THE JOB by Steve Osborne
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 21, 2015

"Despite their anecdotal nature, these punchy policing tales seem provocatively true to life."
Raucous recollections from a career as a New York City cop, from a veteran of The Moth storytelling series. Read full book review >
ONE OF US by Åsne Seierstad
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: April 21, 2015

"Rather diffuse but thoroughly grounded in documented fact—as a result, it packs all the frightening power of a good horror novel."
A chilling descent into the mind of mass murderer Anders Breivik. Read full book review >

THE GOLDEN AGE OF MURDER by Martin Edwards
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"Fans of Father Brown, Hercule Poirot, or Lord Peter Wimsey will find much of value in this book—which, though long and sometimes too slow, leaves readers wanting more."
Engrossing if occasionally glacial study of the Detection Club, a gathering of British mystery writers who defined the genre. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"Other than spies, this book has little in common with spy thrillers, but it's just as captivating."
The uncommon family business of selling information to Russia proves exciting, lucrative and remarkably misguided. Read full book review >
CRIMINAL THAT I AM by Jennifer Ridha
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 12, 2015

"Acknowledging the balance between her heart and head, Ridha amply demonstrates what can happen when the balance is upset."
Defending the son of a famous actor, a defense attorney finds herself entangled in the case emotionally as well as legally. Read full book review >

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 19, 2015

"A highly readable, entertaining story offering a solid education for anyone lacking scruples and wanting to make money. Surely Bernie Madoff studied Koretz's methods."
The granddaddy of all con men, Leo Koretz (1881-1925), gives Jobb (Journalism/Univ. of King's Coll., Halifax; The Cajuns: A People's Story of Exile and Triumph, 2005) the opportunity to exhibit his impressive research and storytelling skills.Read full book review >
MOB COP by Fred Pascente
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 2015

"Not exactly a self-portrait of a criminal mastermind, but a somewhat worthwhile glimpse into the schizoid world of a corrupt cop."
A former crooked cop looks back on his conflict-of-interest life as a policeman and midlevel grifter. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 2, 2015

"A fast-moving and readable yet unsurprising tale of wealth and power in the new Russia."
The rise and fall of a single oligarch as a gaudy microcosm of post-communist Russia. Read full book review >
90 CHURCH by Dean Unkefer
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 2, 2015

"Though entertainingly readable in a grimy sort of way, this is more a tangle of sex, violence, and betrayal than a serious true-crime narrative about this little-discussed era."
A grim, fevered memoir of pre-Drug Enforcement Administration anti-drug warriors raising havoc in New York City. Read full book review >
A LIFE OF LIES AND SPIES by Alan B. Trabue
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 2, 2015

"An avuncular account of a life spent uncovering deception for the CIA."
Memoir from a veteran of the arcane specialty of covert polygraph espionage interrogations. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 9, 2015

"Intriguing but lacking the salacious detail and hard evidence necessary for true fascination."
An attempt to introduce the world to a female spy far more successful than Mata Hari and just as captivating. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 9, 2015

"An eye-opener and an excellent job of reporting and writing. The only drawback will be the dawning realization that as bad as the three stoners were, the government is sanctioning far worse in its zeal for secrecy and deniability."
Or, the gang that couldn't scam straight. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Fatima Bhutto
April 14, 2015

Set during the American invasion of Afghanistan, Fatima Bhutto’s debut novel The Shadow of the Crescent Moon begins and ends one rain-swept Friday morning in Mir Ali, a small town in Pakistan’s Tribal Areas close to the Afghan border. Three brothers meet for breakfast. Soon after, the eldest, Aman Erum, recently returned from America, hails a taxi to the local mosque. Sikandar, a doctor, drives to the hospital where he works, but must first stop to collect his troubled wife, who has not joined the family that morning. No one knows where Mina goes these days. But when, later in the morning, the two are taken hostage by members of the Taliban, Mina will prove to be stronger than anyone could have imagined. Our reviewer writes that The Shadow of the Crescent Moon is “a timely, earnest portrait of a family torn apart by the machinations of other people’s war games and desperately trying to survive.” View video >