THE GOLDEN AGE OF MURDER by Martin Edwards
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"Fans of Father Brown, Hercule Poirot, or Lord Peter Wimsey will find much of value in this book—which, though long and sometimes too slow, leaves readers wanting more."
Engrossing if occasionally glacial study of the Detection Club, a gathering of British mystery writers who defined the genre. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"Other than spies, this book has little in common with spy thrillers, but it's just as captivating."
The uncommon family business of selling information to Russia proves exciting, lucrative and remarkably misguided. Read full book review >

CRIMINAL THAT I AM by Jennifer Ridha
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 12, 2015

"Acknowledging the balance between her heart and head, Ridha amply demonstrates what can happen when the balance is upset."
Defending the son of a famous actor, a defense attorney finds herself entangled in the case emotionally as well as legally. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 19, 2015

"A highly readable, entertaining story offering a solid education for anyone lacking scruples and wanting to make money. Surely Bernie Madoff studied Koretz's methods."
The granddaddy of all con men, Leo Koretz (1881-1925), gives Jobb (Journalism/Univ. of King's Coll., Halifax; The Cajuns: A People's Story of Exile and Triumph, 2005) the opportunity to exhibit his impressive research and storytelling skills.Read full book review >
MOB COP by Fred Pascente
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 2015

"Not exactly a self-portrait of a criminal mastermind, but a somewhat worthwhile glimpse into the schizoid world of a corrupt cop."
A former crooked cop looks back on his conflict-of-interest life as a policeman and midlevel grifter. Read full book review >

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 2, 2015

"A fast-moving and readable yet unsurprising tale of wealth and power in the new Russia."
The rise and fall of a single oligarch as a gaudy microcosm of post-communist Russia. Read full book review >
90 CHURCH by Dean Unkefer
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 2, 2015

"Though entertainingly readable in a grimy sort of way, this is more a tangle of sex, violence, and betrayal than a serious true-crime narrative about this little-discussed era."
A grim, fevered memoir of pre-Drug Enforcement Administration anti-drug warriors raising havoc in New York City. Read full book review >
A LIFE OF LIES AND SPIES by Alan B. Trabue
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 2, 2015

"An avuncular account of a life spent uncovering deception for the CIA."
Memoir from a veteran of the arcane specialty of covert polygraph espionage interrogations. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 9, 2015

"Intriguing but lacking the salacious detail and hard evidence necessary for true fascination."
An attempt to introduce the world to a female spy far more successful than Mata Hari and just as captivating. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 9, 2015

"An eye-opener and an excellent job of reporting and writing. The only drawback will be the dawning realization that as bad as the three stoners were, the government is sanctioning far worse in its zeal for secrecy and deniability."
Or, the gang that couldn't scam straight. Read full book review >
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: June 9, 2015

"Tragic, gripping, and authentic, this book deserves a wide audience."
An investigation into the plague of violence engulfing a generation of American youth. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 16, 2015

"An intriguing but minor testament to the persistence of old-school military espionage."
The story of a millennial who became an informant for the FBI. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Luis Alberto Urrea
April 21, 2015

Examining the borders between one nation and another, between one person and another, Luis Alberto Urrea’s latest story collection, The Water Museum, reveals his mastery of the short form. This collection includes the Edgar-award winning "Amapola" and his now-classic "Bid Farewell to Her Many Horses," which had the honor of being chosen for NPR's "Selected Shorts" not once but twice. Urrea has also recently published a poetry collection, Tijuana Book of the Dead, mixing lyricism and colloquial voices, mysticism and the daily grind. We talk to Urrea about both of his new books this week on Kirkus TV. View video >