True Crime Book Reviews (page 3)

90 CHURCH by Dean Unkefer
Released: June 2, 2015

"Though entertainingly readable in a grimy sort of way, this is more a tangle of sex, violence, and betrayal than a serious true-crime narrative about this little-discussed era."
A grim, fevered memoir of pre-Drug Enforcement Administration anti-drug warriors raising havoc in New York City. Read full book review >
Released: June 2, 2015

"An avuncular account of a life spent uncovering deception for the CIA."
Memoir from a veteran of the arcane specialty of covert polygraph espionage interrogations. Read full book review >

MOB COP by Fred Pascente
Released: June 1, 2015

"Not exactly a self-portrait of a criminal mastermind, but a somewhat worthwhile glimpse into the schizoid world of a corrupt cop."
A former crooked cop looks back on his conflict-of-interest life as a policeman and midlevel grifter. Read full book review >
Released: May 19, 2015

"A highly readable, entertaining story offering a solid education for anyone lacking scruples and wanting to make money. Surely Bernie Madoff studied Koretz's methods."
The granddaddy of all con men, Leo Koretz (1881-1925), gives Jobb (Journalism/Univ. of King's Coll., Halifax; The Cajuns: A People's Story of Exile and Triumph, 2005) the opportunity to exhibit his impressive research and storytelling skills.Read full book review >
CRIMINAL THAT I AM by Jennifer Ridha
Released: May 12, 2015

"Acknowledging the balance between her heart and head, Ridha amply demonstrates what can happen when the balance is upset."
Defending the son of a famous actor, a defense attorney finds herself entangled in the case emotionally as well as legally. Read full book review >

Released: May 5, 2015

"Other than spies, this book has little in common with spy thrillers, but it's just as captivating."
The uncommon family business of selling information to Russia proves exciting, lucrative and remarkably misguided. Read full book review >
The Golden Arrow by Lloyd Richardson
Released: April 30, 2015

"A sound sophomore effort with enough espionage fuel to power a future entry in the series."
Two intelligence agents from the United States and India, respectively, work together to stop Iran from launching a nuclear missile at Israel in Richardson's (Dragon's Paw, 2012) political thriller. Read full book review >
Released: April 28, 2015

"Fans of Father Brown, Hercule Poirot, or Lord Peter Wimsey will find much of value in this book—which, though long and sometimes too slow, leaves readers wanting more."
Engrossing if occasionally glacial study of the Detection Club, a gathering of British mystery writers who defined the genre. Read full book review >
HOPE by Amanda Berry
Released: April 27, 2015

"A nuanced testament to the complexity of the human spirit."
On May 6, 2013, electrifying headlines revealed news of the escape of three young women who had been missing for more than 10 years and presumed dead but were in fact held captive by Ariel Castro, a depraved Cleveland school bus driver. Read full book review >
THE JOB by Steve Osborne
Released: April 21, 2015

"Despite their anecdotal nature, these punchy policing tales seem provocatively true to life."
Raucous recollections from a career as a New York City cop, from a veteran of The Moth storytelling series. Read full book review >
ONE OF US by Åsne Seierstad
Released: April 21, 2015

"Rather diffuse but thoroughly grounded in documented fact—as a result, it packs all the frightening power of a good horror novel."
A chilling descent into the mind of mass murderer Anders Breivik. Read full book review >
Released: April 14, 2015

"For a wide-angle view of the horrific string of crimes start to finish, Glatt constructs an absorbing winner."
Journalist and seasoned true-crime writer Glatt (The Prince of Paradise: The True Story of a Hotel Heir, His Seductive Wife, and a Ruthless Murder, 2013, etc.) recounts the highly publicized story of three women kidnapped and held in captivity for a decade.Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
John Sandford
author of SATURN RUN
October 6, 2015

Saturn Run, John Sandford’s new novel, is quite a departure for the bestselling thriller writer, who sets aside his Lucas Davenport crime franchise (Gathering Prey, 2015, etc.) and partners with photographer and sci-fi buff Ctein to leave Earth’s gravitational field for the rings of Saturn. The year is 2066. A Caltech intern inadvertently notices an anomaly from a space telescope—something is approaching Saturn, and decelerating. Space objects don’t decelerate; spaceships do. A flurry of top-level government meetings produces the inescapable conclusion: whatever built that ship is at least 100 years ahead in hard and soft technology, and whoever can get their hands on it exclusively and bring it back will have an advantage so large, no other nation can compete. A conclusion the Chinese definitely agree with when they find out. The race is on. “James Bond meets Tom Swift, with the last word reserved not for extraterrestrial encounters but for international piracy, state secrets, and a spot of satisfyingly underhanded political pressure,” our reviewer writes. View video >