical adventure chronicles young Gordianus' adventures as he gets trapped in a scheme to loot Alexander the Great's sarcophagus. Read full book review >
THE CHASE by Janet Evanovich
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"Less funny than Evanovich's knockabout Stephanie Plum adventures but less mannered and annoying too: a comfy seriocomic caper just right for beach reading while you wait for the inevitable summer movie."
A second round of unlikely larceny for FBI agent Kate O'Hare and her prey and partner, nonpareil con man Nicolas Fox (The Heist, 2013). Read full book review >
MEGAN'S CURE by Robert B. Lowe
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 23, 2014

"Another cohesive, engaging thriller in the Enzo Lee series."
In Lowe's (Project Moses, 2013, etc.) latest series novel, journalist Enzo Lee sets out to find a miracle drug for his ailing grandmother and stumbles upon a corporate pharmaceutical conspiracy. Read full book review >