True Crime Book Reviews (page 11)

The Golden Arrow by Lloyd Richardson
Released: April 30, 2015

"A sound sophomore effort with enough espionage fuel to power a future entry in the series."
Two intelligence agents from the United States and India, respectively, work together to stop Iran from launching a nuclear missile at Israel in Richardson's (Dragon's Paw, 2012) political thriller. Read full book review >
Versace’s Medusa: Andrew Cunanan by C. T. Patrick Diamond
Released: April 29, 2015

"A sometimes-entertaining but often overblown and under-imagined fictionalized treatment of an enigmatic crime."
The devil made Andrew Cunanan do it, according to this unfocused novel and meditation on the man who murdered fashion designer Gianni Versace. Read full book review >

Released: April 28, 2015

"Fans of Father Brown, Hercule Poirot, or Lord Peter Wimsey will find much of value in this book—which, though long and sometimes too slow, leaves readers wanting more."
Engrossing if occasionally glacial study of the Detection Club, a gathering of British mystery writers who defined the genre. Read full book review >
HOPE by Amanda Berry
Released: April 27, 2015

"A nuanced testament to the complexity of the human spirit."
On May 6, 2013, electrifying headlines revealed news of the escape of three young women who had been missing for more than 10 years and presumed dead but were in fact held captive by Ariel Castro, a depraved Cleveland school bus driver. Read full book review >
THE JOB by Steve Osborne
Released: April 21, 2015

"Despite their anecdotal nature, these punchy policing tales seem provocatively true to life."
Raucous recollections from a career as a New York City cop, from a veteran of The Moth storytelling series. Read full book review >

ONE OF US by Åsne Seierstad
Released: April 21, 2015

"Rather diffuse but thoroughly grounded in documented fact—as a result, it packs all the frightening power of a good horror novel."
A chilling descent into the mind of mass murderer Anders Breivik. Read full book review >
Released: April 14, 2015

"For a wide-angle view of the horrific string of crimes start to finish, Glatt constructs an absorbing winner."
Journalist and seasoned true-crime writer Glatt (The Prince of Paradise: The True Story of a Hotel Heir, His Seductive Wife, and a Ruthless Murder, 2013, etc.) recounts the highly publicized story of three women kidnapped and held in captivity for a decade.Read full book review >
Released: April 8, 2015

"A classically riveting crime tale, all the more fascinating for being true."
This historical crime debut details the life of a white-collar criminal who fled the United States for Venezuela in the early 20th century. Read full book review >
Released: April 7, 2015

"An up-and-down true story about a time and place that has inspired plenty of fiction."
A saga of big risk and big reward within the romanticized pirate life of marijuana smugglers along the Florida Coast. Read full book review >
THE BROTHERS by Masha Gessen
Released: April 7, 2015

"There are no pat answers, but Gessen makes it eerily plain to see how simply an atrocity can manifest."
The bombing of the 2013 Boston Marathon resulted in a deluge of media coverage, none of which offered a satisfying explanation of why it happened. This book attempts to find an answer. Read full book review >
Released: April 1, 2015

"McMichael ably leads readers to the conclusion that, in this case, no one's hands were clean."
Journalist McMichael reveals far-reaching deceptions in his examination of coverups in the case of James Earl Ray (1928-1998), accused of killing Martin Luther King Jr. in Memphis in 1968. Read full book review >
Released: March 24, 2015

"An earnest, eye-opening, important account for Western readers."
A brave, excoriating exposé of the systematic ruination of resource-rich countries of Africa, leaving "penury and strife" for its millions of inhabitants. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Maria Goodavage
October 24, 2016

Wherever the president goes, there will be dogs. They’ll be there no matter what the country or state. They’ll be there regardless of the political climate, the danger level, the weather, or the hour. Maria Goodavage’s new book Secret Service Dogs immerses readers in the heart of this elite world of canine teams who protect first families, popes, and presidential candidates: the selection of dogs and handlers, their year-round training, their missions around the world, and, most important, the bond—the glue that holds the teams together and can mean the difference between finding bombs and terrorists or letting them slip by. Secret Service Dogs celebrates the Secret Service’s most unforgettable canine heroes. It is a must-read for fans of Maria Goodavage, anyone who wants a rare inside view of the United States Secret Service, or just loves dogs. “Goodavage’s subjects and their companions are quirky and dedicated enough to engage readers wondering about those dogs on the White House lawn,” our reviewer writes. View video >